Car Polishing 101

Chemical

Re: Car Polishing 101

Postby Chemical » April 21st, 2011, 6:29 am

^^Got this in a few days ago....excellent polish for black plastics IMO. Has to be the best I've used so far. Much better than Mothers plastic polish & natural black & leaves no residue.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » April 21st, 2011, 10:33 am

which did you get to use on black plastics the Tuf Shine Tire Shine Kit or the NXT Tech wax?

Chemical

Postby Chemical » April 22nd, 2011, 7:17 am

I used the NXT & it worked great. I'm travelling next month so i'm going to buy the Tuf Shine Tire Shine Kit for sure hence all my research.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 22nd, 2011, 11:30 am

excellentpolish for black plastics IMO

Are you referring to the NXT Wax (which looks like old stock btw...the new packaging carries the "2.0" moniker). Here's what the current NXT package looks like:

So tough luck on that purchase first off - NXT was "revamped" to the 2.0 level some time aback, because of complaints of its lack of longevity (which I agree with). So you've definitely got some older stock on your hands.

Secondly, IF YOU ARE REFERRING to the NXT WAX as the polish in question I'm not aware of NXT Wax being a polish for use on any material...paint or plastic. Have you obtained some info from Meguiars on any polishing components that it may have? Please clarify....and correct if necessary. Thanks.

Also, it's instructions do not list any purpose of the sort (based on the bottle I'm looking at). To me, it sounds akin to using armorall on wiper blades. Many non staining waxes can be used on plastic trim and it looks good. But there's better, and I would be hard pressed to see why anyone would waste wax on plastic trim.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » April 23rd, 2011, 8:28 pm

Did not even realise that but my old man bought it at Canadian Tire. For all you know its the same kiss meh tail formula & just inserted 2.0 for marketing BS. I doubt C/Tire will sell old stock. Maybe someone messed up the labels as my dad threw the box away before packing his suitecase.

Wrong choice of words, its a wax.

Just give it a try on black plastic and see for yourself. I was amazed with the gloss

oxidation

Postby oxidation » April 26th, 2011, 7:33 pm

Guys im looking for Meguiar's Gold Class Car Wash Shampoo and Conditioner

where can i find this locally

shipping this will kill me man 9.2 pounds from the states :(

Postby cinco » April 27th, 2011, 2:44 pm

Chemical wrote:Did not even realise that but my old man bought it at Canadian Tire. For all you know its the same kiss meh tail formula & just inserted 2.0 for marketing BS. I doubt C/Tire will sell old stock. Maybe someone messed up the labels as my dad threw the box away before packing his suitecase.

Wrong choice of words, its a wax.

Just give it a try on black plastic and see for yourself. I was amazed with the gloss

nah bro the 2.0 formulation is totally different and clearly marked
the original tech wax is pretty crappy i used it twice and tossed it it didnt last more than a month

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 29th, 2011, 7:00 am

the original tech wax is pretty crappy i used it twice and tossed it it didnt last more than a month

Correct. TW 1.0 = fail. Now IMO, neither TW 1.0 or 2.0 are spectacular IMHO, but I'm getting a solid 2 months out of the 2.0 so far, vs the "old" TW which didn't give me more than 3 weeks :? (assuming 1 wash per week). Both maintained with QD.

Most of the MOL folks also share the same sentiments with cinco and myself. Plus 2.0 goes on a little differently ( I find it's "oily-er").

oxidation wrote:Guys im looking for Meguiar's Gold Class Car Wash Shampoo and Conditioner

Oxidation, PMed you.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » May 5th, 2011, 8:16 pm

Got this in my skybox & used this on my cars over the W/E...excellent results for headlights once following the directions.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » May 9th, 2011, 2:22 am

^^^available locally anywhere???

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 9th, 2011, 5:08 am

saw it at carplus on cipero street

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » June 7th, 2011, 4:11 pm

Guys is washing your car with dishwashing liquid safe? I saw mixed views online.

Postby equipped2ripp » June 7th, 2011, 5:46 pm

^ dishwashing liquid would cut any wax on the surface and it would dull the clearcoat. Just buy the car wash solution, shouldn't be that hard. You can pick up Turtle Wax ZipWax car wash in PriceSmart, it's like $65 for the gallon.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » June 7th, 2011, 8:19 pm

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » June 8th, 2011, 1:12 pm

Big No No on the Dish washing liquid!

