tyres

CD4Accord

Re: tyres

Postby CD4Accord » February 16th, 2011, 3:46 pm

What is the manufacturer (of your car) recommended? Why do you want to presumably drop it to 26?

I mean, you can safely run it but it tends to mess with the cornering quality quite a bit, also leads to quicker wear of the side treads..

oxidation

Postby oxidation » February 16th, 2011, 4:11 pm

actually i hvnt topped up the air in my tyres for a while and jus checked it and it read 26psi

but the car has been giving a smooth ride with the 26 so jus was wondering if i could keep it as is right now

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 16th, 2011, 6:54 pm

The only truly knowledgeable tyre shop I have dealt with in south is Ramrattan M.

I will never recommend them. Been burned THREE times by them and their "pricing" etiquette. :|

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 16th, 2011, 8:31 pm

Well, I cant say I recommended them, but they actually knew what they were talking about when it came to different models and compounds etc..
Care to elaborate how you been burned?

Postby cinco » February 17th, 2011, 6:32 am

26 would seem pretty soft you would lose a bit to gas mileage and cause premature wear
i usually roll between 28-30 on that size tyre

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 19th, 2011, 8:20 pm

guys, i drove a mini cooper today on triangle brand tyres.
I just have to say the braking performance of these is trash, on two occasions, deceleration from 100 km/hr on highway exits, i picked up skids. no ride noise though, they looked new.

Just thougt I'd share.

Postby bushwakka » February 19th, 2011, 8:28 pm

^^has been said many times in this thread alrdy man......but ppl like chemical will beg to differ

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 19th, 2011, 8:41 pm

Why would someone go through the trouble of buying a mini cooper and then fit TRIANGLE tyres to it? Another of Trinidad's great mysteries...

As a recent observation here in the states I'm starting to see more and more Nexen and Roadstone tyres.. Shame really because quality can be had for not much more...

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 19th, 2011, 9:42 pm

CD4Accord wrote:Why would someone go through the trouble of buying a mini cooper and then fit TRIANGLE tyres to it? Another of Trinidad's great mysteries...

i asked the same thing...fun lil car tho...

Chemical

Postby Chemical » February 20th, 2011, 7:51 am

CD4Accord wrote:Why would someone go through the trouble of buying a mini cooper and then fit TRIANGLE tyres to it? Another of Trinidad's great mysteries...

As a recent observation here in the states I'm starting to see more and more Nexen and Roadstone tyres.. Shame really because quality can be had for not much more...

^^Yep, Walmart in Canada sells them, & here in Trinidad IMO they have taken over the market on everyday passanger cars. I even saw MM ordered a whole bunch & was delivered to sell last week when I was there !

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 21st, 2011, 9:17 am

ghostbusters wrote:guys, i drove a mini cooper today on triangle brand tyres.
I just have to say the braking performance of these is trash, on two occasions, deceleration from 100 km/hr on highway exits, i picked up skids. no ride noise though, they looked new.

Just thougt I'd share.

It seems people just believe in cheaping out.

Sis in law with fancy rims etc running Triangles up front after Direzzas wore out. Hard braking situation in some highway rain last week and she had a long slide into the car in front her.

They are convinced that there was "something" on the surface to cause the slide, apart from the water off course.

It couldn't be the Triangles, never, dem is new tyres, what sheit i talking.... :roll:

Postby bushwakka » February 21st, 2011, 3:25 pm

but of course....tyres is tyres....de only ppl who buy expensive tyres are idiots who want brand name and wanna be posh

Postby X_Factor » February 21st, 2011, 3:34 pm

What brand tire pressure gauges u all use?
the pencil type or the hand helds?

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 21st, 2011, 6:37 pm

Campbell Hausfeld pencil type.

Incidentally, you hold both types in your hand but we know what you mean :)

Postby X_Factor » February 21st, 2011, 6:51 pm

^ lol...should hav said pistol grip

presently i hav a normal pencil type
was thinking about ordering one of those michelin or accutire pistol grip gauges
goes for around 20USD
anyone uses those?

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 21st, 2011, 9:32 pm

Sis in law with fancy rims etc running Triangles up front after Direzzas wore out. Hard braking situation in some highway rain last week and she had a long slide into the car in front her.

They are convinced that there was "something" on the surface to cause the slide, apart from the water off course.

It couldn't be the Triangles, never, dem is new tyres, what sheit i talking.... :roll:

i think is a law that in laws are stupid or somn, lol

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 21st, 2011, 11:49 pm

X_Factor wrote:^ lol...should hav said pistol grip

presently i hav a normal pencil type
was thinking about ordering one of those michelin or accutire pistol grip gauges
goes for around 20USD
anyone uses those?

bought the accutire of amazon works great, has accuracy to 0.5

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » February 22nd, 2011, 12:02 am

Strugglerzinc wrote:
ghostbusters wrote:guys, i drove a mini cooper today on triangle brand tyres.

