wtk...to get rid of gum in engine

dreadman

wtk...to get rid of gum in engine

Postby dreadman » August 10th, 2009, 10:07 pm

ok ppl i have a ga15 engine in my car an i notice that when i open the oil cork inside there real dirty. i find d oil does turn dirty real fast too so what can i do to solve dis?
i mean get rid of the brown black gum in the engine

JWT

Postby JWT » August 11th, 2009, 12:20 am

engine flush or what you can use is an engine oil with alot of detergents like NP 20w50 mineral best out there run that for a while.

Honda_Crew

Postby Honda_Crew » August 11th, 2009, 10:29 am

Use Engine flush...
NB Using syntec oil might make it worst.

Postby Dave » August 11th, 2009, 11:10 am

drain oil, fill entire engine with diesel and drain after leaving overnight
refill and do a quick oil change and u should be good to go

quintessentiallyenigmatic

OIL

Postby quintessentiallyenigmatic » August 11th, 2009, 11:20 am

Dave wrote:drain oil, fill entire engine with diesel and drain after leaving overnight

:shock: :shock: :?

toybago

Postby toybago » August 11th, 2009, 11:25 am

the diesel thing works pretty good eh but wont get at the real baked on sh!t if is a high miliage engine

another option though is plenty work is to remove the cylinder head and spray/soak it with one of those aggressive degreasers like purple blaster

i did that with a cylinder head a whle back and with a lil scrubbing with a tooth brush in the hard to reach areas the thing was like new

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » August 11th, 2009, 12:10 pm

Use chemical Engine Flush (eg. Prestone) to dislodge sludge, varnish etc...
Clean with Flushing Oil (NP) & Drain...
Replace Oil & Filter.

Proceedure & detailed Oil Info here... Link--> The Truth: ~ About Oil... and the BULLSH!T about it.

Postby Hook » August 11th, 2009, 1:55 pm

I've never heard of that diesel cure...the purple blaster thing worked for me as well, but I'm sure nobody wants to disturb a perfectly fine CHG for that

dreadman, I say go with the engine flush, but when u drain the oil, drop the sump and clean out any sludge and deposits u see there and on the oil pick-up so u don't have your new clean oil picking up dirty stuff from the get-go

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 11th, 2009, 3:03 pm

Dave wrote:drain oil, fill entire engine with diesel and drain after leaving overnight

The Diesel flush is a very good way of achieving this end. It may seem weird, but i just researched it and there is credibility to it.

JWT

Postby JWT » August 11th, 2009, 4:03 pm

i go stick with meh engine flush or meh NP :lol: :lol:

Postby Hook » August 11th, 2009, 5:39 pm

^^^ yuh unnastan! didn't know that about the NP either tho....that used to be the cheapest oil on the market so I used to use that to flush...haven't done a flush in a while tho

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » August 11th, 2009, 10:05 pm

^ ^ ^ Any Flushing Oil is cheaper than regular oil. That's what its for...
AFAIK NP has one of the cheaper "flushing" alternatives.