WTK: my car won't start ,,no ignition lights!

Neil26

WTK: my car won't start ,,no ignition lights!

Postby Neil26 » August 13th, 2007, 10:58 pm

Its a 2001 honda civic,,,,the engine tumbles,,the horn works,,,,but i am not getting no ignition lights and the car is totally dead,,,,check fuses,,,but all seems to be good! Can someone help me please!

Postby tr1ad » August 13th, 2007, 11:00 pm

yuh starter

Neil26

Postby Neil26 » August 13th, 2007, 11:26 pm

yeah,,,but the engine tumbles,,,but no ignition,,,the ecu is not even gettin power

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » August 13th, 2007, 11:37 pm

u hearing a kinda clicking noise when u tryin to tumble? if so is ya battery

Postby crazybalhead » August 14th, 2007, 8:15 am

If you have an alarm with an immobiliser disable that first. If not most likely it is your ignition module on your distributor. It costs about 500-800 for it, DO NOT GO AND BUY A F-USED DISTRIBUTOR.

And it takes about five minutes to change it.

Neil26

Postby Neil26 » August 14th, 2007, 2:27 pm

i more believe is the ignition module too,,,but i dont think my car has any distributor,,,2001 civic

xxSTAY TUNEDxx

Postby xxSTAY TUNEDxx » August 14th, 2007, 2:59 pm

you said the car tumbles right ?
well check for fuel and spark first.
you should also do an diagnostic scan.

Postby crazybalhead » August 15th, 2007, 8:10 am

Neil26 wrote:i more believe is the ignition module too,,,but i dont think my car has any distributor,,,2001 civic

OHO! What is the engine code? D17 something?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » August 15th, 2007, 8:19 am

Do you have an immobiliser in the car? this can cause it, saw this happen to at least 2 people. and your symptoms sounds the same and when some one is trying to start their car without putting in there immobiliser key first .
or double check your main fuses in the engine bay with a meter dont just look at it.
try disconnecting the battery for a few mins and reconnect it.
Last edited by hong kong phooey on August 15th, 2007, 8:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby crazybalhead » August 15th, 2007, 8:22 am

Hong Kong, read over my first post.

There is also ONE other thing to check. The ignition barrel behind the key. If you have a big heavy key chain it might have damaged the contacts on the barrel.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » August 15th, 2007, 9:34 pm

The ignition barrel behind the key. If you have a big heavy key chain it might have damaged the contacts on the barrel.

This is true,you can take a look into that! :fadein:

Duplicolor

Postby Duplicolor » August 16th, 2007, 8:02 am

i was getting this problem yest, try startin in 'N'

Neil26

Postby Neil26 » August 16th, 2007, 12:02 pm

crazybalhead wrote:
Neil26 wrote:i more believe is the ignition module too,,,but i dont think my car has any distributor,,,2001 civic

OHO! What is the engine code? D17 something?

D15B,,,,

to crazybaldhead,,,what does the ignition barrel looks like,,,,,,but power is going to the deck when i turn the ignition on,,,but jus no lights and ecu not comin on...

Postby crazybalhead » August 16th, 2007, 1:01 pm

if it is a D15 B it has a distributor and most likely it is the ignition module.

Change it first and try that, it will probably need to be changed at some point anyway. While yuh diggin up in yuh distributor, if you can afford it change the coil one time.

Any funny business with the tachometer before you lost ignition? Jumping around? If so it is definitely the ingition module.

The barrel looks like a small translucent plastic canister, with a slot for the key and a harness on the other end, or a plug. It is inside your steering column behind the key switch.

But change the module first me thinks. OR carry the car by a mechanic.

To save money you can also try a friend's distributor from a car you know is working. If your car starts then you know for sure what the problem is!

Neil26

Postby Neil26 » August 17th, 2007, 11:10 am

hey guys,,,,thanks for all the help,,,,got thru,,,the alarm was keeping it out,,,apparently like the alarm has malfunction,,,,,bypass it yesterday,,,and got ignition lights and the car is working fine now...

Postby crazybalhead » August 17th, 2007, 11:54 am

HA! Good to hear man.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » August 17th, 2007, 1:33 pm

Glad to hear you get through partner..... :|