Lancer3115

2008 Lancer or 2007 Ford Focus

Postby Lancer3115 » October 18th, 2007, 12:27 pm

Folks,

Urgent advice required. My dad is considering purchasing either
1) 2007 Ford Focus 1.6 $129,000.00 or
2) 2008 Mitsubishi Lancer 1.5 $128,000.00

They both are offering good deals with body kits/ fogs etc.

What do you guys think. I personally would go with the Lancer but i may be a bit biased.

LOL..

Postby equipped2ripp » October 18th, 2007, 7:14 pm

lancer

nes123

Postby nes123 » October 18th, 2007, 7:36 pm

As much as I am a mitsu fan, if yuh talkin bout value for the money spent,between the 2 the focus comes wit 4 wheel abs,and 1.6 is faster dan 1.5 lancer.....also its the Euro spec ford..will hold value and this is one car u know can park anywhere in trinidad....the mitsu getting too popular to fast meaning everyone may possibly own one eventually..but at the end of the day..choise is urs to make dawg...my 2 cents 8-)

NorStar2K

Re: 2008 Lancer or 2007 Ford Focus

Postby NorStar2K » October 18th, 2007, 9:23 pm

Lancer3115 wrote:Folks,

Urgent advice required. My dad is considering purchasing either
1) 2007 Ford Focus 1.6 $129,000.00 or
2) 2008 Mitsubishi Lancer 1.5 $128,000.00

They both are offering good deals with body kits/ fogs etc.

What do you guys think. I personally would go with the Lancer but i may be a bit biased.

LOL..

I agree with equipped2ripp, LANCER. The EuroFocus is well engineered but trini still bias against FORD, so I wouldn't expect much resale value.

But I'm curious, those prices sound like the base models (TREND & GLX), they're coming with bodykits for those prices?

Lancer3115

Postby Lancer3115 » October 19th, 2007, 6:13 am

Norstar2K,

I made a mistake with the Lancer, for that price the car is coming without bodykit and hub caps, no airbags :cry: .

The Ford however, is coming with everything (Fogs, Body Kit, Rims,Airbags, ABS). There is some special going on now but you have to buy the car before Oct 31.

Postby equipped2ripp » October 19th, 2007, 11:09 am

yeah 128 is for the base lancer

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 19th, 2007, 11:57 am

Lancer3115 wrote:Norstar2K,

I made a mistake with the Lancer, for that price the car is coming without bodykit and hub caps, no airbags :cry: .

The Ford however, is coming with everything (Fogs, Body Kit, Rims,Airbags, ABS). There is some special going on now but you have to buy the car before Oct 31.

Hmmm, that make the Focus more tempting doesn't it? :) More bang for the buck so to speak.

1.5 GLX Lancer - 14" hub caps, no abs, no airbags, just nothing

For safety sake - EuroFocus. I eh driving nothing without airbags and ABS.

At one time McMotors was offering trade in on the Focus up to 60% of the purchase price after 4 years. I don't if they still have that.

Don't buy anything without Airbags and ABS.

The 1.5 GLS - Spoiler, 16" alloy rims, fog lights, dual airbags, ABS. But that's more expensive. But you have to pay more for safety. That's how I got 6 airbags, by paying through my nose. :lol: :lol:

FYI Lancer discussion:
http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/vie ... highlight=

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 19th, 2007, 12:28 pm

^^^Yuh agree equipped2ripp?

TK!

Postby TK! » October 19th, 2007, 2:52 pm

the lancer backside fugly yet again. remind me of the pax (?) models that looked real shitty.

Postby noshownogo » October 19th, 2007, 2:59 pm

If you not worried about resale I’d say go with the Ford, great chassis, stops well, excellent steering feel and good quality interior. Ohh and it comes tip tronic as well.
See if you get the 60% trade-in offer on the Focus, that would guarantee resale value and if you do get it, make sure it is in writing! They pulled many tricks on customers with that offer years ago and then didn't fulfill it.

