peugeot 3063 help

cutecbebe

peugeot 3063 help

Postby cutecbebe » October 4th, 2008, 9:12 pm

have a 306 SR for a limited time but the battery keeps loosing it's power the previous owner stated that they put a regulator on the alternator and should not have any problems (well guess what )

was adviced to visit a electrician (but he is booked up until monday ) as some advised me is that the alternator may need to be replaced :(

does anyone may have sum early suggestions until i visit an electrician ?

Postby buzz » October 4th, 2008, 10:52 pm

it may be possible that the alternator brushes became worn... in which case the alternator would not be able to charge the battery but the battery light should have came on in such case...

i had an external regulator in my AE80 and it caused me alot of problems (either overcharging/undercharging). my electrician advised me to get an alternator from a newer model corolla. he said those came with a "built in regulator".

we changed it, modded the bracket a little, did the conversion ( a little rewirng was done) then condemned the old regulator and that was the end of charging issues for me...

that external regulator is a nasty lil thing IMO... if your vehicle carries one and continues to give trouble you may want to consider a similar upgrade

open for corrections

cutecbebe

Postby cutecbebe » October 5th, 2008, 12:48 pm

thanks alot for the info .. do u know anyone on here whom is familiar with such issues regarding peugeots? or a electrician who really knows his stuff ? by chance

Postby RBphoto » October 5th, 2008, 3:12 pm

Just to make sure you are not overlooking the obvious, does your battery have a cover? I know you have to take out the air box to remove the batery in the 307, but don't know what under your hood looks like. If so, it could be a simple case of not getting water at the appropriate time, level low and battery deading. Can you/ have you ever added battery water/ gone for a warranty checkup on your battery?

Also, check your belts. #1 cause of alternator failure if they slipping.

For the best electrician in sando, check tallboy in the back of T&TEC on Shaw street, near venus guest house. He could probably rebuild your alternator. He did mine five years ago and it runing without probs since.

cutecbebe

Postby cutecbebe » October 6th, 2008, 8:02 am

well a new battery was purchased in sept so i doubt that . but so far all fingers points to the alternator ..still open for suggestions ...

Postby buzz » October 6th, 2008, 9:12 am

as crossdrilled, said

Also, check your belts. #1 cause of alternator failure if they slipping.

a new batt would not matter if your belts are slipping

also overtightning belts are a no no

Postby SMc » October 6th, 2008, 10:51 am

also see if you can get your hands on a multimeter..set to DC and check the voltage when the car is off (should be 12-13 volts) and then check again once the car has started (should be above 14 volts) that should help cut down the probable causes.

Postby RBphoto » October 6th, 2008, 12:08 pm

SMc wrote:also see if you can get your hands on a multimeter..set to DC and check the voltage when the car is off (should be 12-13 volts) and then check again once the car has started (should be above 14 volts) that should help cut down the probable causes.

Also, turn on high beam, indicators, aircon, radio and put carin D and keep foot on brake. Voltage should flicker a bit due to hazard lights, but should not drop below 12V.

cutecbebe

Postby cutecbebe » October 6th, 2008, 2:37 pm

anyone know a good elecrtician (north side / san juan / environs?) to check these things that u suggested cause the 1 that supposed to come real book up .. .. :x

slow323

Postby slow323 » October 6th, 2008, 4:20 pm

check wilsons on wrightson road they should be in the phone book

Poopsingh

Postby Poopsingh » October 8th, 2008, 2:22 am

check your belts+ Brushes of the alternator first.

cutecbebe

Postby cutecbebe » October 8th, 2008, 8:44 pm

well the alternator completly gone .. yall eva heard bout gettin dat part in the bamboo? lol

Postby De Dragon » October 9th, 2008, 2:42 am

cutecbebe wrote:well the alternator completly gone .. yall eva heard bout gettin dat part in the bamboo? lol
Check People's Auto for Pug parts. The firm WILL rape you!

