how good is viper alarm?

eitech

how good is viper alarm?

Postby eitech » January 26th, 2008, 11:34 pm

ah know dis mite be a kinda sensitive topic, but if someone has to steal my car while i am not around, how good is this alarm. Having said that, are there ways to get around it? I not lookin to tief anybody car or make anybody out to be a bandit, so if you prefer to pm me, no scene!

^Pretty^

Postby ^Pretty^ » January 27th, 2008, 1:29 am

depends which alarm you looking to install

alarms are really considered a deterrent .....

and yes there is always a way to bypass alarms....think of it...all those ppl who install alarm systems.... I'm sure they know all the possible ways to bypass those alarm systems. :?:

eitech

Postby eitech » January 27th, 2008, 8:50 am

i have d viper installed already..i was wondering wat else i can put..was thinkin bout d one that loks d transmission

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » January 27th, 2008, 9:05 am

Invest in car search bro .

4carspeedin

Postby 4carspeedin » January 27th, 2008, 11:36 am

What can also make the difference is the installation - who did it and how was it done...

Postby bushwakka » January 27th, 2008, 12:31 pm

invest in Mul-t-lock man......the viper alarms except the one with the display remote are almost useless, cuz they always goin off, noone takes them on etc

Postby equipped2ripp » January 27th, 2008, 12:32 pm

^ and the colours of the wiring.

and it also depends on the model of alarm :roll:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 27th, 2008, 2:31 pm

^^the viper wiring tends to all be black........

Postby *KRONIK* » January 27th, 2008, 7:19 pm

bushwakka wrote:invest in Mul-t-lock man......the viper alarms except the one with the display remote are almost useless, cuz they always goin off, noone takes them on etc

and how this duz stop them mall bandits from breaking in ur car and not leaving with ur guages, Sub box, speakers, amps, caps from ur rims, silencer from ur muffler, battery, intercooler, etc!

them bandit so sick with it eh..... if they cant get the car ........they will scrap it on the spot!
or at least take all they could!

the situation get rel sad!

nobody car safe no more!
:( :(

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » January 27th, 2008, 8:16 pm

As pretty said alarms are just a deterent and as bushwakka said no body takes them on if they are go off in a carpark or mall
what you could do is install a fuel kill switch which will prevent someone from reaching any distance if they steal the car ---just extra precaution
for your music(speakers and amp) instead of using self thread screws use nuts and screws and for added protection you could go by a welding shop and get them to tack the scre so the only way it coming out is by filing out or cutting ( make sure u cover your speaker with wet cloth and you just need one little tack

As for the amp weld the screws to the body of the vehicle and when you bolt it up tack the nuts also
it will take longer to remove

for your sub do the same use bolts and nut (on a couple holes) what i did was remove my port and reached in from there to put the nuts (need to make to hole in the box larger than the screw so that it spins in there ) for added protection use lock tite or bend the screw on the inside

Postby Sky » January 27th, 2008, 8:21 pm

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:^^the viper wiring tends to all be black........

Only the 791 esp. Directed discontinued it also. Plus its a pain to use and work with, and it tends to go bad and VERY hard to diagnose.

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 27th, 2008, 8:33 pm

all alarms do is make it harder/time consuming for a bandit to tief it. get a pithon or anaconda an drop it in d ground in d passenger side lol. j/k as spawn said invest in car search also so that if they do get it at least u and d police can find it back..besides d pager alarms that viper/shelby have now great in that if ur alarm goes off u wud know and hopefully some mall security would help u confront d bandits..HOPEFULLY

Postby *KRONIK* » January 27th, 2008, 8:36 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:As pretty said alarms are just a deterent and as bushwakka said no body takes them on if they are go off in a carpark or mall
what you could do is install a fuel kill switch which will prevent someone from reaching any distance if they steal the car ---just extra precaution
for your music(speakers and amp) instead of using self thread screws use nuts and screws and for added protection you could go by a welding shop and get them to tack the scre so the only way it coming out is by filing out or cutting ( make sure u cover your speaker with wet cloth and you just need one little tack

As for the amp weld the screws to the body of the vehicle and when you bolt it up tack the nuts also
it will take longer to remove

for your sub do the same use bolts and nut (on a couple holes) what i did was remove my port and reached in from there to put the nuts (need to make to hole in the box larger than the screw so that it spins in there ) for added protection use lock tite or bend the screw on the inside

I eh going through all this, i sorry

how bout the ppl in the beef up their security!

as for the alarm

try the ones with the pager!

and the fuel cut is also a good idea!

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 27th, 2008, 8:58 pm

d pager have d fuel cut, ignition cut and starter cut. d pager does beep wen d iginition come on and wen it start. it have remote shut down ie if someone have d keys u cud shut it off with d second remote(keep it around ur neck or something) d pager does tell u wen a door, trunk or bonnet open, it does tell u wen d shock sensor trip off d alarm, it does trip off wen d voltage in d car drop below a certain point (wen d house light dim beyond a certain point) anyone interested in it pm me

eitech

Postby eitech » January 27th, 2008, 10:26 pm

wi have d viper 791 and wont start once d alarm activates..

