Aluminium Welding

Postby 3stagevtec » April 27th, 2010, 5:03 pm

I need to get some recommendations on places that can weld Aluminium. I made a 6mm skid plate for under my vehicle but it needs a brace welded to it.

The idiots that bent the Aluminium for me almost broke the sheet while bending (they over bent the thing), so i need it braced before i can really use it.

Preferable looking for places in south..

Thanks

Postby X_Factor » April 27th, 2010, 6:20 pm

buy a tin of the propane and a couple aluminum rods and hav fun!!

or visit ne A/C repair place...they usually do aluminum welding

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2010, 7:26 pm

I don't think the a/c people do welding, they more likely do soldering which is not the same thing and is weaker

If you can find a competent welder who has a DC arc machine configured as reverse polarity and buy the aluminum rods he should be able to do it.
Most people have the red lincoln AC welder but some also have the DC version.

Otherwise you need to go to a place with a mig/tig setup

MBC Autotronix

Postby MBC Autotronix » April 27th, 2010, 7:32 pm

Yea....TIG welding.

The only place i know off hand are incentral....Chaguanas Auto Supplies and also
supakool in montrose (A/C place).
Any good A/C place should be able to do it...

memphis78644

Postby memphis78644 » April 27th, 2010, 8:23 pm

in a machine shop,am a welder an i want to start doing aluminum mig welding home but d price sum ppl might wont to pay dats y u wont find any 1 doing it.but am still brining down a machine to do it

Postby X_Factor » April 27th, 2010, 9:36 pm

yeah, i heard its really expensive..3stagevtec, u can call Eastern machine shop, they do it and charge by the inch!!
and its expensive

Postby 3stagevtec » April 27th, 2010, 9:54 pm

I did some quick research on the topic and had really read that they charge by the inch.. Was hoping that had changed though as most of the threads were pretty old..

I feel i better drill some holes and use pieces of steel + nut / bolts to brace the thing..

One AC shop I went by said their equipment (torch i assume) may not generate the heat required to weld the 6mm sheet, but now that you guys mentioned it, I think they were soldering rather than welding the Aluminium AC lines..

Will call the places in central to get a better idea.. Will post what i find out for forum knowledge..

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2010, 10:19 pm

Gormandy's also does, same price by inch

The companies which build canopies/bimini tops for boats in chaguaramas also do aluminum welding.

you can also call ual weldequipe and find out which of their customers do aluminum welding

bunny

Postby bunny » April 28th, 2010, 12:03 am

If you can find a competent welder who has a DC arc machine configured as reverse polarity and buy the aluminum rods he should be able to do it.
Most people have the red lincoln AC welder but some also have the DC version.

Otherwise you need to go to a place with a mig/tig setup.............

That is incorrect. aluminium welding is done with ac, not dc.....tig is the prefered method. I also do tig welding. Whenever I have time. :evil:

lastminuteaudio

Postby lastminuteaudio » April 28th, 2010, 8:58 am

BCR LTD on them forums does it, he located in Princes Town. Real nice work!

droppa

Postby droppa » April 28th, 2010, 11:44 am

u can check vishnu aluminium repairs in montrose, he does alot of rim and intercooler repairs, pipings, flanges etc, he's real good and his price is very affordable..

688-5762

Postby brams112 » April 30th, 2010, 9:26 pm

ok there is a machine shop just under a bakery on coffee steet,coming from standard on the left side,there is a steep street that is a one way,so you can enter from coffee only,,,, they do most types of welding,

Postby 3stagevtec » April 30th, 2010, 9:57 pm

brams112 wrote:ok there is a machine shop just under a bakery on coffee steet,coming from standard on the left side,there is a steep street that is a one way,so you can enter from coffee only,,,, they do most types of welding,

is that closer to lower hillside or towards the gas station side?

rampy

Postby rampy » April 30th, 2010, 11:01 pm

Palmaria main road to Princes Town, about 1/4 mile from link up junction on right side look for ramp in yard or ask for man who repair mag rims.
Last edited by rampy on October 16th, 2010, 12:39 am, edited 1 time in total.

droppa

Postby droppa » May 1st, 2010, 12:30 am

^^u from south ent? WTF kinda direction is that? :mrgreen:

civic minded

Postby civic minded » May 2nd, 2010, 8:02 am

aye boi - juss use the nuts and bolts instead of weldin it - this way you can remove if needed

Postby 3stagevtec » May 2nd, 2010, 1:09 pm

civic minded wrote:aye boi - juss use the nuts and bolts instead of weldin it - this way you can remove if needed

the skid plate is bolted to my vehicle. there is a bend on the plate to angle it upwards that is not as strong as i would like it to be.. a hard impact is likely to crack the plate at that bend / weak point..

