A relay hookup question!!

Re: A relay hookup question!!

Postby Hook » May 23rd, 2010, 3:42 pm

Did you not read the first page of this thread? You want to defeat the purpose of a dual bulb set-up?
What does really go on wit some ah allyuh boy?

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 23rd, 2010, 4:27 pm

maybe he wanna run some kinda HID Hidding sum so naa ....lmao

Postby Hook » May 23rd, 2010, 9:13 pm

Hold on, hold on...

YOU want to modify your wiring and defeat the purpose of a FACTORY dual-bulb headlight system because you NOT getting what you want AFTER you installed some nonsense that the system wasn't designed for, but I'M being ignorant?

Here's an idea, Einstein, leave your wiring as is and focus on getting the colours to match.

Read over the first page of this thread and understand why your headlights are the way they are.

Do some research and understand how your eyes react to different colour temperatures as it relates to your problem before you jump to calling others ignorant, cuz you not sounding too bright right now.

Postby Hook » May 23rd, 2010, 9:43 pm

Wow...u really aren't too bright...taking my words out of context and all. It's a wonder you can type whole sentences if your reading skills are that lacking.

Lemme break it down for u son.

Dual-bulb setups that can spread a high beam at driver level while still using the low beam to illuminate the roadway are superior to H4 headlights that can only do one at a time.

When someone upgrades a factory H4 system to an aftermarket dual-bulb system, there is a need to have both bulbs wired just as yours came from the factory.
If you want to take a backward step and interfere with your factory wiring because yuh hids-up and bonx yuh head, then go brave.
The manufacturer didn't factor in your aftermerket hid-sup lights so clearly they MUST be wrong.
Have a good night, Sir.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » May 23rd, 2010, 11:15 pm

thelem wrote:Right now im running dual beam headlights. When I call for LB the LB comes on and when I call for HB, the LB stays on and HB comes on as well. What im looking for is when I call for LB the LB comes on, and when I call for HB, the LB comes off and the HB come on. Any ideas or suggestions?

enjoy

Postby Hook » May 24th, 2010, 12:49 am

:lol: thank you megadoc1

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 24th, 2010, 9:05 am

yup yup ....megadoc1 has it correct 5 pin relay on the low line and you on .....aand gaddoiii ...allyh could bite jedd ...lmao

Postby Hook » May 24th, 2010, 7:52 pm

Breds, I still don't get how somebody could interfere with the system, don't get what they want and then figure the system is wrong because their modification didn't agree with them. But say what. I hope he's happy now.

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 24th, 2010, 11:06 pm

well actually i understand what he is doing eh .....and makes sense but only if you get an improvement in dat modification ......but theres a reason for the stock components dat i try not to destroy .....especially hids dat have a lifespand ....stupes ....so when he wanna go back stock is more sheit.....lmao

Postby Hook » May 25th, 2010, 11:53 am

I not even gonna get into another discussion on proper optics or to enquire if the HIDs are properly installed in a projector type housing to ensure proper road illumination.had it been me and all those bases were covered, I personally would've focused on getting the colour temperatures to match either by buying lower colour temperature HID bulbs OR by buying a hyperwhite high beam bulb instead of interfering with the factory configuration. Now every time he flashes his high beams at night (eg. to signal someone to pass), he shortens the lifespan of the HIDs by having them flash off and back on.
Say what, you can only say so much.

This is a good thread though. Nice diagrams.

Postby wagonrunner » May 25th, 2010, 12:54 pm

Hook wrote:Now every time he flashes his high beams at night (eg. to signal someone to pass), he shortens the lifespan of the HIDs by having them flash off and back on.

didn't realize it at the time, but TCN2440 has this problem as well. :lol: :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » May 29th, 2010, 9:28 pm

:bump:

here is a stupid question:

I see they use an input from one HB & LB for those set up's above. In other words the other set from the other headlight will be disconnected right?

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » May 30th, 2010, 11:12 am

^^ yup ......tape it off and you gd to go cause you only need i set of inputs ....from either side !!

oxidation

Postby oxidation » April 1st, 2011, 9:59 pm

bumping up an ole thread here

had relays installed for both high and low in my B15

work was done by the OP for this thread...

im using 90/100 watt bulbs

problem is that the lights did in fact get brighter buy the bulb that i have or what i only seem to be getting in the parts place somewhat does not show that bright.. (bulb brand is superlite and comes in a yellow box .. you get them every where you go.. made in china tings nah.)

problem is the B15 bulbs are H4B and when checking online there is none to be found jus plain ole H4

i would really like to know where i can get really good quality 90/100w or even original bulbs for the car....

Postby cinco » April 2nd, 2011, 12:08 am

h4 and h4b are the same the b prob just denotes bromine as the gas as opposed to halogen
why do you need 90/100 bulbs btw?
did you upgrade the sockets in the car? those higher wattage bulbs tend to melt them.
original bulbs would be 55/60 get regular sylvania bulbs they are oem for most manus do NOT buy 9003 bulbs altho they are interchangable they are american spec and have a different shield built in and diminished output

oxidation

Postby oxidation » April 2nd, 2011, 6:26 am

yes we did the upgraded sockets

had an H4 and H4b bulb to compare and the H4B bulb base is actually smaller than the H4.

Reason for the 90/100w is the same as the Op reason's ...we have to pass thru some really dark back country roads.....

cant seem to get the sylvania new only option is to get them foreign used... do you recommend foreign used ... lol

Postby cinco » April 4th, 2011, 7:35 am

in this day and age of the internet buddy you can get anything new
would you buy used brakes? why buy used bulbs?
if you do dark country road driving install some ancillary driving lights (fogs) PROPERLY

oxidation

Postby oxidation » April 7th, 2011, 8:48 pm

cinco wrote:in this day and age of the internet buddy you can get anything new
would you buy used brakes? why buy used bulbs?
if you do dark country road driving install some ancillary driving lights (fogs) PROPERLY

been searching the net and only coming up with HB4

im getting the H4 B bulbs but these bulbs are the same what im getting locally

i think ill email sylvania and see what they have to say

oxidation

Postby oxidation » April 11th, 2011, 3:59 pm

got back an email from sylvania and this is what they have to say...

Hello Shaun,

I believe you meant to say HB4 or H4 in your original inquiry because H4B is not a valid part number. If you meant to say HB4, that lamp is better known as 9006. If you meant H4, that lamp is better known as 9003. Both are available in a variety of upgrades. Listed from most white to least white:

SilverStar® ULTRA – 4100K

SilverStar® - 4000K

CoolBlue® - 3500K

XtraVision® - 3200K

Standard Halogen - 3200K

Sincerely,
Heather Kennett
Consumer Care Specialist
OSRAM SYLVANIA, Inc.

((800) 729-3777