HEADER WRAPS...BE AWARE !!!

G20

HEADER WRAPS...BE AWARE !!!

Postby G20 » August 24th, 2007, 3:45 pm

I started out looking for Header wraps to install on my new header that I'm going to purchase and I came up with some very interesting yet important information that I thought I'd share:

PLENTY READING BUT WORTH IT !!!

Many times I've been asked about, or have commented on the use of header wraps. This issue is a real pet peeve of mine. Good or bad about a product I'll give my opinion based upon direct use and fact.

THE FACTS:

Header wraps are designed to keep the heat in the header to improve scavenging of the cylinders. Keeping the heat in the header allows the exhaust speed to remain high. (the right idea)
There are no header manufacturers that I know of that will warranty their headers if any header wraps are installed on their products.
In most cases the header wrap damages the headers beyond repair. (I will explain below)

If you run a lean mixture, you "may" see a slim performance gain using header wraps. A rich mixture may show slim to absolutely NO gain in performance. If you do not mind replacing your headers and header gaskets regularly, and you like that ugly look of a wrapped header, go ahead and use the heat wrap.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

In the past, almost all NASCAR and other racing engine builders used the header wraps for the added power gains. But, after having to replace the headers after each race due to the wrap being about the only thing holding the header together, they do not promote the practice any longer! They now utilize the thermal coatings that are chemically and electrically applied to the headers. Those include Airborn, Jet Hot, HPC, and others.

Imagine having to replace a $1200.00 plus set of headers after each race weekend! Few but the most financially well-off race teams can afford to do this. But, it is also in the downtime for remaking a custom set of headers. Most custom header makers do not have copies readily available.

I believe that the wraps are good to protect various items from heat, but not to hold the heat in the header. For example: you can use the wrapping for the protection of fuel and oil lines, wiring, etc.

Cool air needs to be around the header, and insulating it with a wrap to hold exhaust heat in makes the header material temperatures near molten.When you wrap the header you trap the heat in the header, but also in the material that needs to breathe to dissipate heat for it's own survival.

Engineers, Metallurgists, and other experts out there will state that there is no way that the material can fail because it can withstand, and it was designed to withstand, the internal temperatures of exhaust gases. TRUE! But, when the header is not allowed to cool so as to dissipate those extreme temperatures that the wrap is controlling, you have now developed a heat absorption that compares to thermal friction which will will continue to gain in temperature beyond the normal exhaust gas temperatures (EGT's). This is the same as with most any insulation.

Try this experiment ... launder a load of bath towels and then dry them. Immediately pull them out of the dryer and just toss them in a snug pile on your bed. Now leave them there for a day and then open them. You will find that there is still a considerable amount of heat left in the center towels. This heat, even though the outer towels and bed are normal room temperature have been able to contain their heat. This is a simple thermal insulation test, but with your headers you have an internal heat supply coming from the engine. The heat on the outside portion of the header material is trapped between the warp and the header and will continue to fatigue the header. This build of heat is amplified by the wrap. Towels do not need to breathe, header material does.

The EGTs stay the same but the properties of the header material changes in a way of amplifying the temperatures because of the insulation. This action goes against normal laws of thermal dynamics, but this effect is fact, and you have to pull the ears off most engineers before they believe you. This is the trouble with plenty of education, but NO "common sense"!!!

8-) :) 8-) :) 8-)

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » August 24th, 2007, 6:42 pm

very good info :!:

Postby eliteauto » August 24th, 2007, 9:29 pm

good read thanks

Pointman-IA

Postby Pointman-IA » August 24th, 2007, 9:44 pm

good research man..

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » August 25th, 2007, 3:08 pm

ceramic coat it and done......... :o

xxSTAY TUNEDxx

Postby xxSTAY TUNEDxx » August 25th, 2007, 4:35 pm

nice info there.

rev hard

Postby rev hard » August 25th, 2007, 6:35 pm

very timely info... :)

Postby X2 » August 25th, 2007, 6:55 pm

So according to that info.... the very fact that you run 700 degree+ temps thru the header does NOTHING to the properties of the header material while the car is running..... but leaving it hot for a few hours after the engine stops running will change them to crumbs ?

ummm... I with the hard headed engineers on this one... callin BS... :lol:

Postby De Dragon » August 26th, 2007, 8:40 am

So according to that info.... the very fact that you run 700 degree+ temps thru the header does NOTHING to the properties of the header material while the car is running..... but leaving it hot for a few hours after the engine stops running will change them to crumbs ?

I'm no metallurgist but if your headers retain heat then isn't that actually better for them?

Postby De Dragon » August 26th, 2007, 8:40 am

I'm no metallurgist but if your headers retain heat then isn't that actually better for them?

xxSTAY TUNEDxx

Postby xxSTAY TUNEDxx » August 26th, 2007, 3:25 pm

the headers will crack according to the material it's maid from.

Postby X2 » August 26th, 2007, 3:34 pm

the cracking that occurs is often at the welding points... which is normally where the tube meets the flange.... the fact that the wrap keeps the tube hotter than the flange will promote the cracking at the welding point.

But this theory here isn't talking about that.

xxSTAY TUNEDxx

Postby xxSTAY TUNEDxx » August 26th, 2007, 3:45 pm

o ok.

Postby De Dragon » August 26th, 2007, 4:51 pm

firetruck it I going and wrap my hdrs and if they crack, well again firetruck it, cuz then its aftermarket in dey MC!