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » October 9th, 2008, 7:48 am

^^^Curtis @ 746-6394 for used Peugeot parts...

cutecbebe

Postby cutecbebe » October 9th, 2008, 7:11 pm

much thanks ..but a used alternator will work jus a good ? people auto? el socorro ?

fuzz_174

Postby fuzz_174 » October 9th, 2008, 7:35 pm

buy a used alternator and service it before you install

change the brushes etc, and it would work almost as good as a new one

shouldnt cost that much to service.

Postby De Dragon » October 9th, 2008, 7:54 pm

cutecbebe wrote:much thanks ..but a used alternator will work jus a good ? people auto? el socorro ?
Last I knew,thet=y were in Christina Courts Maraval................but I sold my Pug a lil' while now so..........

cutecbebe

Postby cutecbebe » October 14th, 2008, 3:52 pm

much thanks for curtis #

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » October 14th, 2008, 7:23 pm

Well you said the battery keeps losing power. what is the charging rate? what you need to do is a parastic drain test using a multimeter on the 10a scale you can test for current drain from the battery with the car off and the meter in series with the postive cable and battery pole.

check your trunk light and make sure it is switching off, there is a small switch in the trunk that controls this (basically is is a ball that rolls and sometimes it gets stuck and the light remains on)

The external regulator is normally done cause a factory one is very expensive.

cutecbebe

Postby cutecbebe » October 16th, 2008, 7:42 pm

anybody eva heard about the possibility of the alarm causing this problem ?

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » October 16th, 2008, 9:09 pm

yes the test I mentioned above will tell you if there is anything draining current from the battery when the car is off. you should not have anymore than about 1 - 1.5 amps current draw and this is for things like clock, ecu memory and alarm etc. If you have more draw say like 5amps then you start removing fuses one by one, if the amp meter drops down you note which fuse it is and locate the component on that fuse that is causing the problem.

I have seen every possible problem with a Peugeot and always solved them, try the tests that i mentioned or look up a good peugeot guy like David forsome help

Foncette electrical could fix the alternator for you depending on which one it is (mitsubishi or Valeo) if not get a used one from Curtis peoples auto.

good luck

Postby RBphoto » October 19th, 2008, 12:22 pm

saltydog wrote:yes the test I mentioned above will tell you if there is anything draining current from the battery when the car is off. you should not have anymore than about 1 - 1.5 amps current draw and this is for things like clock, ecu memory and alarm etc. If you have more draw say like 5amps then you start removing fuses one by one, if the amp meter drops down you note which fuse it is and locate the component on that fuse that is causing the problem.

I have seen every possible problem with a Peugeot and always solved them, try the tests that i mentioned or look up a good peugeot guy like David forsome help

Foncette electrical could fix the alternator for you depending on which one it is (mitsubishi or Valeo) if not get a used one from Curtis peoples auto.

good luck

1-1.5A when the car is off? You for real? That is a high current for a car that is off!!!

cutecbebe

Postby cutecbebe » October 19th, 2008, 6:42 pm

is this david fella here on trinituner?

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » October 20th, 2008, 9:19 am

^^ should have read .5 amp max sorry

David is not on tuner as far as I know his number is 788-1854 but he real hard to get on the phone keep trying

Postby RBphoto » October 20th, 2008, 11:50 am

So cars draw approx 6W of power from a battery when off then? That equivalent to one dim bulb on your car lighting all the time. Guess it is needed for the computer and the clock. Still find it kinda high though.

cutecbebe

Postby cutecbebe » November 23rd, 2008, 8:40 pm

any body have an idea about the breaking systems in pug's ? some reason my car at times feel like it doh want to stop .. anybody know of a pug mechanic in arouca who dey call hobz or mackee?

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » November 24th, 2008, 5:33 pm

Hobz is the person who I told you about David Hobbs. and the other guy is Mark Julien

saltydog
CARS Member

Postby saltydog » November 24th, 2008, 6:23 pm

you need to check your rear wheel cylinders and shoes. The rear wheel cylinders are leaking for sure most common 306 problem. The other thing is make sure you have on original pads as most aftermarket pads dont work so well on the Peugeot. Check rotors and all hoses.

Look behind the drum and see if there is any wetness, sure sign of the cylinder leaking.