Are Kayaba shocks any good?

Postby Team Loco » February 18th, 2005, 4:11 pm

Bobbys hjave them for $260.00 for one for the Audi A4. Sounding too cheap to me, or is it a good deal?

i also getting Monroe for $450.00

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » February 18th, 2005, 4:18 pm

What type of Kayaba is it? Kayaba is good stuff, i would choose it over Monroe. YOU need to find out what grade it is though. All brands have their good stuff and their cheap stuff.

Postby Team Loco » February 18th, 2005, 4:27 pm

i asked and all they can tell me is that it's from Japan...and it good. I will have to go see it

Postby Team Loco » February 18th, 2005, 4:31 pm

just checked Kayaba website. The only grade manufactured for this car are the GR-2 shocks. Any opinions?

DIESELTRINI

Postby DIESELTRINI » February 18th, 2005, 4:47 pm

GR2 is good stuff, a good stock replacement. Not really a stiff shock. The AGX is their higher line but they cost more of course. Normal everyday road car, GR2 is great.

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » February 18th, 2005, 5:24 pm

Kayaba or KYB makes good shocks. I went to ESAS to buy shocks and they had Monroes and KYB GR2 (Nitrogen filled) for my car. When we tested them the GR2's were stiffer so thats what I went with. They work really well, would definitely buy them again. Great price too!

nash

Postby nash » February 18th, 2005, 6:57 pm

Yep those KYB's are good shocks and give good ride quality and overall handling.

stick

Postby stick » February 18th, 2005, 9:43 pm

i use the kayaba shocks and it is very good

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » February 18th, 2005, 11:34 pm

have 4 in my car , lil stiffer than stock
they are gas shock

car run much better now around the twisties

Re: Are Kayaba shocks any good?

Postby AllTrac » February 19th, 2005, 1:46 am

Team Loco wrote:Bobbys hjave them for $260.00 for one for the Audi A4. Sounding too cheap to me, or is it a good deal?

i also getting Monroe for $450.00

bobbys in de bamboo?

Postby Team Loco » February 19th, 2005, 1:04 pm

bobbys in de bamboo?

yes, bobby's in the bamboo....

Postby janfar » February 19th, 2005, 3:03 pm

do you know what the cost for the kayabas for the B11 sunny.

Got some opinions from some of the best mechanics, they said that they would personally recommend kayabas for any car. they really are durable and gives you a great ride for a even greater price.

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » February 19th, 2005, 9:11 pm

ESAS have a container off loading now.. the dude in charge told me that they have gas/ oil and oil.. i asked him for agx an he kinda watch meh puzzrled any way he was buzy.. so .. i goin an try an convince them to shop more hi performance stuff an less crap...
gr2.... okay i need to ask bout those

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » February 20th, 2005, 3:21 am

GR2 is the US name for it. I believe its called the KYB SUPER in Japan so thats what they will call it.
Just look for the engraving on the shock that says Nitrogen Filled

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » February 20th, 2005, 3:42 am

^^^ daz right jimbo d supers are good dont buy d excell-g

Jimbo

Postby Jimbo » February 20th, 2005, 4:04 am

isnt it the same thing?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 20th, 2005, 11:01 am

the excel g seems to be the only one yuh finding at yuh everyday parts place...... :?

dreadman

Postby dreadman » February 20th, 2005, 10:27 pm

the excel g seems to be the only one yuh finding at yuh everyday parts place......

true...

Postby Dave » February 21st, 2005, 8:12 pm

same thing, just the newer gas shock from KYB
once the gas on any kyb is nitrogen then u can safely buy them

Bezman

Postby Bezman » February 22nd, 2005, 1:03 pm

dont use lowering springs on the GR2's they are designed for stock spring heights...
and have a tendancy to fail prematurely with lowered springs..
the AGX are designed with stiffer damper (and 4/7 way adjustable too) so you can use stiffer/lower springs...

speadfreak

Postby speadfreak » February 22nd, 2005, 1:10 pm

You should also try KONI yellow they work good to me have any of u guys used it yet ( also to they sell them in T&T my local shop run out of my type i am looking for the toyta corolla ae110 year 2000) :oops: :cry: