W.T.K what causing temp to rise!

Cardo-MR

W.T.K what causing temp to rise!

Postby Cardo-MR » December 29th, 2007, 10:37 am

Ok here's my problem.My radiator had a leak on the top tank.I changed the radiator & I seem to geh more problem.....Everytng working fine with the radiator & stuff buh is just my temp needle still rising....P.S. there are NO leaks ne where so what could be the problem??

IS it the
a) Water pump
b)Thermostat
c)anytng else??
I need help ASAP!!

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » December 29th, 2007, 4:15 pm

Plz ppl i need 2 no Y the temp needle still rising in my car & the Radiator have no leaks.Or what cud be a cause.

RA40-GTE

Postby RA40-GTE » December 29th, 2007, 5:31 pm

did the engine overheat when you had the leak?

someone904

Postby someone904 » December 29th, 2007, 5:32 pm

is it rising when mashing and lowering when stoping?fluctuating in other words....if yes replace the thermostat.wat about the liquid?do u have to keep toping it up or does it remain constant?

blackNshine

Postby blackNshine » December 29th, 2007, 7:54 pm

try a pressure test or new gasket.

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » December 29th, 2007, 11:22 pm

RA40-GTE wrote:did the engine overheat when you had the leak?

I wouldn't say it over heat,because while i was driving christmas night i jus manage 2 see the temp rise & den i stopped the car & filled up the radiator(which had a leak) with som water & leh it cool down....then it was normal for a while then rise again.

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » December 29th, 2007, 11:26 pm

No the temp was not fluctuating when it had the leak.Buh now as i change the radiator,when the car idleing in neutral the temp is @ a lil below half..where it shud be.Buh i left it idleing in drive as though i was in traffic & the fans wasn't kicking in & out,it jus kept going & den bout after a 20mins the temp start 2 rise...& still no water leak!

RA40-GTE

Postby RA40-GTE » December 30th, 2007, 5:59 am

when you switch the ac on, does the fans come on at all?

edit: a quick google produced a "checklist" that may help

Worn Radiator Cap
Blown Head Gasket
Leaking or damaged radiator
Leaking or damaged radiator hoses
Leaking or damaged Heater Core
Malfunctioning Thermostat
Leaking or damaged water pump
Incorrect Coolant Mixture
Incorrect engine timing
Malfunctioning Cooling Fans
Malfunctioning Thermal Control Switches
Burned out fan motors

Some of it may not be applicable to you, but at least you have something to work with now

Postby SMc » December 30th, 2007, 6:29 am

I was about to ask if yuh have the correct radiator cap, as the caps are not universal/standardised. also does your fan work, if yuh not hearing it come on temporarily hard wire it to ensure the motor working.

Postby De Dragon » December 30th, 2007, 9:19 am

WhItEnIgGeR1 wrote:

I wouldn't say it over heat,because while i was driving christmas night i jus manage 2 see the temp rise & den i stopped the car & filled up the radiator(which had a leak) with som water & leh it cool down....then it was normal for a while then rise again.
Hopefully you let it cool to ambient BEFORE you added the cool water!. Adding cool/cold water to an overheated radiator before it has cooled sufficiently can cause metal fatigue,which can cause failures later!

Postby buzz » December 30th, 2007, 12:52 pm

i remember meh 1st ride
i was overheating cuz i had only a quart an a half of engine oil!
oil leak biznis nah but dont over look your oils

D_bodyguard

Postby D_bodyguard » December 30th, 2007, 2:17 pm

i had a problem like this .....ok first did you do any extra wiring recently cause if so bad wiring can "strain the brain"as said it is just some fuses in the brain that does blow .......secondly if the fan not tripping ...the damm car will overheat,check if the motor is working by running it direct or by the thermostat the socket pull it off ...this should trip the fans on............. and if the thermostat gone change it and this will work

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » December 30th, 2007, 3:49 pm

WhItEnIgGeR1 wrote:

Hopefully you let it cool to ambient BEFORE you added the cool water!. Adding cool/cold water to an overheated radiator before it has cooled sufficiently can cause metal fatigue,which can cause failures later!

Well as i said i changed the radiator so that out of the question.& I let it cool for a short period until i cuda add the water.It have to be somtng else.

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » December 30th, 2007, 3:52 pm

RA40-GTE wrote:when you switch the ac on, does the fans come on at all?

edit: a quick google produced a "checklist" that may help

Worn Radiator Cap
Blown Head Gasket
Leaking or damaged radiator
Leaking or damaged radiator hoses
Leaking or damaged Heater Core
Malfunctioning Thermostat
Leaking or damaged water pump
Incorrect Coolant Mixture
Incorrect engine timing
Malfunctioning Cooling Fans
Malfunctioning Thermal Control Switches
Burned out fan motors

Well out of the list u gave me to work with...only tngs i not sure bout z the blown head gasket which i HIGHLY doubt,Malfunctioning Thermostat,Water pump.
P.S. where is the thermal control switches???

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » December 30th, 2007, 3:57 pm

The radiator is PERFECTLY fine & it was installed properly with no leaks ne where,original cap was placed.Fans also working properly...buh jus they would take long to cut in/out & well th ac fan would stay on for a while even if i doh hav on the ac.
Buh correct me if I'm wrong,if the water pump bad/damaged ent the radiator would hav no water in it??...because mine still has after i left it idleing.
so if im wrong about the above statement with the water pump then it go ha b the thermostat. :| :( :?

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 30th, 2007, 3:59 pm

I let it cool for a short period until i cuda add the water

dependin on the car this may mean a minimum of an hour

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » December 30th, 2007, 4:02 pm

By the way the car is a lancer with a MIVEC engine.
Buh the problem i believe ha notng to do with the radiator ne more...it past that.

Razman

Postby Razman » January 1st, 2008, 10:06 pm

So every time the gauge goes up. You let it cool and then you put fluid in it. If this is so change the pressure cap. This is provided that your cylinder head gasket is good. If the fan does not turn on check the fan switch.

Cardo-MR

Postby Cardo-MR » January 2nd, 2008, 12:52 pm

I found the problem guy....It was the thermostat gone bad.Thanks neway for alyuh help. :)