Re: Wiper Blade review thread.

Postby Kronik » February 13th, 2011, 1:30 pm

$150...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 13th, 2011, 5:26 pm

How do all of you service wiper blades? My Michelin frameless are only about 7 months old and wipe extremely clean, but tend to chatter a little bit...
What can I use to service/clean the blade itself?

Postby rollingstock » February 13th, 2011, 5:38 pm

I spray a little armorall on a cloth and wipe the blade to protect the rubber.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 13th, 2011, 6:29 pm

CD4Accord wrote:How do all of you service wiper blades? My Michelin frameless are only about 7 months old and wipe extremely clean, but tend to chatter a little bit...

I use regular soap and water. No armorall or any other "greasy" protectant.

Use a dedicated glass cleaner to maintain your windshield's "smoothness" and remove all the junk and whatnot.

In the worst case (bad etching, overspray etc) you may perhaps need to use a detailing clay bar on your windshield (as strange as that sounds)

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » February 13th, 2011, 7:11 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:
CD4Accord wrote:How do all of you service wiper blades? My Michelin frameless are only about 7 months old and wipe extremely clean, but tend to chatter a little bit...

Use a dedicated glass cleaner to maintain your windshield's "smoothness" and remove all the junk and whatnot.

In the worst case (bad etching, overspray etc) you may perhaps need to use a detailing clay bar on your windshield (as strange as that sounds)

I use a little rubbing alcohol on a cloth.

Plus RainX on the windscreen.

I'm using

EVA my wipers aren't giving that trouble clean them and uninstall then reinstall them, last time I got that problem was because the blade was not hooked properly on the wiper arm.

Postby rollingstock » February 13th, 2011, 8:04 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:

I used the same process before but because my car is parked in the sunlight constantly the rubber deteriorates and small cracks form and could be seen with close inspection and this caused chatter and unwiped lines, the rubbing alcohol cleaned the wiper really well but the cracking still occurred. The amorall worked for me, i don't use it in abundance to transfer to the windscreen, small amount on a cloth and a quick wipe is sufficient to protect the rubber.

oxidation

Postby oxidation » February 13th, 2011, 9:07 pm

yes i use the rubbing alcohol and once a month a use the clay bar to remove contaminants

silver racer

Postby silver racer » February 14th, 2011, 9:35 pm

My last set lasted over 2yrs!! Got them from Kronik. My cousin took them for his car an he say it still working better than the ones he recently got (<6months ago), just some fine streaks.

I have 26" and 20" on my A33, even at speeds of 140Km no skipping at all. works real bess, big up to Kronik.

Postby Aaron 2NR » February 15th, 2011, 6:55 am

running the oem honda on my civic...for $7 us a pair i cant complain....

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 15th, 2011, 12:19 pm

^^ Will be surprised what Glass Science can do. Sometimes @ speeds of 100km I don't even put on my wipers.

Using OEM REFILLS !

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 15th, 2011, 2:55 pm

from what I understand, Glass Science is like RainX on steroids...
Where did you get it and for how much?

Also, i'll try to clean off the Michelin frameless blades tonight and see how that works... Unless its BELTING rain the noise is rather annoying at the moment..

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » February 17th, 2011, 10:29 am

ALL this for wiper blades?
what are the rigourous tests implemented to give these expert reviews ?

any way ....Rain box $30 seem to work just as good as michelin and friends

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 17th, 2011, 1:10 pm

Show us a 2 year old Rainbox that wipes like new then you have a case.

I know you gonna jump on the cost factor. For most of us, less inconvenience, less frustration and time saved is worth the few dollars extra.

