Ants in my car

carsearch2011

Ants in my car

Postby carsearch2011 » April 10th, 2011, 8:27 pm

So I finally got my car this week and well there are ants in the car. I have no idea where they are coming from, i sprayed the inside and haven't seen any inside there in a few days. Howeve, ever so often i will see them on the outside. sometimes one or two coming from the hood, sometimes coming from the trunk and somtimes outide the wondows. When i lift up the bonnet, no ants, when i look in the trubk no ants. What can i do to get rid of them since i can't see where they are cmoing from?

rmrunner

Re: Ants in my car

Postby rmrunner » April 10th, 2011, 9:12 pm

well...i tink u got screwed wen u bought yur car.....check to see where the car is parking if there is ants around. also u mite need to take yur floor apolstery off to check if theres a nest o so..

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » April 11th, 2011, 5:15 am

Similar thing happened to my sisters car.. The ants would come from a nearby nest whenever she parked within 3 spots of it.. And some devious fire ants too, when one of them things bite it was pains..

Basically we just pro-tox out under the seats and parked somewhere different... Did the trick..
Check your car for old power mint wrappers etc to see WHY the ants love your car so much

Sierra-117

Postby Sierra-117 » April 11th, 2011, 7:00 am

under the floor upholstery is a good bet internally for the source.....

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » April 11th, 2011, 8:11 am

my moms brand new vitara had dat problem wen we collect it ....i feel is where dey does park it

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 11th, 2011, 8:43 am

ants real dangerous to wiring!
Better scrap the inside and make sure they're gone.

Postby Dave » April 11th, 2011, 8:56 am

give yuh car a good soap wash, real throw soap in all the crevices u can see

then polish with a good car wax as the soap strips the wax finish on the car's paint

always worked for me

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 11th, 2011, 10:03 am

this is very annoying, I kept spraying the interior over a period of time until they were no more.......actually once when I was driving my son noticed ants running all over the read door.....stopped, opened, only to see quite a large gathering with eggs near the door hinge.....had to find me a shop, bought a can of bagon and sprayed them......kept spraying interior each day and since that day the sightings gradually reduced until there were no more

linkting

Postby linkting » April 13th, 2011, 8:44 am

call rentokil quick lol!! aite man i could understand ur frustration i think we all had an ants problem at some point but according to science ants like places of warmth and often tend to go towards a source of water (learn dat from meh rentokil breadren). There can be a couple possibilities for your problem. As the guys said before, it could be where you park your car or the fact that they are just seeking refuge for water or warmth or even bits of food. I suggest getting a full body wash, underwash and engine wash included and if the problems persist, well call in the pros let them spray if for you. The thing about ants are that they follow trails left by the last one so get rid of the trail and basically u get rid of the rest ah dem buggerz............if u wanna find out where they coming from just try taking some sugar and put it in your trunk and im sure they'll come out. Hope this helps

Postby Hook » April 14th, 2011, 10:14 am

^^^ Interesting plan! Lure them out! hmmmm *strokes chin*

carsearch2011, I had a similar problem when I got my hatchback from the body shop many many years ago. Ended up using a bug bomb like this:
...which I got from the US but I can't seem to find locally AT ALL!

BUT in seeking a solution for my problem, I called Rentokill and it turns out that they can in fact scale down their fumigation process for houses (with the blanket etc.) and do a car. Can't remember the cost, but I remember hearing my wallet scream in the other room when he told me over the phone.
Give them a call and hear what they have to say.

If it can really be done, it'll definitely work, but as an alternative, seek out the help of maybe an agri shop or maybe William H. Scott for ant bait like linkting suggested.

This looks like it might be effective.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » April 18th, 2011, 4:17 pm

Hook wrote:
This looks like it might be effective.

this works wonders!!!!!

i just used it in my office in teh kitchen,in 2 days,,ants are gone!!!

Postby kurpal_v2 » April 18th, 2011, 4:34 pm

^^ Whats the cost of that?

wheel whores

Postby wheel whores » April 18th, 2011, 4:39 pm

try some sevin powder

speedfreak44

Postby speedfreak44 » April 18th, 2011, 5:45 pm

take bomb insecticide spray it over night, make sure all windows are up

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » April 18th, 2011, 7:40 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:^^ Whats the cost of that?

I dont know,,,someone bought it for us,,I'll ask

Postby Hook » April 19th, 2011, 10:10 am

^^^ you found out yet? cost and location of the product please...ah get a couple PM's just now on this same ched asking just those questions.

S.W 15

Postby S.W 15 » April 26th, 2011, 1:28 pm

Check under the back seat and (if you can) spray inside the fire wall!

Seeker

Postby Seeker » April 27th, 2011, 3:29 pm

Like it have Ants reading this thread....look it have red ants in my car!!!!!!!

WHAT D JAIL??!!!!!! :shock: :x