tyres

CD4Accord

Re: tyres

Postby CD4Accord » May 5th, 2011, 12:29 am

S drive is a great tyre but as the tirerack salesman told me on the phone once "Its more smiles than miles" hahha

But yea, I used to use Yokohama and you wont hear any complaints from me..

I also saw a decent stash of 18" Michelin and some random Goodyear etc at Mileage Mack today.. They diversifying or they got some special orders?

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » May 6th, 2011, 10:43 pm

Some good on tyres in one vid -

neals

Postby neals » May 8th, 2011, 10:06 pm

i concur nexen = shit- i have them on meh ae101- when ever i mashing brakes moderately- tires lock up and skate,and nuh having abs results in me learning to do somethings i never taught i cud do ( in some tight spots ) worse yet for rain

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » May 9th, 2011, 3:48 pm

neals wrote:i concur nexen = sheit- i have them on meh ae101- when ever i mashing brakes moderately- tires lock up and skate,and nuh having abs results in me learning to do somethings i never taught i cud do ( in some tight spots ) worse yet for rain

drive slower and learn to use the brake pedal better.

neals

Postby neals » May 10th, 2011, 10:23 am

jnqaz wrote:
neals wrote:i concur nexen = sheit- i have them on meh ae101- when ever i mashing brakes moderately- tires lock up and skate,and nuh having abs results in me learning to do somethings i never taught i cud do ( in some tight spots ) worse yet for rain

drive slower and learn to use the brake pedal better.

thing is- when i speeding and mash brakes it dont lock up- most of those things happened at normal driving :S

geodude

Postby geodude » May 11th, 2011, 12:17 pm

so i have fairly new nexens with about 60% thread on them but i have noticed that they are all developing cracks on the side walls, i have been running them with nitrogen since they were bought , they have not started to loose air pressure due to the cracks but i was wondering is it still safe to drive with these tires in this state?

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 11th, 2011, 12:21 pm

geodude wrote:so i have fairly new nexens with about 60% thread on them but i have noticed that they are all developing cracks on the side walls, i have been running them with nitrogen since they were bought , they have not started to loose air pressure due to the cracks but i was wondering is it still safe to drive with these tires in this state?

Blowout hazard. It's very common with Nexens.

geodude

Postby geodude » May 11th, 2011, 12:33 pm

that's what i was afraid of
i guess i need to buy a new set soon,
didn't expect this at all ,
this is so disappointing :(

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 11th, 2011, 1:15 pm

^^Well u might wanna read the DOT code/whatever on the sidewall and get a feel for how old the tyres are. U may be surprised at the age for all you know.

Make sure and double check the age (in similar fashion) for any new tyres you buy.

That said, that's on the 8? D00d.....

geodude

Postby geodude » May 11th, 2011, 2:28 pm

nah the galant

on another note what wrong with alluh nexen is the sheit yo.... well according to these reviews
The Nexen N3000 ultra high performance tires are the preferred choice for speed enthusiasts competing in drift style racing. Their arrow center rib design is perfect for high-speed driving and high intensity friction that results from drifting. Many drifters marvel at their precision control, incredible speed and nimble handling. The typical street rodder can benefit greatly from these high-performance racing tires when attending a custom car show or cruise night.

Nexen N3000 tires sports a directional wide aqua groove design that will maintain maximum gripping even when driving in intense rain. When racing, this is ultimately important as sharp turns and wide drifts call for a tire that remains in control under even the most intensive circumstances. Cornering is no problem as the new shoulder design and aggressive lateral tight grooves will maintain power and prevent hydroplaning. This anti-hydroplaning design ultimately translates into a superior fair-weather forming tire and reduces wear when performing at top speeds.

The speed rating for the N3000 is W & Y, which translates into 168 to 186 mph, or 272 300 km/h. Being one of the highest rated Nexen racing tires, the N3000 can satisfy even the most aggressive street racer, drifter or car show aficionado.

These awesome tires look great when combined with a set of sleek aluminum rims. Their low profile and aggressive tread design will make any car look all the more fierce when cruising down city streets or scorching up the track. Drifters appreciate their durability as the nature of their sport causes tremendous wear and tear on any tire they use. The N3000 high-performance racing tire is the choice of many professional and amateur racecar drivers.

Article Source: http://EzineArticles.com/3695360

link here http://ezinearticles.com/?Nexen-N3000-T ... id=3695360

FullStop

Postby FullStop » May 11th, 2011, 6:04 pm

i like nexen n3000...better than dunlop sp sport 9000 imo. I mean they are the last tyre I'd buy, but thats because i wont buy dunlops.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 11th, 2011, 9:53 pm

Interestingly, the N3000's on our A33 cefiro are almost completely worn (all 4) with regular rotation after just about 25,000km

I was actually expecting more from them considering.. That said im lucky to not see any sidewall cracks yet..

