When mig wielding a rear or front cut

spliffington

When mig wielding a rear or front cut

Postby spliffington » October 11th, 2007, 10:47 pm

does anyone know any thing about this like if it weakens the chassis or how they line in up dead straight ???

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 12th, 2007, 12:37 am

i know for the rear cut
well if done properly it should not weaken your chassis
if you lookunder your seat or at the base of the flooring under the mat you will see the original join (had a corolla that this was done to ). Some cars you also see it on the panel when you open the doors
what they do is sweat these tacks out and they remove the back glass and cut the back post at slightly different heights
Since this is where the car was joined originally you dont realy weaken it you can actually strenghten it if you want
As for line-ing it up so of these garages have computer measuring system
some of the smaller garage well those boys use their eyes and fix the rest with paste

well some people cut anywhere and i beleive this weakens the chassis
remember that guy whose car split in half on the highway

Death-Row

Postby Death-Row » October 12th, 2007, 11:22 pm

nice info. so if a car is cut in two. straight down the middle. then it wont be that sturdy as original then? i just dont trust that welding thing tho.

spliffington

okok

Postby spliffington » October 13th, 2007, 7:24 pm

so i guess that guy whose car split was not cut in the correct place..but how can you strengthen it?and where in trinidad does the computer lining up? oh and when u did this to ur corrola the car was driving properly..bless

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » October 15th, 2007, 8:30 pm

srf in south supposed to have all the equipment to do it
You can tack bars across the chassis and cut points

theblitz

Postby theblitz » October 25th, 2007, 9:22 am

jus doh carry dis by no eeediot who go hav ur car runnin cross wit d back tryin to leve d front! plus dem ppl wit the computerized sheit gonna charge u properly for this job so brace urself

Amit

Postby Amit » October 26th, 2007, 12:59 pm

auto body works

boogy

Postby boogy » October 26th, 2007, 3:02 pm

nice info

Langdon

Postby Langdon » November 2nd, 2007, 11:56 am

was wondering about this too

blackNshine

Postby blackNshine » November 2nd, 2007, 10:12 pm

interesting!

boogy

Postby boogy » November 5th, 2007, 8:47 am

Amit wrote:auto body works

LOCATION!!!

blackNshine

Postby blackNshine » November 6th, 2007, 5:44 pm

^^ x 2

Polydor

Postby Polydor » November 7th, 2007, 10:52 am

Amit wrote:auto body works

firetruck those muffler bearings...head SRF instead.

Postby RBphoto » November 13th, 2007, 2:12 pm

SRF does charge hot dollars man!!! What aboutBhola's

Incognito

Postby Incognito » November 15th, 2007, 10:05 am

Make sure they certified to do the welding (like AWS), and willing to give you something in writing to that effect...

blackNshine

Postby blackNshine » November 15th, 2007, 7:22 pm

4 real.