Don't see why you would spend the same money on a Lancer that has 14''hub caps, no airbags etc

Postby Ignorant Ignis » October 23rd, 2007, 9:57 am

i would avoid the focus .... even though it is a far better car than the lancer ...almost chalk and cheese when it comes to quality ...... very expensive maintance though and no resale value ..... and yuh could forget about that 60% trade in sheit ...... BS marketing if yuh ask me

Postby SMc » October 23rd, 2007, 1:20 pm

I have a Focus :oops: but really happy with it (resale is not an issue with me as its a company car) the car drives well for what it is (I have the wagon) and with 1.6 TDCI Durotorq engine the fuel consumption is very good, i get about 600 miles out of a 40ltr tank.... and I could still clock 110mph fairly easily.

Never drove the new lancer, so really cant bash it, but the Focus is not a bad choice.

Postby 3stagevtec » October 23rd, 2007, 4:25 pm

the Ford looks like the better buy, but you'll be gettin Ford quality... i'd prefer buy the Lancer and get some new 16" rims later on...

airbags should have been standard on the Lancer though...

xxSTAY TUNEDxx

Postby xxSTAY TUNEDxx » October 23rd, 2007, 6:24 pm

i say ford when you looking to sell ppl now looking more at features.

Empress

Postby Empress » October 23rd, 2007, 6:26 pm

3stagevtec wrote:the Ford looks like the better buy, but you'll be gettin Ford quality... i'd prefer buy the Lancer and get some new 16" rims later on...

airbags should have been standard on the Lancer though...

Guess we still live in a 3rd world.... The Focus seems like the better buy if those are the 2 choices... however in comparison even though the lancer is a newer model car... the fact that it dosn't even come with standard features like ABS and Airbags maybe still be a problem for resale? It depends on how long you gonna keep the car if its just for a few years then resell etc... but If its quality car your looking for go with the Focus... if its what everyone else have go with the lancer, but if the car didnt come with standard features what did it come with?

geanso

Postby geanso » October 26th, 2007, 8:43 pm

i agree with the earlier post,how could you in this day and age even consider a car without abs and airbags.(safety first dawg)
14" hub caps,u serious jedd
the focus also has power driver seat
i have a focus abt 4 mths now the maintenance to date is nil

with all d tings d lancer not coming with
horse make sure an check for a engine b4 you leave dem.

:mrgreen:

NorStar2K

Postby NorStar2K » October 26th, 2007, 10:32 pm

geanso wrote:horse make sure an check for a engine b4 you leave dem. :mrgreen:

Like this model - No ABS, Air Bags, etc. Comes with Foot Brakes though! :D

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » October 27th, 2007, 12:21 am

Saw a GTS model Lancer in St.James today. It sweet! :shock:

^^^Come on guys is the basic models that doh have all the features. Remember that.

Soon the day will come when all those things are standard across the board for all Manufacturers.

Remember power windows,intermittent wipers,power mirrors,rear defogger,A/C etc. used to be an option long time eh. Now when U see a car without dem ting u like WTF? :shock:

Man the Ford Focuc is a nice car(latest model) especially the hatch. Test drive both,check warranties,features,comfort,cargo space,etc.

Not sure about the resale on the Focus.But I am sure the higher model Lancers will hold some value. Plus when Bamboo start to load up we a$$ with front cuts,etc.U good to go. :D :D :D

Peace All

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » October 27th, 2007, 12:25 am

Norstar2K,

I made a mistake with the Lancer, for that price the car is coming without bodykit and hub caps, no airbags .

^^Sheit I now see dis

Man if dat is d case go with the Focus yes.

As much as I would prefer the Lancer GTS :twisted: :twisted: for the price range there the Focus win.

Postby cinco » October 27th, 2007, 12:41 pm

yuh hadda remember foreign used on the lancer wud screw you too
when they start comin in fully loaded fuh 120k in the bamboo ppl eh go buy new so in 4 years yuh car aint worth salt

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » October 27th, 2007, 7:38 pm

cinco wrote:yuh hadda remember foreign used on the lancer wud screw you too
when they start comin in fully loaded fuh 120k in the bamboo ppl eh go buy new so in 4 years yuh car aint worth salt
Good Point cinco

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » October 29th, 2007, 4:49 pm

Ford focus if you buy the lancer get the 2.0 but that puppy is 200+ K so the FF will give you your thrills worth