WTK: Timing belt cover on VS. Timing belt cover off

katastrophic

WTK: Timing belt cover on VS. Timing belt cover off

Postby katastrophic » October 21st, 2007, 5:47 pm

as the subject says.. what are the pros an cons to running ur car wit the TB cover on as opposed to running wit the TB cover off.

turbohead

Postby turbohead » October 21st, 2007, 8:16 pm

wit it on is a safety for ne big particles 2 go down in dere an mash up ur gears an ting. wit it off is jus 2 show dat u have some hks gears on d engine. i say leave it on. racers are not ricers, choose one.

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 21st, 2007, 11:46 pm

leaving it on:
The chances of your engine being destroyed by timing belt failure is slim, provided regular maintenance.

removing it:
your timing belt will jump out of the cam gears, fly through the AC vent, and hit you BLAP on your forehead. It will then ask "BIYATTCH WHY did you remove the cover".

Leave the bloody thing on, unless you get some massive arse cam gears, then you should get something made to cover it.

Postby Dave » October 22nd, 2007, 7:58 am

first of all, do u know why it is left off in the first place?
if u have those parts to adjust then u an chance leaving it off and if u don't then u r running a big risk of wrecking an engine in the name of rice

katastrophic

Postby katastrophic » October 22nd, 2007, 5:24 pm

thanks for the info

blackNshine

Postby blackNshine » October 22nd, 2007, 7:09 pm

well said dave

boogy

Postby boogy » October 26th, 2007, 3:12 pm

leave it on!!

Langdon

Postby Langdon » November 2nd, 2007, 11:53 am

It there for a purpose leff it

TRD_FACTORY

Postby TRD_FACTORY » November 2nd, 2007, 2:58 pm

Already had an experience where after going through an area with lots of pebbles, one got caught between the cam sprocket and belt and punched a hole on the belt. I only noticed it because the idle on the car changed slightly and on inspection noticed the hole. Not me again!!, it could have been worst!!

Postby Hook » November 2nd, 2007, 3:14 pm

doh listen to dem jed..having ur timing belt cover off helps cool the belt and reduces heat expansion and rubber fatigue so it lasts longer while the extra cooling is good for an additional 50bhp

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 2nd, 2007, 7:11 pm

also having it off with some aftermarket Adjustable Cam Gears does look good and also helps cooling...

but if ur stock..leave it on :)

blackNshine

Postby blackNshine » November 2nd, 2007, 8:13 pm

too many particles could enter with it off

katastrophic

Postby katastrophic » November 3rd, 2007, 12:52 am

ok so if u have bigger cams.. wats de verdict.. leave cover off or make one to fit ?

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » November 3rd, 2007, 11:03 am

^ amm bigger cams will also fit with the cover on.... no need to make one :wink:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 4th, 2007, 11:26 pm

seen it off on a highly modded evo engine.......had HKS cam gears on it. it allows for quicker adjustment if the cover off....but this one had a large wheel kind ah thing attached to the intake gear......it was large enough to be just outside the edge of the gear to prevent the belt jumping off.

pornstar4777

Postby pornstar4777 » November 5th, 2007, 8:30 am

how many times you have to tune a car????
Adjust the cam gears then put back the cover! :roll:

boogy

Postby boogy » November 5th, 2007, 8:32 am

possibility for sheit to happen kinda raised when it is left off!!

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 5th, 2007, 1:28 pm

pornstar4777, its a circuit car and i can understand that its left off.......if its a street car its different.

pornstar4777

Postby pornstar4777 » November 7th, 2007, 4:09 pm

which motor is it?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 7th, 2007, 4:43 pm

4G63 from a TME evo 6

pornstar4777

Postby pornstar4777 » November 7th, 2007, 5:16 pm

:mrgreen: lol y'all could learn a thing or two from the honda boyz just stirring the pot :lol:

Check the link:-
http://www.topendmotorsports.com/jp/eng ... index.html