Best turbo for low boost project..?

Postby r3iXmann » October 13th, 2008, 1:06 pm

Doing some research 8-)

The goal is to boost a Honda D15B,low boost (about 6-9 psi). Car will be used for daily driving and solodex (not highway running)so ideally boost between 2000 - 5000 rpm would be ideal. So far I heard to get a CT9 or a T25..how would this be in terms of fitment? (complexity). Also, must be able to retain A/C, as the car would also be a daily driver

Thoughts? Suggestions? etc welcome :fadein:

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » October 13th, 2008, 9:20 pm

GT45 FTMFW, or mayb the T25 or GT28R

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 14th, 2008, 7:14 am

T25 will be proper, instant boost from 1500-2000rpm, zero lag. Always loved those little snails and they can handle 12psi comfortable if ever you decide to up it. Look for the newer T25's that are ballbearing and come from the avenir SR20DETs. Good luck and post some project updates, if I had more time I would want to come and dig up yes.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » October 14th, 2008, 9:15 am

why not think supercharger for this application ?

Postby r3iXmann » October 14th, 2008, 10:29 am

thanks TriniGT

MonsterPower, that's also an option but it seems be a bit more complex than I care for. They stopped JRSC's for d series, which makes them hard to find. Also harder to find a complete one in good condition. At this stage,it's just a last resort,really

nightwolf

Postby nightwolf » October 14th, 2008, 10:31 am

take a bump

Postby r3iXmann » October 14th, 2008, 1:15 pm

also,am i right in assuming that i wont need a BOV?

Postby r3iXmann » October 15th, 2008, 8:03 pm

:wiggle:

Doctor X

Postby Doctor X » October 16th, 2008, 12:22 am

hay bro if you need advice look me up on msn ..did a turbo honda project a while back ..might have some spare turbo parts lying around also ....

Postby sMASH » October 16th, 2008, 8:07 am

MonsterPower wrote:why not think supercharger for this application ?

boost as u mash, YO! better for low boost apps. and frequent gear changing apps

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » October 16th, 2008, 8:38 am

The turbo you choose for this application depends entirely on your power goals ... when u look at the power outputs of the D15B series engines you see all kind of numbers from 70-130bhp ... based on your starting point you will be able to better match a turbo and setup to your needs.

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » October 16th, 2008, 9:09 am

sMASH wrote:
MonsterPower wrote:why not think supercharger for this application ?

boost as u mash, YO! better for low boost apps. and frequent gear changing apps

where can i get a supercharger?any links?

importzxtt

Postby importzxtt » October 17th, 2008, 9:21 pm

I love these kind of projects. low budget something you can do with 800-1700 US and especially if the engine is an "underdog" type engine most ppl would just say swap in a b series in that. I say run a t25 or t28 should spool up very quickly and give decent power. yes you do need a bov i dont care if you run 2psi you need one or a recirculator valve you can find a used dsm bov for $40 US so no biggie. You can run a bb t25 or bbt28 but thats more money of course. Definately keep us updated man i wanna see how this turns out.

Postby buzz » October 18th, 2008, 2:50 am

supercharging IMO is expensive and impractical for reiXmann's application

as for BOV i dont think this is needed for this application either

^^^ correct me if i'm wrong ppl

NY4PD

Re: Best turbo for low boost project..?

Postby NY4PD » October 18th, 2008, 8:50 am

reiXmann wrote:Doing some research 8-)

The goal is to boost a Honda D15B,low boost (about 6-9 psi). Car will be used for daily driving and solodex (not highway running)so ideally boost between 2000 - 5000 rpm would be ideal. So far I heard to get a CT9 or a T25..how would this be in terms of fitment? (complexity). Also, must be able to retain A/C, as the car would also be a daily driver

Just look at my myspace pictures and you will see where i still retain my A/C, power steering and Cruise Control with the Turbo setup. There is alot of D15 turbo here in Florida and they make great power and surprise alot of those people have doubt on single overhead cam motors, You will need the BOV, I recomend if you getting HKS BOV get the real thing not all those other cheap stuff, and also if you want more power out of your turbo get a external wastegate and not the internal wastegate. Get the Tial wastegate great stuff, a little expensive but well worth it.....
that's my 2 cents anyway....

