Tar Remover

VWBaby

Tar Remover

Postby VWBaby » April 22nd, 2007, 1:56 pm

What is the best thing to use to get rid of under tar on your car? Somebody told me use nail polish remover :roll: :roll: , but I find that sounding a bit like a real mess up.

Any ideas?

sboo99

Postby sboo99 » April 22nd, 2007, 2:01 pm

Someone I know said that kerosene can get that off. But I've never tried it so I don't know for sure.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 22nd, 2007, 2:55 pm

kerosene works like a charm.

put the kerosene in a cut bottle or something, and take a SOFT cloth (an old cotton t-shirt works for me)

dampen the cloth and rub the tar stains, while dipping the cloth in the kerosene regularly.

when yuh finished, WASH yuh car with yuh regular car wash. mix the car wash solution a little stronger on this occasion.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 22nd, 2007, 3:15 pm

kerosene works also gas buh as soon as u finish wipe a spot wipe it good den wash ya car properly like how VexXx Dogg, said

Duplicolor

Postby Duplicolor » April 22nd, 2007, 3:29 pm

pimptacular wrote:kerosene works also gas buh as soon as u finish wipe a spot wipe it good den wash ya car properly like how VexXx Dogg, said

Also castrol has somthing .. a spray i cant remember the name off hand its in a purple an black spray bottle if i'm correct works reaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaal damn good its bout $30 somthing for it, can use it for anything
top of the line

Postby equipped2ripp » April 22nd, 2007, 4:13 pm

relentless, don't even think about using that castrol superclean on your vehicle's finish... it would dull the clearcoat as it is too strong..

same with HS purple blaster and other industrial degreasers.

i believe there's the automotive simple green for those jobs... or use the kerosene.

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 22nd, 2007, 5:09 pm

oh yeh dat HS purple blaster is ah miracle in a bottle

VWBaby

Postby VWBaby » April 22nd, 2007, 5:26 pm

Thanks Guys, you all have been very helpful. I never thought of Kerosene. I did consider Gasoline but thought it will evoporate too quickly. What about mock? Like mock that is not dirt but grime from I guess the same thing a film of oil or grease that is on the insider of the hood and usually below the running board. No amount of elbow grease or polish gets rid of it. I even tried using an abrasive scrubbing pad and still NO luck :roll: .

nick009

Postby nick009 » April 22nd, 2007, 5:27 pm

what bout powerfoam?

Postby equipped2ripp » April 22nd, 2007, 5:30 pm

VWBaby, gasoline is too strong and isn't an oily fuel as kerosene is.

and what mock is that? tar deposits from the road? :?

VWBaby

Postby VWBaby » April 22nd, 2007, 5:57 pm

equipped2ripp wrote:VWBaby, gasoline is too strong and isn't an oily fuel as kerosene is.

Ok, I will try Kerosene. Do I have to wear a gas mask when applying this as it is so strong?

Mok from the engine I guess, oil maybe? You know, when you raise the hood on the inside of the hood there is grime and stuff, well that. It seems to be a thick film that no amount of soap or elbow grease is getting rid of.

Also, what can I use to stop flies from congregating on the car, they seem attracted to the yellow. Flies leave their remnants on the car as well. :roll: And worst yet, as soon as I clean the car, it is like sugar, one set of flies flock to the car, why is that? So is a two in one wammie here, flies and tar

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 22nd, 2007, 7:01 pm

if is the engine bay try the purple blaster or any other industrial degreaser and no u dont need a gas mask when workin with kerosene maybe a pair of rubber gloves if ya skin sensitive

Duplicolor

Postby Duplicolor » April 22nd, 2007, 7:33 pm

yea man i didnt think he'd use it on the paint :S

but i know wat u talking about still.. i loveee it works wonders

eitech

Postby eitech » April 22nd, 2007, 11:25 pm

spray a lil wd40 on a cloth and wipe it. dats works!

Postby equipped2ripp » April 23rd, 2007, 12:23 am

relentless, yuh never know eh... next ting somebody read it without understanding and f-up their clearcoat :|

VWBaby, paint over the car. simple. :lol:

Duplicolor

Postby Duplicolor » April 23rd, 2007, 6:48 am

true that.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » April 23rd, 2007, 8:48 am

Use Sonax Tar Remover. Works well and is safe for your car paint.

Postby 3stagevtec » April 23rd, 2007, 9:24 am

kerosene (aka white spirit) can be used as a cleaner for oily deposits, like those you find in you engine bay.. gasolene can work as well also, but try the kero first.

of course, they are both flammable fluids.. so use care when using these products in your engine bay. i.e. don't have the engine running..

Also, what can I use to stop flies from congregating on the car, they seem attracted to the yellow. Flies leave their remnants on the car as well. And worst yet, as soon as I clean the car, it is like sugar, one set of flies flock to the car, why is that? So is a two in one wammie here, flies and tar

i don't know what to say nah... :shock:

VWBaby

Postby VWBaby » April 25th, 2007, 9:26 am

Hey, thanks for all the info. But this white spirit, that is PAINT thinner :shock: , what iF this strips the paint :shock:

Figured out the fly bit. VINEGAR :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Postby crazybalhead » April 25th, 2007, 10:02 am

VWBaby wrote:
equipped2ripp wrote:VWBaby, gasoline is too strong and isn't an oily fuel as kerosene is.

Ok, I will try Kerosene. Do I have to wear a gas mask when applying this as it is so strong?

Mok from the engine I guess, oil maybe? You know, when you raise the hood on the inside of the hood there is grime and stuff, well that. It seems to be a thick film that no amount of soap or elbow grease is getting rid of.

Also, what can I use to stop flies from congregating on the car, they seem attracted to the yellow. Flies leave their remnants on the car as well. :roll: And worst yet, as soon as I clean the car, it is like sugar, one set of flies flock to the car, why is that? So is a two in one wammie here, flies and tar

Oh crap...yuh need to stop driving that piece of sheit!!!!!!!!

HAHAHAHAHAAAAAA!!!!!!!

But seriously, nail polish remover has acetone and will REMOVE YOUR PAINT.

Use the kerosene, then wash with a car wash OR with breeze, but only with breeze if yuh planning to seal and wax the car immediately after.