That said, if Rainbox works well for your application then, by all means, stick with it.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 17th, 2011, 2:49 pm

haydn28 wrote:ALL this for wiper blades?
what are the rigourous tests implemented to give these expert reviews ?

any way ....Rain box $30 seem to work just as good as michelin and friends

My testing was using PIAAs for four years (almost going on 5) with them working without fail/falw/skipping/missing etc etc :lol:

No rainx or any fancy stuff like that (save for a glass cleaner wipe down here and there)

haydn28

Postby haydn28 » February 17th, 2011, 2:55 pm

wow :shock: , wiper blade tuners u guys real in to this . :wink:

totally speechless :!:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 17th, 2011, 3:02 pm

^^Now now, you're missing the point. It's not about TUNING wiper blades, but making the best of a lame situation.

Kinda like "modifying" a grocery getter, for example.

Some go with K&N drop ins and brag.

Others go and switch engines, and brag.

Ent? :lol:

venum

Postby venum » February 17th, 2011, 8:00 pm

i use polishing compound to clean my windsheild when it gets dirty

works really well

takes some elbow grease though

regular soap and water or car wash soap solution (turtle wax) to clean the wiper blades when i washing the truck

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » February 18th, 2011, 6:59 am

My 300.00 rainx wipers are gone.

The left is skipping. (Yes they were maintained properly)

Just got about 1yr out of them.

Postby A172 » February 18th, 2011, 1:07 pm

Bosch wipers working well for me.

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 18th, 2011, 3:30 pm

I lvoe the Bosch but I can't bear the price in Trinidad... I try to bring a set or two down whenever i coming from the states...
So far its been excellent on the cefiro

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » February 18th, 2011, 8:03 pm

ZeroOne wrote:My 300.00 rainx wipers are gone.

The left is skipping. (Yes they were maintained properly)

Just got about 1yr out of them.

sheeeet!!! my left one's fine, it's the right that leaves a lace curtain on the way down :evil:

i still think it's got something to do with the length of the frameless... will try a framed set after this to get some proof...

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » February 18th, 2011, 8:29 pm

EVA I wanna give the rainx another try so ill just buy an new left side as the right is perfect.

I find it strange that just one side would go bad. :?

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » February 19th, 2011, 9:14 am

^^^ :lol: bess we switch out then... :lol:

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » February 19th, 2011, 10:21 am

might be on to something there u know........when next yuh in POS?

EVA Unit-01

Postby EVA Unit-01 » March 5th, 2011, 9:53 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:In the worst case (bad etching, overspray etc) you may perhaps need to use a detailing clay bar on your windshield (as strange as that sounds)

thanks a mil! it worked! not thanks for getting me addicted to the ultra-smooth feel, though... spent 6 hours claying the whole car :evil:

but yes, my windshield wasn't that dirty (so smears, stains, chips, etc), but i noticed there were some lines right where the wipers stopped. i felt a small little bump there, like the wipers were mounding the dirt/RainX/whatever-else-was-on-the-glass there...

so i washed the windshield with regular carwash (Meguiar's NXT) as per normal, clayed the entire thing (Mother's clay bar) and coated with RainX. washed the wipers and Armoralled them for good measure...

everything's perfectly fine now, except for the slight oily steak that i'll wash off next week :mrgreen:

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » March 6th, 2011, 6:56 am

^^Good to hear it worked out for you bro 8) . Hopefully I'll be doing the same over the weekend as well.

Chemical

Postby Chemical » April 7th, 2011, 7:52 pm

^^Got these yesterday from my skybox...

Works great so far, Toyota wanted $98 + vat for the 40cm & $141 + vat for the 60cm (Refills).

Must admit though the refills lasted 4 years !!!!

oxidation

Postby oxidation » April 7th, 2011, 8:44 pm

^^ so hw much it cost total

Chemical

Postby Chemical » April 7th, 2011, 9:43 pm

[quote="EVA Unit- washed the wipers and Armoralled them for good measure...

everything's perfectly fine now, except for the slight oily steak that i'll wash off next week :mrgreen:[/quote]

Next thing tuners will be putting grease on their rotors for squeaking brakes. I think Physics & Chemistry should be made compulsory up to form 5....Really i'm serious.