? TO ALL SUSPENSION EXPERTS .....

streetkyng3000

? TO ALL SUSPENSION EXPERTS .....

Postby streetkyng3000 » April 4th, 2010, 11:16 am

Whats the correct way to drop a SSS U14 bluebird .

Postby Rainman » April 4th, 2010, 11:32 am

With a Proper coilover suspension. Don't cheap out on suspension systems, they determine the way you vehicle handles.

angrytuner

Postby angrytuner » April 4th, 2010, 9:18 pm

choose your springs, mate them to shocks that suit them, based on spring rate and damping numbers.depending on the drop and the suspension, modify your camber appropriately, an aftermarket camber kit may be necessary.

exia_sir

Postby exia_sir » April 5th, 2010, 5:32 am

it all depends on how u drive ... plenty speedy corners n racing - coilovers are the thing for you ,cruising down the high way at 80 and the car is just to coast wit - cut springs if u doh business bout how d car drivin or lowering springs :fadein:

Postby r3iXmann » April 5th, 2010, 10:05 am

exia_sir wrote:it all depends on how u drive ... plenty speedy corners n racing - coilovers are the thing for you ,cruising down the high way at 80 and the car is just to coast wit - cut springs if u doh business bout how d car drivin or lowering springs :fadein:

:?

cut springs are NEVER an option..it lowers the car using a dangerous method and the car rides like sheit in comparison to a good set of lowering springs

coilovers are not for everybody..if you still want to maintain a factory-ish feel, get some non-race lowering springs (tein h tech)

for something a little stiffer,get the race versions (and upgrade your shocks)

for the best in lowering control (and stiffness), get the coilovers

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » April 6th, 2010, 8:09 pm

^^Well said sir.

Just to add to that...for the OP's benefit....keep in mind it's a generalized rule of thumb that running lowering springs on stock struts (shocks) will shorten their lifespan, as this puts some additional stresses on the valving.

streetkyng3000

Postby streetkyng3000 » April 9th, 2010, 7:42 pm

Thanks fellas thus far for the info , keep it coming , please , but seriously. I need some advise on how to get rid of noise from axle after dropping.

streetsleeper2

Postby streetsleeper2 » April 9th, 2010, 9:02 pm

I once saw a guy who used two big washers and weld one on either side under where the bottom of the shock bolts up then bolt the stock shock onto the washers. Gave the car a 3 inch drop.
What you guys think?

Goolie

Postby Goolie » April 10th, 2010, 1:54 am

streetsleeper2 wrote:I once saw a guy who used two big washers and weld one on either side under where the bottom of the shock bolts up then bolt the stock shock onto the washers. Gave the car a 3 inch drop.
What you guys think?

have seen a similar setup, was told it works well since original shock/springs were used. dunno how long it'll hold out though :roll:

streetkyng3000

Postby streetkyng3000 » April 10th, 2010, 11:08 am

I noticed that the front and rear shocks are similar but the rear are a little shorter so if I took a pair of rear shocks and put the front spring and head on them would this be able to work at the front and how effective would this be in respect to lowering the car.

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » April 11th, 2010, 8:35 pm

streetkyng3000 wrote:I noticed that the front and rear shocks are similar but the rear are a little shorter so if I took a pair of rear shocks and put the front spring and head on them would this be able to work at the front and how effective would this be in respect to lowering the car.

no.
Even if the rear strut could bolt on to the front, the spring still dictates the height or the amount of drop.
The strut only dampens the spring rebound.
Also if you're going with stiffer springs or lowering springs, you should also get ungraded struts. Otherwise the stiffer springs would cause the stock struts to wear alot faster than it should.

streetkyng3000

Postby streetkyng3000 » April 11th, 2010, 9:15 pm

Question . Could R32 Coilovers be applied on a U14 Bluebird, if yes please explain.