ok, so i don't got a turbo timer, how long do i leave idle?

God Bless the Black Top*

ok, so i don't got a turbo timer, how long do i leave idle?

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » April 26th, 2005, 1:54 am

i normally leave my car idle from about 5+ minutes depending on how hard i was driving because i don't gots a timer....but neither do the scoobies. how long should i be leaving the car idle? can anyone help me out here

fafrumlosin

Postby fafrumlosin » April 26th, 2005, 6:38 am

its entirely dependent on how hard you run the car an in how short a space but you should be safe with 3-5 min

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » April 26th, 2005, 9:31 am

if u dont leave it to idle wat would happen?

Bezman

Postby Bezman » April 26th, 2005, 9:40 am

i dont have one and dont leave my car on...

i think that the time it takes you to park etc the oil and wter have had enough time to cool down the turbo,, and i am not really that worried about it, others have ran no turbo timer for years without turbo failure, its more for if you are racing/pushing real hard and then jsut switch off... but i never do that, i always cruise for a while before.

i have not ran one for over a year now... i got one to sell if you want :)

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » April 26th, 2005, 10:22 am

I think it also depends on how regularly you change your oil and the viscosity you use and also how hard you run the car and how soon after you switch off the car. If you run thicker oils then you would probably have to leave the car running for some time but for a regular oil changer with synthetic the time for shutdown on idle should not be that long like CA19 said. If the car shuts down too early leaving thick oil in the centre section it could harden and over time clog/restrict the flow of the oil through the centre section and cause lubrication to breakdown throughout the bearing section and failure so be careful and make sure and change your oil regularly and drive safe :wink:

crash dummy

Postby crash dummy » April 26th, 2005, 10:28 am

3-5 MIN?? i think that is 2 long! i time for 1minute under hard driving conditions..
as far as my research on the net it doesn't take longer than that for the oil to cool so it will not cake from the heat of the turbo...
prob u should look into getting one.. :? can get one for around $350 if u look good...
although i have heard of hard drivers who never used a timer an never experienced problems..

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » April 26th, 2005, 11:24 am

^^yeah i don't really need a timer, it's not like i'm running a t60 or something. i'm using 20w50 peake performance oil from quaker change every 4000-5000km, depending on how the oil looks and smells, but i don't like to take chances with meh car if you know what i mean fellas.

Rx

Postby Rx » April 26th, 2005, 5:45 pm

get a timer Bro...............

Toysport

Postby Toysport » April 26th, 2005, 6:24 pm

CA19 wrote:i dont have one and dont leave my car on...

i think that the time it takes you to park etc the oil and wter have had enough time to cool down the turbo,, and i am not really that worried about it, others have ran no turbo timer for years without turbo failure, its more for if you are racing/pushing real hard and then jsut switch off... but i never do that, i always cruise for a while before.

i have not ran one for over a year now... i got one to sell if you want icon_smile.gif

Good advice here!!

nash

Postby nash » April 26th, 2005, 8:04 pm

You really don't need a timer if you are not pushing the turbo to the limit just before.If I do a little hard driving about 5 mins from home I just cruise and let the entire engine just cool back down and thats N/A.
I don't see why this method cannot work for you.However I have a feeling that you might not sleep well just thinking that the turbo might still need to cool down so just for this sake get a timer :wink:

SLR

Postby SLR » April 26th, 2005, 10:19 pm

i agree with most of the ppl above ...the time it takes to park etc is enough ...but i have a timer ...even tho its an autotimer ..i jus usually use the programme mode and leave it for about a minute and a half or so .. i used to think i needed to run it for me ..but i think thats enough

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » April 27th, 2005, 12:05 am

i got a toyota, i don't know if this is programmed, but if i shut off and leave the key in the 'on' position, the fan automatically turns on depending on the temp of the engine, at least i think it does that, because the time varies depending on how hard i drive? or could it be a rare coincidence? anyone else got advice?

Postby Hook » April 27th, 2005, 12:10 am

yeh that happens to my trusty ol' rolla as well....it's not a programming thing, it's because the ignition is still on

ur fuel pump, temperature sensors, battery charge light, oil pressure sensors are all on once the ignition is on, the engine doesn't need to be running

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » April 27th, 2005, 12:34 am

^^ oh ho, just though it may have been programmed in meh car because it came turbo'd. anyways, just looking at the benefits ofa Tutimer

Postby RASC » April 27th, 2005, 11:11 am

CA19 wrote:i dont have one and dont leave my car on...

i have not ran one for over a year now... i got one to sell if you want :)

why go through the risk man...jus for doing it sake? i say reinstall your timer man, yuh dont wanna be running your car into the ground like that...remember F.I. isnt sumthing you play around with, follow all necassary precautions :wink:

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » April 27th, 2005, 12:27 pm

Rx wrote:get a timer Bro...............

Agreed. Reagrdless of all the viscosity talk and stuff, hot oil cakes your bearings. Period.

drive hard and then Shut down your car for 5 or 10 mins and then go touch the engine.. still hot ent? :wink:

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » April 27th, 2005, 6:11 pm

^^ yeah dude, but that's if you shut down right after....i let my car idle until the fans stop spinning.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » April 27th, 2005, 7:11 pm

God Bless the Black Top* wrote:i got a toyota, i don't know if this is programmed, but if i shut off and leave the key in the 'on' position, the fan automatically turns on depending on the temp of the engine, at least i think it does that, because the time varies depending on how hard i drive? or could it be a rare coincidence? anyone else got advice?

Hook wrote:yeh that happens to my trusty ol' rolla as well....it's not a programming thing, it's because the ignition is still on

ur fuel pump, temperature sensors, battery charge light, oil pressure sensors are all on once the ignition is on, the engine doesn't need to be running

yup hook right.

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » April 28th, 2005, 12:54 am

God Bless the Black Top* wrote:^^ yeah dude, but that's if you shut down right after....i let my car idle until the fans stop spinning.

Ok so do that and THEN come bak 5 or 10 minmutes later and see. WHile you at it touch the oil pan and see too when you come back..

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » April 28th, 2005, 1:34 am

hmmm the oil pan gets hot no matter how hard you run a car given you are driving the car for more than 20mins.....but the expense of a tutimer is not an option right now, wanna get some headers. thanx for the info anyways guy.

Postby AllTrac » April 28th, 2005, 1:40 am

3 mins maximum time for any type of hardcore running, rememebr its not good to idle to long sicne your oil pump isnt running much pressure at idle

Dirty Face

Postby Dirty Face » April 28th, 2005, 2:06 am

God Bless the Black Top* wrote:hmmm the oil pan gets hot no matter how hard you run a car given you are driving the car for more than 20mins.....but the expense of a tutimer is not an option right now, wanna get some headers. thanx for the info anyways guy.

and thats the point, that HOT OIL is being dropped on your bearing.. etc etc. But anyhow to each his own yes.

My sugeestion then? Idle it for a little less than 5 mins if yuh cant afford the timer borther.