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 27th, 2008, 10:30 pm

it na hard to deactivate d alarm once u get into d wiring which is not hard to find once u inside d car. or btw ppl wen u buying an alarm make sure u get a backup battery in case dey disconnect d batt pole..

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 27th, 2008, 10:37 pm

eitech, pm me d package u giving with your alarms(remote start,remote shut down, backup batt, sensors etc) and d price.

idlemind

Postby idlemind » January 27th, 2008, 10:45 pm

bandit breaking in the car, popping the bonnet and disconnecting the battery now
this happens whether the alarm is a Viper or a Prestige.

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 27th, 2008, 10:54 pm

d backup battery does ring out when d batt pole off and it have no way to turn it off except physically cutting open d backup battery(which it not easy to do) and breaking off d horn from d circuit board.. as i said this is not easy to do you will need some power tools

33 hertz

Postby 33 hertz » January 27th, 2008, 11:17 pm

^ it's really easy to stop a siren with a back up battery without any tools whatsoever.

Viper is one of the more trusted brands in car security and they last pretty long with little or no problems. The best bet is to invest in car search and use a viper alarm.

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 27th, 2008, 11:24 pm

^^ i agree together u have a pretty good system,, about d easy to stop siren not with d shelby an dem i experimented (with mine)

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » January 27th, 2008, 11:27 pm

boy I intend to fustrate those arses......

1...i'm going to invest in the gps/gsm alarm
2.....shave my door handles (in progress)
3.....a couple of kill switches
4.....gas line lock
5.....drop the car as low as possible (dey will have to slow down for every bump)
and the new and improve club lock........

"yuh want it?" "well freaking wreck it!"............

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 27th, 2008, 11:29 pm

^^ for real eh. i hear ah man say once da wey he livin in d night he does tie he rot wiler to he front driver side rim. he say it does scratch d car a lil bit but ah lil polish does fix da wen he washin d car

eitech

Postby eitech » January 28th, 2008, 8:40 am

ok..from what i gather, apparently ur prestige, clifford or viper ain't enuff..as i suspected.. d best bet would be to install a transmission lock, or kill switch..kill swithc maybe too obvious for dem crackshots..can they bypass d transmission lock? i saw my cuz with it and he has a key. does that work well?

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 28th, 2008, 8:47 am

install a secondary fuel cut and hide away d switch, once they find one switch theyll think thas all but they wont look for another one. besides d amount of time that itll take them to disable the alarm and look for a switch either they wud leave it knowin that they take rel long or by that time u or somebody else wud be by d car. another fault with alarms is d valet button. most if not all alarms have one which wud totlly disable d alarm and come on how many possible places are there to put one in d car. bandits wud already know all d possible places and they will look for it and 99.9% sure that they will find it..

Postby nervewrecker » January 28th, 2008, 9:08 am

wah bout the immobilisers?

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » January 28th, 2008, 9:15 am

Of course - none of these prevent you from getting car-jacked eh.....Dem muddafhukkas real brazen outside dey now....Only option on dat is to take car search (with / without) the separate transmitter that can be activated by yourself if they gone with the veekle, or you call them - if you still have your phone ! :cry:

Postby bushwakka » January 28th, 2008, 9:29 am

*KRONIK* wrote:
bushwakka wrote:invest in Mul-t-lock man......the viper alarms except the one with the display remote are almost useless, cuz they always goin off, noone takes them on etc

and how this duz stop them mall bandits from breaking in ur car and not leaving with ur guages, Sub box, speakers, amps, caps from ur rims, silencer from ur muffler, battery, intercooler, etc!

them bandit so sick with it eh..... if they cant get the car ........they will scrap it on the spot!
or at least take all they could!

the situation get rel sad!

nobody car safe no more!
:( :(

i never claimed the mul-t-lock wud stop ppl from stealin stuff inside ur car...it will prevent the car itself being stolen.....what u can do is use one of those remote notification alarms in combination with the mul-t-lock....thats pretty effective i think....as long as u en park up in cedros an u in POS....when the alarm go off, u'll be notified and u cud go runnin to ur car with pigfoot/gun whateva to kill the mofo who tamperin wit it (while calllin useless poleez at the same time)

Saleem786

Postby Saleem786 » January 28th, 2008, 1:42 pm

well i guess i ca leave d ak47 in d trunk again i hatta start walkin round with it den. as i said above pplz go up in d bush catch yuhself ah lil python or mapapee and drop he tail in d front seat in d ground and yuh good to go.

Conrad

Postby Conrad » January 28th, 2008, 9:12 pm

The best solution is as follows:

Remove key entrance from trunk.
Install gas cut switch and install in the most hidden place (behind carpet, bolted to under seat, inside glove compartment (which you lock also) etc.)
Keyless entry is your friend.
Keypad start system (expensive)
Alarm system (cant remember the name of the one used on commercial/heavy-duty vehicles). Make sure it has GPS alarm system.

The best advice...wait for it...

Don't be stupid and put things in your car that you can't afford to lose. If you love it soooooo much don't be a dumb crunt and go banging it out in your nearest gas station's parking lot.