Help? .. Can this be serviced?

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 14th, 2008, 10:53 pm

electrical problem it could be

Dj_Bee

Postby Dj_Bee » October 14th, 2008, 11:57 pm

usually when u mash the brake pedal the shifter lock dis arms....so most likely is mabye the switch.....but dosent in front of the shifter have bypass button for the lock?

Rallyfignis

Postby Rallyfignis » October 15th, 2008, 5:05 am

You sure yuh foot pon de brakes?

Postby bushwakka » October 15th, 2008, 9:35 am

u try takin out de mul-t-lock? :lol:

Postby cinco » October 15th, 2008, 5:39 pm

Dj_Bee wrote:usually when u mash the brake pedal the shifter lock dis arms....so most likely is mabye the switch.....but dosent in front of the shifter have bypass button for the lock?

if it doh hav a bypass button showin there will be a lil cap to pry off and then push a screwdriver in the hole to release it

someone904

Postby someone904 » October 15th, 2008, 6:30 pm

is it like stuck stuck, or just a lil hard to move?? i get the lil hard to move problem when the car is placed in park with the foot on the brakes.when the brakes is released the car slightly moves forward and i guess the tranny rest on the park lock thingy in the transmission (not to sure of the name) making it hard to release and the experience of the clunk sound. to solve this i pull the hand brakes first then park then foot brakes to avoid the rocking experienced when the foot brake is released with the car in park with out the hand brake up

slow323

Postby slow323 » October 16th, 2008, 2:05 pm

if it is stuck and cannot release try using the bypass like cinco said also when you get it out of park check your brakes, had a similar problem where a part in the brakes had seize and was causing the car to keep the car locked in park cause it was not registering that the brakes were fully released

Postby nervewrecker » October 16th, 2008, 3:10 pm

you cold have posted this in my thread so I'd know all whet to check for wen I checking.

anyhow, someone904, you don't have to pull handbrake & then put car in park, you can put it in park & pull the hand brake, just don't let your foot of the brake until you pull the hand brake yet.
but you can work it like you mentioned as well, there is no problem there as far as I know.

phreakazoid

Re: Transmission Lever stuck in Park - Almera

Postby phreakazoid » October 16th, 2008, 8:08 pm

web_phantom wrote:Help? .. Can this be serviced?

Is your brakes light coming on when u mash the brake?

If not you probably have a defective switch located just above the brake pedal) .It is not very expensive and easy to change if you are a DIY kinda person!

web_phantom

Postby web_phantom » October 19th, 2008, 1:04 am

brakes light coming on, I 'll have tpo check the switch still though

slick

Postby slick » October 19th, 2008, 2:09 am

Electrical problem most likely.
If that switch isn't defective above the brake pedal then you may have to see an electrician to find out what is the root of the problem.

mikey_v

Postby mikey_v » October 19th, 2008, 1:55 pm

this happened to a friend of mine at movie towne turned out to be the alarm system was preventing it from being shifted, once the alarm was overridden it was ok again

bess almera

Postby bess almera » October 19th, 2008, 6:02 pm

Check d 10A fuse

-bushman-
Location: trying to drown a goldfish in an aquarium full of water

Postby -bushman- » October 19th, 2008, 6:11 pm

this thread is not really a :repost: but here is a similar thread:

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... p?t=211083

same thing I have noticed, only after the alarm was installed that this problem started to occur.

bess almera, all my fuses in order.

mikey_v, is there any other way besides over riding the alarm? has the source of the problem been found?

QG

Postby QG » October 19th, 2008, 9:00 pm

someone904, slacker_jack, is correct in your case. That happens when you put the lever in park and not pulling up the handbrake properly, and then releasing your foot on brake.

Solution: pull handbrake until it's firmly up and then put car in park. (drum brake must also be in good working order).

MX3

Postby MX3 » October 19th, 2008, 11:54 pm

Nissan QG15DE wrote:someone904, slacker_jack, is correct in your case. That happens when you put the lever in park and not pulling up the handbrake properly, and then releasing your foot on brake.

Solution: pull handbrake until it's firmly up and then put car in park. (drum brake must also be in good working order).

^yeah thats the soloution .....n everytime u park always pull up the handbrake 1st then put in Park

Postby cinco » October 20th, 2008, 5:56 pm

Nissan QG15DE wrote:someone904, slacker_jack, is correct in your case. That happens when you put the lever in park and not pulling up the handbrake properly, and then releasing your foot on brake.

if this is your problem you should look at the front and rear engine mounts thats the only time this problem starts occuring

Postby Hook » October 21st, 2008, 4:30 pm

megadoc1 wrote:electrical problem it could be

lol...had a Yoda moment did we?

mikey_v

Postby mikey_v » October 23rd, 2008, 10:33 am

if the alarm was installed here in trinidad call the technicain who did it will tell u how to overide it if it came with car then may have to bring a technicain to the car, that is if thats the probem eh...