Choice

RedfireB15

Choice

Postby RedfireB15 » July 25th, 2008, 7:42 pm

Hello.

Can any one tell me if they had to choose between geting a header install or the piping upgraded to a 2 inch pipe, which one would you do first and which one will give better results if you only do one?

Thanks

dmitc

Postby dmitc » July 26th, 2008, 10:48 am

i can't tell you bout better result but i would get the piping done first.
reason being you will only have to weld the headers once.

Postby Dave » July 28th, 2008, 4:50 pm

one will compliment the other and each will only perform as good as the other does

Postby De Dragon » July 29th, 2008, 6:01 am

Dave is correct.If you are upgrading your exhaust manifold, you don't want them to have a restrictive exhaust line diameter.They kinda compliment each other

RedfireB15

Postby RedfireB15 » July 29th, 2008, 9:51 am

OK I guess I start with the Pipe and work my way out from there...

Postby UML » July 29th, 2008, 3:16 pm

dmitc wrote:i can't tell you bout better result but i would get the piping done first.
reason being you will only have to weld the headers once.

i beg to differ....i did the same mod to my b14

Firstly, correct me if i'm wrong, u will lose power running big piping without any engine mods.

Secondly, when u do the piping first u have to weld back the original flange to the new big piping (one weld) but then wen u put the hedders on u have to cut off the excess big piping to facilitate the length of the hedders and then weld them back together (more welding).

what i did is i made arrangements with my mechanic the previous day to go by him early the next day and then after i drove my noisey car to the muffler man and got everthing done....by lunch time i was done!!!

doh forget yuh have tuh weld on ur barrel too..so das more welding..better do it one time instead of having tuh put out more money to do it.

dmitc

Postby dmitc » July 29th, 2008, 4:50 pm

UML wrote:Secondly, when u do the piping first u have to weld back the original flange to the new big piping (one weld) but then wen u put the hedders on u have to cut off the excess big piping to facilitate the length of the hedders and then weld them back together (more welding).

exactly my point you only weld the headers once.

Postby UML » July 29th, 2008, 7:47 pm

dmitc wrote:
UML wrote:Secondly, when u do the piping first u have to weld back the original flange to the new big piping (one weld) but then wen u put the hedders on u have to cut off the excess big piping to facilitate the length of the hedders and then weld them back together (more welding).

exactly my point you only weld the headers once.

But ent he considering to do one at a time?? So I say the big piping would be too long cause it have to reach the exhaust manifold.....and wen u put the hedders u wud have to push back/cut d piping cause d hedders reaching all under d car?!!

:?

Postby UML » July 29th, 2008, 7:49 pm

So by putting d hedders first u just have to cut off small pipe by d flange and replace with big pipe....

:idea:

:?:

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » July 30th, 2008, 6:34 am

Dave wrote:one will compliment the other and each will only perform as good as the other does

Can't get better advice than that! 8-)

Postby X_Factor » July 30th, 2008, 9:10 am

thats true what UML is saying, do the headers first since u may use less exhaust piping. my mistake was using the local made resinators which suck!!.
TSC on the forum has a hiflow resinator, look into that if u hav the extra cash (its about 200 more than a local one) and dont forget a flex joint if u may need it

what kinda car btw?