Just thougt I'd share.

Had a similar experience and I for one thought all tyres was more or less the same, coming to think of it I had a sliding incident like that before and when I think back it was nexens that I got with the car. The feeling is akin to sliding on ice not nice at all. Good thing the left lane was free. After that incident a friend linked me with some hankooks blackbird v2 which I ran down to the threadwear indicator not a good idea, I know, but it still had adequate performance in wet and dry. I got some roadstone tyres weekend, so I thinking brand new tyres it must hold better than the used hankooks I had. WRONG, imagine the hankooks with no tyre life was holding way better than them piece of crap roadstones. Lesson learnt. And I also believe most accident are due to the bad tyres. If you check any tyre shop all have roadstone and if you check the majority of cars out there the majority has roadstone. So when you on the road the car in front, in the back or to the sides could all be running roadstones. A sobering thought indeed.

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 22nd, 2011, 7:37 am

Heavy rain this morning. Toyo Vimode 205-60-14 held like champs @ 60-80 kph :) . Realistically i don't think i should be going faster than that with the rain pouring.

No hint of hydroplaning after 1 year of hard use and more than halfway down on the treads. Was the best i could get for the stock 14's. It should be noted that my previous Sumitomo HTR200 hydroplaned like fcuk at the equivalent stage in their lives in similar weather. I used to fraid rain with those.

At $700+ each at MM, i can see why the price of Roadstone, Nexen and Triangle would call to most.

Over the weekend, getting groceries at pricemart, a riced Corolla pulls up (with all the speed, pomp and circumstance due to a true ricer) and the driver looks at me and my car in disdain (i assume because its lowered on the stock rims) shakes his head and walks off.

Upon further inspection, Mr Speedy is running 3 LingLong and 1 Bolex on his 17" faux racing rims. And these people drive among us. :|
Last edited by Strugglerzinc on February 22nd, 2011, 8:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby crazybalhead » February 22nd, 2011, 12:23 pm

X_Factor wrote:What brand tire pressure gauges u all use?
the pencil type or the hand helds?

Victor. The analogue gauge type. Those pencil types were never accurate in my opinion.

The V12 hankooks are great road tyres, but leave a little to be desired on a solodex course.

Postby bushwakka » February 22nd, 2011, 2:35 pm

buh zinc, i mighta look at u de same way....wah u lower for? to clean de mud from ur underside on humps?

Postby Strugglerzinc » February 22nd, 2011, 8:43 pm

nah fadda, is to make dem ants duck they head when ah pass.

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 22nd, 2011, 9:32 pm

bushwakka wrote:buh zinc, i mighta look at u de same way....wah u lower for? to clean de mud from ur underside on humps?

I know this wasnt directed at me, but what wrong with lowered vehicles? my car lowered...i like my speed humps clean and well if nobody gonna clean it, I might as well...

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » February 23rd, 2011, 12:46 am

Im glad to see more and more anecdotes coming out about the trouble of cheaping out on tyres...
Its not to say mediocre brands like Kumho etc THAT expensive.. Once someone can afford a car i fairly sure that can pay the $100 extra for a reasonably quality tyre..

Anyway, what does crack me up even more is when you call a tyre shop and they calling the brand Nixon instead of Nexen... Its all you have in stock, at least get the name right..
That said, my aunt have the Nexen N3000 on her A33 Cefiro, and while it not a HORRIBLE tyre, it definitely doesnt do the car any favours.. Rides hard, wears quickly and worst of all makes abs somewhat redundant in hard braking situations..

FullStop

Postby FullStop » February 23rd, 2011, 7:23 am

i think in that regard I'm different, i used nexen n3000 when i was an amateur once and i cant say that i regretted it in a big way.
I think the traction was great, the treadwear was poor and the sidewall cracked, but the traction was pretty good in my opinion.

Veritrini

Postby Veritrini » February 23rd, 2011, 8:42 am

Hi,

Anyone has experience with LingLong tyres?

Getting them on a set of new rims...wanna know if i should take rim only :S

Other Options:
Autoguard
Triangle

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » February 23rd, 2011, 10:51 am

Well you know, if you read.........ahh never mind yes.

Postby cinco » February 23rd, 2011, 12:04 pm

should rename this thread to dont buy longlong/triangle chinese tyres

Postby bushwakka » February 23rd, 2011, 12:44 pm

Veritrini wrote:Hi,

Anyone has experience with LingLong tyres?

Getting them on a set of new rims...wanna know if i should take rim only :S

Other Options:
Autoguard
Triangle

ok hear what pallie....jus forget everything that you know abt tyres (im assuming next to nothing)......and take a read in this thread from page 1 come straight back to this page

and btw....that means NONE of your options are good

Veritrini

Postby Veritrini » February 23rd, 2011, 1:56 pm

thats a bummer !

Whats a man to do if his his budget allows him $500 per tyre....17's