A/C filter - When to change?

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » April 27th, 2006, 9:01 am

Mornin tuners,

Ah noticed a few posts about a/c filters and how to change them. What I want to know is WHEN should you change them?

The a/c blows pretty hard and the cabin does not small musty or anything.
But then again, the car is about 5 years old. That filter hadda be dirty.

How do I access the air filter in a CK4 lancer and where do i buy a replacement (please dont tell me diamond motors)

Avin.

Postby Dave » April 27th, 2006, 9:08 am

filter is over the evaporator which is in a very hard to get place
and more than likely it would be the firm to sell it to you
visual inspection is usually the way of knowing if it needs to be replaced

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » April 27th, 2006, 10:20 am

As this topic is brought up, anyone ever sourced one for a Civic 2002, EK4 model i think. A co-worker of mine is looking. Classis Motors don't have it.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » April 27th, 2006, 10:44 am

So, what happens if you dont change on time?

Postby Dave » April 27th, 2006, 11:45 am

you will strain the blower and they not cheap for the ck model and allergens would be in the air in the cabin and car will smell bad
Last edited by Dave on April 28th, 2006, 7:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2006, 11:59 am

changing a/c filter helps alot of car had any kind of smell before and cleaning seats did not help, eg previous owners were smokers etc like most roro japanese,
the shampoos the roro places use have a chemical smell which only masks the smoke scent

krack korn

Postby krack korn » April 27th, 2006, 12:26 pm

u can just wash them when u have them out. I wasn't willing to pay $180 for one in the primera (it have 2) so I soak dem in some detergent and rest d pressure washer in he tail, dry it out and it was like new again. This is for the primera one eh other cars might be more complex like hepa filter and thing but if is just a single element den just reverse wash it.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 27th, 2006, 1:23 pm

^^sense.....
i never cleaned mine. :shock: :shock:
i should look into it,....

villain

Postby villain » April 27th, 2006, 6:26 pm

i took mine out...it was caked with dust and all kinda sheit that i didnt even want to touch...so right now mine out .... :cry:

Postby Hook » April 27th, 2006, 7:42 pm

the cabin does not small musty

the cabin and car will small bad

*tsk tsk tsk* yuh do dat fuh spite nuh swami

Postby Dave » April 28th, 2006, 7:23 am

nah boy hook, it was an honest mistake after i read the post :oops: :D

Xman

Postby Xman » April 28th, 2006, 8:05 am

So besides alleviating smell...........replacing OR cleaning does what........

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » April 28th, 2006, 8:10 am

Well, less restriction thru the filter means more air flow, no??

So, your a/c should blow harder.

Xman

Postby Xman » April 28th, 2006, 9:10 am

^^^ would that translate into less stress on the engine since the AC robs the engine off power........

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » April 28th, 2006, 9:28 am

Hmmmm, i doubt.

The blower is an electric fan.
Shouldn't have anything to do with the compressor.

But I could be wrong.

Parvin

Postby Parvin » October 15th, 2009, 6:50 pm

Anyone know how to get it out of the ck lancers ?

I think it's in the glove compartment ?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 15th, 2009, 8:52 pm

I couldn't believe how nasty that filter was.........took it out and washed but wasn't too impressed with the result.....So I soaked it in some detergent and a bit of bleach and that water became soooo black!!!!

Really vaccuumed interior of cabin (took some good time with this), generously used some febreze with allergen reducer or whatever, vaccuumed again, some more febreze, let it air out for a bit and have since noticed an improved interior cabin environment.......actually felt clean, crisp and refreshing to breathe.......

Postby Hook » October 15th, 2009, 9:01 pm

^^^ lol...it shocks you to see what you'd be breathing in if u didn't have a cabin air filter ent?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » October 15th, 2009, 9:10 pm

Any info on d ck lancers Hook ?

Postby Hook » October 15th, 2009, 9:21 pm

sry meng...*shrugs* I don't even know if the CK Lancers have cabin air filters...My car sure doesn't :(

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 16th, 2009, 9:00 am

Hook wrote:^^^ lol...it shocks you to see what you'd be breathing in if u didn't have a cabin air filter ent?

yuh know!!!!! good thing for nose hairs too!!!!

quintessentiallyenigmatic

Postby quintessentiallyenigmatic » October 16th, 2009, 3:28 pm

Guys I don't think the CK4's came with this cabin filter at least not the locals.........if anyone could shed some more light....

slow323

Postby slow323 » October 16th, 2009, 5:23 pm

most local cars from dealership doh come with filters, is only after the ro ro cars start coming with them the dealership start to leave them in

Re: A/C filter - When to change?

Postby nervewrecker » June 24th, 2012, 7:54 pm

found this vid:

in case anyone else might want to DIY.

Anyone knows where sells filters for the almera's?

there are many similar ones here: http://www.youtube.com/results?search_q ... yv6Jqvmr7w

Postby Hook » June 25th, 2012, 12:27 am

U could get cabin air filters for Almera/B15/Y11 at most parts places.

Fram has a nice one with pockets filled with baking soda that stays smelling fresher for much longer than the regular paper ones.
You just have to remember to check it, since it doesn't get that "you need to change your filter" smell :lol:

Postby nervewrecker » June 25th, 2012, 8:57 am

there is another DIY thread with pics but I took this link from the sticky above. I coudnt find my filter at all, been awhile I looking and is more than once I been under there.

Postby Hook » June 25th, 2012, 12:52 pm

When u remove the glove box, there's a long, horizontal, rectangular panel above the blower, with two tabs on either end (it might have "pull" marked on it). That's the filter housing. It's up to the top so u'll have to pull back the seat and look up at it from below.
Lift the tabs and remove the door and u can slide out the filter from there.

Bear in mind when you're putting in the new filter that there's an arrow on it that shows which side is up relative to air flow from the blower. Look for it as you're taking out the old one so u know how to put the new one.

PARTS2go

Postby PARTS2go » June 25th, 2012, 4:12 pm

We have A/C Cabin Air Filters for.....ALMOST EVERY CAR!!!

Call us 353-5523 or 223-8674

Postby S_2NR » June 25th, 2012, 6:48 pm

PARTS2go wrote:We have A/C Cabin Air Filters for.....ALMOST EVERY CAR!!!

Call us 353-5523 or 223-8674

what is the cost to clean evaporator and change air filter by u?

send me a pm

Postby nervewrecker » July 2nd, 2012, 9:12 am

So yesterday evening while cleaning I pull out the filter but didnt have one to replace it with. The filter almost black, can I roll without it until weekend?