Nice collection of Megs chemical...

check some of mines
218926_10150183522356373_507196372_7298370_6281934_o.jpg

syntax

Postby syntax » June 8th, 2011, 8:43 pm

Chemical wrote:Image

nice was it a kit and where you got it

Chemical

Postby Chemical » June 15th, 2011, 5:24 am

^^ Anyone did any paint protection / polishing as the rains are now here ?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » June 15th, 2011, 7:09 pm

Yip i did ,, have not wash the vehicle in two week ,, it now start to look dirty!

TECH N FIZ

Postby TECH N FIZ » July 12th, 2011, 1:34 pm

Question, what can you use as an alternative to the QD when claying? was thinking some mild car shampoo mix?

TECH N FIZ

Postby TECH N FIZ » July 12th, 2011, 1:38 pm

Chemical wrote:Got this in my skybox & used this on my cars over the W/E...excellent results for headlights once following the directions.

some prestone polish does really work great on dull headlights.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » July 12th, 2011, 2:54 pm

TECH N FIZ wrote:Question, what can you use as an alternative to the QD when claying? was thinking some mild car shampoo mix?

you would be better off using the QD, the car shampoo mix would cause premature failure of the clay bar. Well that is what happen to me when I tried the shampoo mix

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » July 27th, 2011, 10:54 am

Ok guys this is a vehicle that I worked on this weekend, Its a 50/50 shot of the bonnet, the left side is before and the right is after.

Let me know what you think!
784-9290
5050.jpg

Postby Aaron 2NR » July 27th, 2011, 11:49 am

amazing!

TECH N FIZ

Postby TECH N FIZ » July 27th, 2011, 3:35 pm

wow man is like yuh do straightening & painting there. By chance you ever worked on a black paint called Black Hawk Pearl?

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » July 28th, 2011, 7:54 am

^^^^ I have worked on a lot of different variations of black and dark color vehicles. The names of the color of paint don't really interest me any more as there are so many variations of a color. I just get fed up .....lol I work on a lot of European vehicles eg, BMW, Bnez, Audi etc.these vehicles paints are sometimes very difficult to work on. Some of the clear coats are ceramic and the correct method for buffing and polishing these vehicles required a different technique of paint correction.

The vehicle above took approximately 9 hours to complete, yes that is very long but it was a swirl free finish.
Last edited by Karim Khan on July 29th, 2011, 9:10 am, edited 1 time in total.

TRENDSETA

Postby TRENDSETA » July 29th, 2011, 8:26 am

that looks amazing . good work man

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » July 29th, 2011, 11:17 am

^^^ Thanks man !

TECH N FIZ

Postby TECH N FIZ » August 1st, 2011, 6:04 pm

Lil big probs i having, i washed(mother car wash), clayed(mothers) the fender for test , Paint cleaner (meguiars step 1) & now polish(Autoglym deep shine), still hv to organise the wax.

wash/clay/paint cleaner worked good but when time to apply the polish it doesn't quite comes off, it leaves back a whitish look in the paint. Don't matter how much elbow grease i use it can't buff out. SAme effect i does get before when i use prestone polish.

Black civic, paint called Black Hawk Pearl?

What more paint correction step can i take to prepare the paint for polishing. ...Compound it?

Oh yeah the bumper takes the polishes good without any residual effects of white.

Karim Khan

Postby Karim Khan » August 1st, 2011, 9:22 pm

Tech,,,,, Is it the Auto Glym Ultra Deep Shine that leaves the whitish finish? If not can you take a pic and send it to me :karimkhansautoperfection@gmail.com or better yet give me a call and we can make some arrangements for me to see it and i can guide you from there.
Karim Khan - 784-9290

TECH N FIZ

Postby TECH N FIZ » August 1st, 2011, 9:34 pm

Karim Khan wrote:Tech,,,,, Is it the Auto Glym Ultra Deep Shine that leaves the whitish finish? If not can you take a pic and send it to me :karimkhansautoperfection@gmail.com or better yet give me a call and we can make some arrangements for me to see it and i can guide you from there.
Karim Khan - 784-9290

yup is the ultra deep shine, but even with the prestone after it drys to a haze & i buff it out it still leaves a residue. i tried calling you dis evening because i was frustrated. Don't think it will show in a pic but i'll see.

thanks for the reply. 8-)