Check my myspace link pictures: www.myspace.com/ny4pd
and click on the pictures with the Civic SI...

NY4PD

Re: Best turbo for low boost project..?

Postby NY4PD » October 18th, 2008, 9:14 am

reiXmann wrote:Doing some research 8-)

Just look at my myspace pictures and you will see where i still retain my A/C, power steering and Cruise Control with the Turbo setup. There is alot of D15 turbo here in Florida and they make great power and surprise alot of those people have doubt on single overhead cam motors, You will need the BOV, I recomend if you getting HKS BOV get the real thing not all those other cheap stuff, and also if you want more power out of your turbo get a external wastegate and not the internal wastegate. Get the Tial wastegate great stuff, a little expensive but well worth it.....
that's my 2 cents anyway....

Check my myspace link pictures: www.myspace.com/ny4pd
and click on the pictures with the Civic SI...

Postby r3iXmann » October 18th, 2008, 11:41 am

NY4PD, thx..checked out the pics :)

I could probably buy the bov and the wastegate used and save some $

Thanks for the other suggestions and help ppl

Rahtid, you'll have to check ebay or other honda related sites. The supercharger you'll need is a Jackson Racing SuperCharger (JRSC) for D series. They stopped making them for D series,so you'll have to get one used.

NY4PD

boost

Postby NY4PD » October 18th, 2008, 12:59 pm

reiXmann wrote:NY4PD, thx..checked out the pics :)

I could probably buy the bov and the wastegate used and save some $

Thanks for the other suggestions and help ppl

Rahtid, you'll have to check ebay or other honda related sites. The supercharger you'll need is a Jackson Racing SuperCharger (JRSC) for D series. They stopped making them for D series,so you'll have to get one used.

sounds great, ok well like I said before if you need some help to locate parts new or used let me know, i could help you on this end....lots of parts come up around all the time.....new and used at great prices....

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » October 20th, 2008, 12:18 am

my guess is ct9(4-9psi) or t25(5-13psi) i believe that is the safe psi so u would not destroy your turbo so i have learned from tuners

Doctor X

Postby Doctor X » October 20th, 2008, 11:40 am

^^ will not destroy you turbo but what about your engine ...

i used a rb20 turbo on my d15b 3 stage vtec with 10psi boost , chipped ecu etc....ran good for about 7 mths before i broke a piston ....did 14.9 at wallers with stock clutch , stock exhaust , and vtec in 3rd gear (thats another story)......

i say for reliability go with a t25 / td04 turbo and about 7psi max with proper tuning on the stock engine ...

azoturbo

Postby azoturbo » October 20th, 2008, 12:24 pm

well i en know when im read 2 boost i using low compression pistons

Postby Razkal » October 22nd, 2008, 11:08 am

try gettin a s/c from a 4AGZE, custom make mounting brackets and get a 'high-boost' pulley....

remember that T25 has those spooling characteristics from being on a 2.0 (1998cc) motor, you have a 1.5 d series, it'll spool a bit later on, and have a habit of running out of breath on top (mine does this, set at 12psi)...
if you really want a dex type response (quick spooling, nice low-rpm torque) try the ct9 of the starlets, you have 200 more cc's to get an even faster spool (compared to the ct9 on a starlet) and you'd be making enough extra power to be satisfied i'm sure.

