polish after a paint job

tko

polish after a paint job

Postby tko » July 11th, 2007, 1:55 pm

how soon should you polish after a paint job?

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » July 11th, 2007, 2:14 pm

3 months?

Tired Accord

Postby Tired Accord » July 11th, 2007, 4:39 pm

Depends on the weather I guess. If you expose the vehicle to a good amount of direct sunlight as it come out the shop....check about 4-6 weeks..... But now as is rainy season - yuh might want to wait about ah 3 months.

I have been advised this by more than one painter man. "Come back for a buff in ah month"

Postby cinco » July 11th, 2007, 8:23 pm

generally 3 months is a good waitthe clear coat cures much better
if the car was "baked" after painting it dries much quicker though

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » July 11th, 2007, 10:12 pm

^^concur

tko

Postby tko » July 13th, 2007, 8:57 am

okay, then 3 months it is. any recommendations for a car that was painted black what would be the best brand of polish to use?

Postby equipped2ripp » July 14th, 2007, 1:22 am

a carnauba wax...

don't use any prewax cleaners because the surface is new.

also, a spray wax might be good as well... nothing strong on the surface - just wipe/spray on, wipe off.