G20

Postby G20 » August 27th, 2007, 3:22 pm

Here's some more stuff to read up on... It's always your choice :fadein:

BASIC UNDERSTANDING:

Because of the expanding gases, if you have had the experience to see first hand where a header with a wrap fails, it is typically where a step would be. I have had headers in my hand where literally the only thing keeping the header in one piece was the wrap. Whole chunks of the header material was gone, melted away. Talk to most "engineers" (I use that title with caution) and they will probably tell you that aliens stole the metal as the car was racing around the track! They say this because the wrap is causing problems that are not part of normal metallurgy and thermal dynamics theory <key word>. The header warp allows temperatures between the wrap and the header to turn the material molten.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

IN CLOSING:

We know that header manufacturers will NOT WARRANTY a header which has had a wrap installed on it. We know that I have personally seen, tested and inspected headers that have been destroyed after running wrapped headers on a perfectly tuned engine.

Just because an item or product is advertised for a specific use does not mean it does not do what it is promoted as, but it also does not mean it is the best choice either. We have all seen the recent TV commercials on all of these "medical miracles" that do such feats as fast weight loss and re-grow your hair. How often have we laughed at the side affects, like the most common being penile failure. Oh sure, I want to take some drug if my hair starts falling out (yes, it is currently all here) that makes my sex life go to hell. NOT !!! Those pharmaceutical companies can pucker up and kiss my "bald" backside! I'd rather have function than hair.

The same can hold true with other products. Heat wraps are great, just do not use them ON the header. Use them on a device or component on your vehicle that you are trying to protect from header heat.

If you want a true thermal barrier that will reduce thermal loss in the header, reduce under hood temperatures, and make a few horsepower in the process, have your headers coated by one of the many companies available (links to a few are above). Most all of the coating companies offer inside and outside complete coating as standard. DO NOT allow your headers to only be coated on the outside, this is not a complete or quality process.

Some other considerations about the coatings. Once the header is coated, it's permanent. That means that if you screw up your header, it is not an ease job to repair and most header companies do not want to even attempt a repair. The coating permeates into the header material which makes welding processes on a coated material less than adequate. This is why you always coat the headers last, after all modifications to the header are made, and you are 100% sure the header will fit your vehicle.

Like I said....read & decide !!!

Postby X2 » August 27th, 2007, 5:05 pm

The same can hold true with other products. Heat wraps are great, just do not use them ON the header. Use them on a device or component on your vehicle that you are trying to protect from header heat.

Header wrap is not a heat shield tho....header wrap is meant to trap heat and won't be as effective when used to shield an object.

Postby Maserati » August 27th, 2007, 5:53 pm

an alternative is ceramic coating
Unlike header wraps, ceramic coatings do not hold potentially damaging heat & moisture around the part. Rather, the surface temperatures are actually reduced, extending the life of the part. When cured, a very effective corrosion inhibiting film is formed that protects the part against oxidation and imparts excellent chemical resistance that further extends part life and enhances appearance.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » August 27th, 2007, 6:08 pm

one thing about ceramic coating is u cant coat the inside of a USED header.......and u want coating on the inside and out....so if u must do it, do it before installation.......

G20

Postby G20 » August 29th, 2007, 7:37 pm

Header wrap is not a heat shield tho....header wrap is meant to trap heat and won't be as effective when used to shield an object.

true but it helps in keeping alot of the heat away from the other components that you may not want exposed to those headers when they are pushing all that heat...

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 16th, 2007, 3:50 pm

this is true , if seeing is believing i saw it on a 626 with the magnum engine many years back , an exhaust leak was detected on one of the primary y pipes , upon unwrapping the material a huge chunk of the pipe wall came off with the wrap , the wrap was actually holding it "together"

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » September 16th, 2007, 9:17 pm

De Dragon wrote:firetruck it I going and wrap my hdrs and if they crack, well again firetruck it, cuz then its aftermarket in dey MC!

jed i remember when i first got my set of headers if you have to study this BS you will never make up your mine.

Mine have been wrap for almost a yr now and i ent got no problems :wink:

boogy

Postby boogy » September 22nd, 2007, 3:03 pm

Thank you very much you saved me some expense

Rodn3y

Postby Rodn3y » September 23rd, 2007, 12:14 pm

i have extractor on my almera and i want to reduce the heat it pushes out... could you guys please recommend some way of doing this? is there anyone that ceramic coates yur headersin trinidad? or do you guys with the heat wrapped headers think dat it wont affect my case as it is a slightly modded car?

thanks for any input

DIS1

Re: HEADER WRAPS...BE AWARE !!!

Postby DIS1 » July 26th, 2011, 7:04 pm

This Thread s old but if anyone needs info call me at 685-1716.
I have been coating engine parts here for about 12 yrs now.

Wraps cause metal failure because they absorb moisture as they cool. If your wrapped exhaust is used every day it will last longer than a system that is used infrequently.

GA15DE-T

Re: HEADER WRAPS...BE AWARE !!!

Postby GA15DE-T » July 27th, 2011, 10:22 am

Was looking around for info some time ago, I stumbled onto the same findings and I didnt bother with the heat wraps on my headder, I've also found out if they were to be installed poorly it can even cause a fire, or even stumble upon getting loosen and end up around those belt areas and the consequences are quite risky using these wraps. I think the best application for this is on oil lines, and ac lines if its exposed to a degree of heat which it shouldnt be exposed too.

Thanks for the info on NASCAR :D
I love NASCAR RACING!!!!!!