...once you go boosted, you are gonna want more boost>more power>a faster car ALL the time eh...it's just a matter of how long can u resist before u wanna upgrade and up boost :lol:

Postby r3iXmann » October 22nd, 2008, 4:58 pm

Razkal wrote:remember that T25 has those spooling characteristics from being on a 2.0 (1998cc) motor, you have a 1.5 d series, it'll spool a bit later on, and have a habit of running out of breath on top (mine does this, set at 12psi)...
if you really want a dex type response (quick spooling, nice low-rpm torque) try the ct9 of the starlets, you have 200 more cc's to get an even faster spool (compared to the ct9 on a starlet) and you'd be making enough extra power to be satisfied i'm sure.

heard this from a couple folks as well.. what about a ct12 turbo? couldnt find much info on it online :s

Razkal wrote:...once you go boosted, you are gonna want more boost>more power>a faster car ALL the time eh...it's just a matter of how long can u resist before u wanna upgrade and up boost :lol:

nah man,i sure i'll be good with a 7psi

LedZep

Postby LedZep » October 23rd, 2008, 6:40 am

forget supercharger, the best turbo for u hands down is a IHI unit from a subaru they are ball bearing so will be getting nice response. and cheap check any subie man i b bamboo (gobin, navin.)
and u could get the VHF4-3 for around $300. These units are as small or smaller than the ct9. they mainly came in the twin turbo legacy, its the first turbo.

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » October 23rd, 2008, 8:07 am

Hey reiXmann, I may have a stock recirculating valve from my RB26, maybe two so I can give you that no probs as that will be all you need. The T25 should be fun and if you don't have an internal wastegate for your turbo I should have some laying around that I can give you as well. Just shoot me a PM with what you may need and I will see what I have no use for and willing to donate, I too always wanted to do my own project so holla and let me know. The S14/S15 wastegates are good and hold 7psi proper, if you want to adjust the psi to something higher later on then I suggest the GTiR wastegate as it can be lengthened at the shaft by threading and locking the length of the rod. Cheers and let me know how it goes.

Postby Razkal » October 23rd, 2008, 8:33 am

^wait for him to post again in 6 months....asking what is the best turbo upgrade to hit about 300whp reliably :lol: :lol:

Postby r3iXmann » October 23rd, 2008, 8:43 pm

thanks for the help fellas,i'm gonna go with the ct9 for this reason:

Razkal wrote:remember that T25 has those spooling characteristics from being on a 2.0 (1998cc) motor, you have a 1.5 d series, it'll spool a bit later on, and have a habit of running out of breath on top (mine does this, set at 12psi)...

I'm guessing i'll be in the area of 150WHP with nice low end torque. might toss in a cam and a cam gear in there later on. Everybody telling me the boost will be addictive, but i'll try to enforce some self discipline and not lose the aim of the project :lol: :lol:

NY4PD

boost

Postby NY4PD » October 23rd, 2008, 9:30 pm

reiXmann wrote:thanks for the help fellas,i'm gonna go with the ct9 for this reason:

I'm guessing i'll be in the area of 150WHP with nice low end torque. might toss in a cam and a cam gear in there later on. Everybody telling me the boost will be addictive, but i'll try to enforce some self discipline and not lose the aim of the project :lol: :lol:

I agree self discipline is great, I been boosting for a while and not have the cause to increase the boost any more than what its set at. If you win then hats great and if you loose then so be it, its only a sport and we all to win some and loose some, that is why there is car brackets as to what you build the car for....the boost does feel nice and addictive but with your discipline you will do just fine I think good luck.....go boost...

Postby sMASH » October 23rd, 2008, 11:56 pm

but hoss man, when ti comming to boost,,,u'll always crave more, when u get the taste of the power
self discipline would be hard :D

NY4PD

boost

Postby NY4PD » October 24th, 2008, 7:29 am

sMASH wrote:but hoss man, when ti comming to boost,,,u'll always crave more, when u get the taste of the power
self discipline would be hard :D

You wrong, she has a much better out look on her set-up than you do, she has a aim, and its all in your mind. I have been boosting for a while now and do not have the zeal for more boost, than what I already have. The car is set-up for a 13 seconds on 1/4 mile and it does that with no problem so I'm happy.
Once you have a gold set in your mind and stand by it then your have no need to want more unless you not satisfied....
That's mind 2 cents.....