HARD START PROBLEM

haseib786

HARD START PROBLEM

Postby haseib786 » January 8th, 2008, 11:13 am

hey 2ners experiencing a lil problem wit meh girl ES-1 civic the car hard starts, only when the engine is cold the engine has to be cranking for like bout 6-7seconds before it starts and when it does and u engage a gear it cutts off :shock: this is annoying and confusing did complete service air filter, injectors plugs, and same problem..... anyone has any suggestions before i get it checked with a scan tool,????????? thanks brothers.........

Postby RBphoto » January 8th, 2008, 1:12 pm

Scan tool first hoss, worth the $100.00 less of scratch head. Could be something you did recently? Wrong plugs? Don't know honda's, but I had simmilar experiences on my nissan with:
1) Bad coil pack
2) Bad idle air valve.
3) Clogged injectors

G-T

Postby G-T » January 8th, 2008, 1:14 pm

haseib786 your mechanic did not encounter the problem of your vehicle?

Postby RBphoto » January 8th, 2008, 1:20 pm

Of course he did not, mechanics does overlook them things as soon as they finish a big tune up. GT, stop spamming and add some value or experience.

G-T

Postby G-T » January 8th, 2008, 3:53 pm

^I am asking a question bhagan

haseib786

Postby haseib786 » January 8th, 2008, 5:00 pm

easy fellas, well its a problem u get only at cold start i mean cold start like after the vehicle parks up for hours so he never really experienced it, and rember he did the tune up so he kinda uncertin too!!!!! anymore suggestions fellas!!!!!!!!!!! :mrgreen:

Postby RBphoto » January 8th, 2008, 7:11 pm

Question, does the mechanic in question have a diagnostic scan tool? Did he take off the TB and clean it or spray directly into the TB?? Did you do this service befor the prob or it just popped up. The gear change makes me think about the idle air valve. Did you change fuel filter? Oil change?

haseib786

Postby haseib786 » January 8th, 2008, 8:35 pm

yea bhagan the ting is eh the cor used to work perfect problem started recently YES the mech cleaned the TB and all them ting changed COMPLETE tune up was done dont think that car has fuel filter tho???? im thinking its the fuel regulator!!!!!

Neil26

Postby Neil26 » January 8th, 2008, 9:00 pm

check ur plugs ,,i have an es1 civic also and was getting the hard start and also the cutt-off when move to gear. I had iridium spark plugs and then the mechanic changed it and put some other brand of plugs. but that that plugs was a cold start plug,,not recommended for our type of engines,,,when i changed it,,no problems afterwards. Or it could be ur cam shaft sensor.

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » January 8th, 2008, 9:55 pm

Yep, what kinda plugs u used,haseib786 :?:

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » January 9th, 2008, 1:11 am

haseib786 wrote:yea bhagan the ting is eh the cor used to work perfect problem started recently YES the mech cleaned the TB and all them ting changed COMPLETE tune up was done dont think that car has fuel filter tho???? im thinking its the fuel regulator!!!!!

all cars have fuel filters pallie, so ask your mechanic if he changed it in the tune-up. plugs might be the problem, or your distributor is giving you a weak spark. but running a diagnostic is always the safest bet...

haseib786

Postby haseib786 » January 9th, 2008, 11:02 am

COMPLETE SERIVCE WAS DONE this fuel fulter is located inside of the fuel tank apart from the fuel pump so how the hell is it located & changed ne 1 know?????

Postby RBphoto » January 9th, 2008, 11:08 am

Dey does remove back seat and unbolt the flange, disassemble the pump assembly and take outh the ilter and replace. Not something that I know how to do personallt though, as mine is just hose clip.

haseib786

Postby haseib786 » January 9th, 2008, 6:58 pm

truss meh it eh so ez when removed the seat all that is under there is the fuel pump!!!!!!! :shock: :shock: no Fu*&^% filter!!!!!!!! so way the F%#@$ it day?????

Postby RBphoto » January 10th, 2008, 6:34 am

OK, my usefullness ended here. If it aint on the firewall, trace your lines to the gas tank. If it is not part of the level sensing assembly, I really cannot say (Like I said, I only know Nissan engines, now learning about Honda and Toyota)

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » January 10th, 2008, 5:46 pm

fuel filter would be after the fuel pump but under the car closer to the tank.
best bet may be your spark plugs.
Base of the spacing on your spark plug, you might not be getting the spark that the engine would need for combustion.

haseib786

Postby haseib786 » January 10th, 2008, 7:15 pm

fellas jed i is a friggin boss i diagnose meh own problem wit alotta research and thoght it was the darn fuel regulator.......car starts in half ah crank now!!!!!!! :D :D :D

biggy82

Postby biggy82 » January 11th, 2008, 1:20 am

did you change the fuel regulator or adjust it?

groundcrusher

Postby groundcrusher » January 22nd, 2008, 2:46 pm

real thing is scan tool the car.....but i feel plugs or somebody turn the distrubuter even the vacume advance stuck in the distrubuter

rolandk

Postby rolandk » January 25th, 2008, 12:11 am

same thing use to happen to me with a lancer.

turned out to be the idle sensor.

just like you, when she warm up, no problems at all to start in one bounce.

turbonator

Postby turbonator » January 26th, 2008, 5:31 pm

I don't know about the hondas but when our b14 had that problem it tuned uot to be the coolant temp. sensor.