samurai steering problems

grasshopper4389

samurai steering problems

Postby grasshopper4389 » June 12th, 2010, 10:35 am

i have a suzuki samurai,when driving down the road and 60 and over i get a really bad shim on the steering and when you look out side the wheels just wabbleing whats the problem ? i check all the joints from pitman arm to all the joints.could it be the steering column it self from the steering to the steering rod ? thanks

turbohead

Re: samurai steering problems

Postby turbohead » June 12th, 2010, 2:37 pm

speed balance the wheels and move on from there

bigchief3679

Postby bigchief3679 » June 12th, 2010, 11:15 pm

perhaps one or two rims are bent. swap those from the front onto the back and see if it changes (unless all ur rims are bent). the effects of a slightly bent rim are magnified on a small vehicle with large diameter wheels.

grasshopper4389

Postby grasshopper4389 » June 13th, 2010, 7:20 am

i jacked up the front wheels and rock it top and bottom and side ways and it moving i am thinkin its either the king pin bearing or the wheel bearing thanks ! the question is now how to change the king pin bearing ??

droppa

Postby droppa » June 14th, 2010, 10:33 am

can be a number of problems, i had a similar encounter...

they carry 4 king pin or camber bearings, top and bottom of both sides, it does usually be dry or worn and that cause the shimming....

worn sterring box or it needs adjusting...

tires need speed balancing....

rims bent or defective..

here my ordeal, i had on the oem 16" steelies and from day one is problem, all suspension was intact, i adjusted the box and speed balanced and it eased up, but was stil there....

i spent $1500 in parts and labour and serviced the entire fron diff (4 camber bearings, 4 wheel bearings, 2 outer seals, 2 inner seals, 1 pr dust kit, grease and oil) and the problem was still there

lastly i spent $2500 and boughta set of 15" sierra chrome steel rims and tires and 90% of the problem is gone.....

the last lil ting i does get is hardly noticle able in smoothe road, and to correct that a damper shock from draglink to chassis is needed
if yuh want the guy number to service the diff i can link yuh.....he in caparo.

grasshopper4389

Postby grasshopper4389 » June 14th, 2010, 3:39 pm

i have the suzuki for about three years and no problem with the rims , change the steering box to power steering and i have the damper on the pit man arm.

droppa

Postby droppa » June 15th, 2010, 8:50 am

then that really is them king pin bearings, they cost bout $45 for one in the parts place...

pm sent.