Viper Remote Problem

Furlz

Viper Remote Problem

Postby Furlz » February 11th, 2008, 12:50 pm

All of sudden the remote stopped working so changed the battery but that didn't help.
Carried it where I bought the alarm and they said that the "remote has gone out of sync with the brain" and that it can't fix and I have to buy a new one.
Is this possible or am I being duped into buying a new remote, which is $400 by the way.

Model is 350 HV.

Spring Chkn

Postby Spring Chkn » February 11th, 2008, 2:03 pm

It's possible that the battery connectors need adjusting... Something similar recently happened with my parents car... the remote jus wouldnt work all of a sudden.

Its a friend of mine that fixed it so i dont know exactly what he did... i figure it was jus to open the remote and adjust the connectors to make sure there's good contact with the battery... there's nothin to lose in tryin that before payin $400 for a new one.

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » February 11th, 2008, 2:34 pm

Talk about coincidence. My remote for this same alarm (350HV) started giving problems a few weeks ago. It just wouldn't work intermittently - had to press the arm/disarm button down longer and harder for it to work. Just thought the battery was dying.
Then last Thursday it stopped working altogether. I opened it up thinking the battery died and swapped it with the spare remote battery (that remote is working perfectly) but had the same problem.

Turned out that the silver battery holder/connector separated from the circuit board. Just had to solder it back on and it's working fine now with the old battery.

This may not be your problem though. I knew power/battery was my problem because when my remote was giving problems, if I pressed the arm/disarm button the light on the remote wasn't flashing. If yours flashes when you press the button (meaning it's getting power) and it still doesn't disarm the car, then you may have a more serious problem like your alarm tech suggested.

But before I shell out $400, I'd google the topic to see if it's something I could fix myself. Just a couple quick links I found with a search for "Viper remote problems":

http://forum.ecoustics.com/bbs/messages/4/118785.html
http://www.tech78.com/auto/viper-550-remote_43815.html
http://www.gtaforums.com/index.php?showtopic=298101

These may not solve your problem, but just keep googling and you may find a solution. 8-)

eitech

Postby eitech » February 11th, 2008, 3:33 pm

well, jus make sure and check d obvious b4 buyin a new..but at $4oo fuh ah remote :shock: ..dats ah deal..last check fuh my viper791 was $800 :shock:

Furlz

Postby Furlz » February 11th, 2008, 4:30 pm

eitech wrote:well, jus make sure and check d obvious b4 buyin a new..but at $4oo fuh ah remote :shock: ..dats ah deal..last check fuh my viper791 was $800 :shock:

Well the 350HV is the basic (3 button) alarm.
The 791 is the pager right?

It's not the battery as I changed it to one that was working.

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » February 11th, 2008, 6:15 pm

i think remotes can be reprogrammed. i know a guy who does great alarm work pm me if u want his number

ninjaboost

Postby ninjaboost » February 11th, 2008, 8:24 pm

to program:
open a door
turn ignition on
select receiver channel by pressing valet switch the specified number of times
one for arm/disarm/panic
two for silent mode
three for other accessories
four for arm only
five for disarm only