FullStop

Postby FullStop » May 11th, 2011, 11:52 pm

yeah, they wear quickly, a tyre shop guy told me Nexens only crack when they are under inflated, but if i remember correctly he wanted me to inflate to a bit over 30 psi, which is a bit too hard for me. They don't last very long, but they are rated AA for traction and i found the traction was quite good with them.

geodude

Postby geodude » May 12th, 2011, 8:03 am

i checked the dot code on the nexens, they say 8ET7, i assume that means the 8 month 2007?

edit....
so i googled the code and realized i was looking at the wrong thing, checked again and saw 4907 so i guess they are 2007 , still not that old,

is it odd that all 4 cracked the same time, i mean like 1 month ago they were good,
they are doing some road paving in my area and over the past few months i drove over steaming how "hotmix" as it just laid on the road could this contribute to their failure?
Last edited by geodude on May 12th, 2011, 8:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 12th, 2011, 8:32 am

^^I dunno, seems kinda hard to believe that could influence it!

badmanbopeep

Postby badmanbopeep » May 15th, 2011, 8:47 am

CD4Accord wrote:Well the Eagle F1 is an excellent tyre but you going to have to pay serious money for it.. I'm trying to remember the name of the people who sell Goodyear.. I think Neal & Massey owns the place.. Fas-Service or something like that...

Concerning BF Goodrich, they make some excellent tyres but I usually only found touring tyres selling in Trinidad... Haven't seen the G-Force Sport or G-Force TA/KDW selling...

reading the thread and i havent seen anyone comment on BFGoodrich much. i running BFGoodrich Excentia GT-H right now and to tell you the i am not pleased with the grip at all. these things squeal around corners going abt 60kph. they are not my toyo proxes tpt i had before, but even so those toyo had terrible wet traction.
lookin to change tyres soon but i really undecided between kumho spt, bridgestone or dunlop. i read some good thing bout these here. but finding tyre size here is real bullocks. 205-60-15

Postby Morpheus » May 19th, 2011, 12:31 am

Wow. All these different views and preferences.

I am in the hunt for 215/40/17 tyres. Budget around $700 each.

Jon Gill

Postby Jon Gill » May 19th, 2011, 3:28 pm

then carry it back by who you bought it from if it cracking. inform ttbs of this also

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » May 19th, 2011, 4:18 pm

Chemical wrote:^^ Was by M/Mack today & they now stock Yokohama S.Drive & Pirelli tires now !

I wonder whats the cost of those tires?

Guys what do you think about dz101 vs sumitomo HTR 50Z. Both tires are 500 & 525. Which one better. And would either of them be 50% better than nankang ns2 ultra sport?

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » May 20th, 2011, 8:14 am

^Without a doubt, yes! Any tyre is better than Nexen and Nankang.

JDM_GUY

Postby JDM_GUY » May 20th, 2011, 9:17 am

Rudman SO which one should I get for everyday driving with some sprint and maracus runs?

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » May 21st, 2011, 7:09 am

^^^Sumitomo

Casadoma

Postby Casadoma » May 21st, 2011, 7:42 am

maybe you need to put some armor all on that tire if it cracking, you can't trust the roads to keep them in good shape anyhow

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » May 21st, 2011, 9:18 am

Do people buy used local tyres? Recently bought a used local corolla with Toyo Proxies TPT 215/60/15. Nothing wrong with the tyres just always preferred stock.

Postby Morpheus » May 21st, 2011, 7:35 pm

A man in Chaguanas try to sell me a tyre with code 4300 for $300 used. LoL. I say "Man this tyre is 11yrs old and so much you want for it? Is ok." Now I only want to run this tyre for just a week or so till I have the cash to buy 2 good tyre( I going Dunlops or something).

I had fun watching him and another fella puzzled look :?: :?: . I see them real watching the tyre when I was driving off. :lol: :lol:

These people really eh know sheit yes.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 22nd, 2011, 10:57 am

Picked up a set of Sumitomo HTR ZIII's yesterday (not to be confused with the ZII).

MPS class.......and it still worked out cheaper than having to buy some of the other locally available Max Perf Summer (MPS) offerings, like the ContiSportContact 3 (@ Laughlin & DeGannes).

Will post my thoughts as time progresses......

See Tirerack review here:
http://www.tirerack.com/tires/tests/tes ... sp?ttid=93

I'm curious to see how these ZIII's work out. Used the ZII's before, and while they were ok, they weren't fantastic, and they got really loud toward the end of their lifespan (thank goodness for a loudish exhaust).

Postby Morpheus » May 22nd, 2011, 4:18 pm

^^Size, price and location??

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 23rd, 2011, 6:26 am

^^215/45-17.

Price, around 800 TTD. Location - ordered through a friend o' mine.

Jon Gill

Postby Jon Gill » May 23rd, 2011, 10:22 am

Alpha_2nr wrote:^^215/45-17.

:roll: :roll: :roll:

ordered through a friend o' mine

:fist: :fist: :fist:

usual thing wit dis man 0X

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » May 23rd, 2011, 11:04 am

Jon Gill wrote:
Alpha_2nr wrote:^^215/45-17.

:roll: :roll: :roll:

ordered through a friend o' mine

:fist: :fist: :fist:

usual thing wit dis man 0X

Are your personal attacks on me really necessary?

Anyway, to clarify, I ordered online (tirerack) and shipped via a friend's courier/whatever u wanna call it.

If it's any help, the local agents for Sumitomo are Tire Clinic, so they may be the folks to talk to if you want to get them locally