Postby 3stagevtec » May 2nd, 2010, 1:09 pm

droppa wrote:^^u from south ent? WTF kinda direction is that? :mrgreen:

yunno... :lol:

Postby brams112 » May 2nd, 2010, 7:18 pm

ok it is just before lower hill side,driving along coffee,from standard side you will see a bakery on the left side before kfc,street is just on the side of the bakery,machine shop is under bakery,building is a multi storey,coming from cipero street it is just pass lower hill side,lower hillside is a one way entering,the next street is exiting,and the street with the machine shop is entering only,it is a narrow one way,,it is easy to find,,,

Postby 3stagevtec » May 3rd, 2010, 8:34 am

^ thanks man!

droppa

Postby droppa » May 3rd, 2010, 10:48 am

you get tru buddy, wanna see what it looks like when ur done.

Postby 3stagevtec » May 3rd, 2010, 11:04 am

droppa wrote:you get tru buddy, wanna see what it looks like when ur done.

will post pics when i get true.. i'll attack this project tomorrow though, just came home from work..

Rutless Tiida

Postby Rutless Tiida » May 3rd, 2010, 11:11 am

3stagevtec please be carefull of putting steel bolts into aluminum you may get something called Bi- Metallic Corrosion or Galvanic corrosion.

http://corrosion.ksc.nasa.gov/galcorr.htm
"When aluminum alloys or magnesium alloys are in contact with steel (carbon steel or stainless steel), galvanic corrosion can occur and accelerate the corrosion of the aluminum or magnesium."

droppa

Postby droppa » May 3rd, 2010, 12:11 pm

^^^Quite rite :idea:

3stage where u bolting this up :?:

Postby 3stagevtec » May 3rd, 2010, 12:54 pm

NASA wrote:Galvanic corrosion is an electrochemical action of two dissimilar metals in the presence of an electrolyte and an electron conductive path.

Wikipedia wrote:Galvanic corrosion is an electrochemical process in which one metal corrodes preferentially when in electrical contact with a different type of metal and both metals are immersed in an electrolyte.

In the case of a vehicle's skid plate, I would assume the electrolyte would most like be salt water. Not sure about rain water?? So if i keep it dry, that should limit the corrosion..

After i bolted everything up, I did noticed a very light rusty film over all the bolts, so i sprayed them with a rust inhibitor to stop the rust..

this..

I used the harder steel bolts (Grade 10.9) and the Aluminium is isolated from the vehicle's chassis by 1/16" rubber gasket at the rear.

Front mounting location.

The 1st bend (to the left) is what i want reinforced..

Postby 3stagevtec » May 3rd, 2010, 12:57 pm

I have a 2nd piece of Al to mount underneath the vehicle to protect the transfer case and allow me to slide over ruts easier without damaging anything..

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » May 4th, 2010, 12:36 am

I would be interesting in knowing how this goes as well because I might fabricate a custom AL "icebox" for my SRI...

Also, where did you get the winch man! I need one for the pajero and finding prices insane!

Postby 3stagevtec » May 4th, 2010, 12:53 am

CD4Accord wrote:I would be interesting in knowing how this goes as well because I might fabricate a custom AL "icebox" for my SRI...

Also, where did you get the winch man! I need one for the pajero and finding prices insane!

I got a warn, but those not cheap.. Ironman James has 9500lb & 12,000lb winches with remote and warranty for a really good price when you really check it.. He supposed to have an advert in the Global Announcements.

I was also told of a machine shop in Cipero Road called Persad's that does work on Al engines.. Heard a good review on them..

Persad's Automotive Machine Shop Ltd
Cipero Rd SFDO
652-4811

Found that in the yellow pages, I assume that's them..

droppa

Postby droppa » May 4th, 2010, 1:59 pm

warn and ramsey are real best winches, there alot of cheaper ones like chicago and no name brands, they work but cant take much licks.

how do u know what winch is best for your vehicle :?:

droppa

Postby droppa » May 4th, 2010, 2:04 pm

How much Winch do you need?

Recommended winch capacity over vehicle weight. Typically manufacturers and resellers will suggest you should calculate the winch rating by taking the gross vehicle weight and multiplying it by 1.5 and that would be your minimum winch size. But this minimum rating is just that, a minimum. Certain factors can quickly cause your winch capacity to be exceeded so you need to think about your intended usage. Be aware that certain terrains and situations can put a much greater demand on a winch over the typical 1.5 multiplication rule of thumb. For instance a common cause for winching is mud. Mud however has an incredible suction force on a stuck vehicle and in many cases that 1.5 rule of thumb is far inadequate. Steep hills and frequent winching also put great demand on an electric winch. Understanding the purpose and safe use of winch accessories such as a snatch block can be invaluable when you need it most