Car cutting off when ac is on

awesomeandre

Car cutting off when ac is on

Postby awesomeandre » April 1st, 2007, 7:13 pm

So ac working great when switched on, engine idling reall nice, but when driving the car a little hard lets say round the range of 70 - 80kmh with ac on and coming to a stop like to turn off into a road the car cuts off.

take off ac start car in one turn and move again.

can anyone help or have gotten this situation

engine is carburetor

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 1st, 2007, 9:49 pm

carbie probably needs a bit of cleaning.

when the A/C is switched on, it places additional load on the engine, and causes the engine to idle lower. if the carb is really dirty it will cut off if it idles too low.

give yuh carbie a lil clean (many different methods), and also check your gas filter.

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » April 2nd, 2007, 12:07 am

^^^^^^^^^ thats the anwser to your question right day :lol: :lol:

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 2nd, 2007, 12:45 am

well vexx dog beat me to the ideling too low post

trinish

Postby trinish » April 2nd, 2007, 12:46 am

yup but careful who you send yuh carb to clean by. real fine parts in that weee. trust me took about 20mins once to look for something that fall down. Walk with a carb kit and a spray and go to yuh mech and he go fix yuh up. Yuh go be riding cool soon. 0X

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » April 2nd, 2007, 12:48 am

i have a lil trick i does use to clean cab my self

trinish

Postby trinish » April 2nd, 2007, 12:53 am

what is that trick boy?

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » April 2nd, 2007, 12:57 am

i'll tell you tomorrow i have school like hrs

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » April 2nd, 2007, 5:54 am

yeah what is that trick, i did spray it once with bars when it started to stall and it started to work fine but then started to use a lil more gas

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 2nd, 2007, 8:04 am

DISCLAIMER: - I take no responsibility for the following. If you want to try these it is up to you. I have tried both with success on MY previous vehicle. (910 Bluebird)

Method 1.
Take of breather pan.
Switch #2 and #3 plug wires
Start Car.
Rev the hell out of the engine (expect lots of misses/backfires)
Switch off engine
return plug wires to original state.
put back on breather pan.

Method 2.
Take off breather pan
start car.
take a couple corkfulls of brake fluid and throw it into the carbie, a little at a time. it will want to cut off, so you may want to rev the engine while throwing in the brake fluid.
rev the car a little after you finished pouring the stuff in - to burn off any excess.
replace pan etc.

Method 3.
Use Gum solve to spray instead of brake fluid as mentioned above.

___

Dont forget to check or change your gas filter in the engine bay.

Postby ronsin1 » April 2nd, 2007, 8:33 am

Method 2.
Take off breather pan
start car.
take a couple corkfulls of brake fluid and throw it into the carbie, a little at a time. it will want to cut off, so you may want to rev the engine while throwing in the brake fluid.
rev the car a little after you finished pouring the stuff in - to burn off any excess.
replace pan etc.

I have seen this method used already but as vexx dog says this is only at your own risk

Terran

Postby Terran » April 2nd, 2007, 9:42 am

Carb needs cleaning, check your gas filter... it may be clogged/clogging, and also check your idle... it my be a tad bit too low.

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » April 2nd, 2007, 10:12 am

well the idiling after the car has had a good run idles at 1000 rpm wich i think is too high
i will just have to do a lil service on it

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » April 2nd, 2007, 10:19 am

i dunno enough about your engine to really help you but assuming that it has a vacum triggered compensator to increase the idle rpm when the ac is on, if the vacum line is leaking or the solinoid is malfunctioning it doesnt matter how much you adjust the regular idle screw you will still have problems when the ac is on and you run the car hard. remember there's no way for you to set the idle screw for radiator fan load and brake boosting or power steering. when the engine heats up after u run the car and the cooling fan is active along with brake booster operation as well as the ac and power steering load all at the same time, without the compensator monitoring the rpm to keep it around 800-900 at idle under load the car is bound to cut off.

VWBaby

Postby VWBaby » April 2nd, 2007, 10:59 am

When was the last tune up? Sometimes depending on how old the car is it may do that if the car was not tuned up in a while. Also, maybe the battery is not at full juice. Just a though :D

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » April 2nd, 2007, 11:07 am

^^Nopes.....has NADA to do with the battery....
As said before, in most cases its just the carb needs cleaning properly....or it may need fine tuning in terms of air fuel mixture etc... no hard work really...

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » April 2nd, 2007, 11:41 am

:shock: wait na Mr red sleeper is post on the tech..does my eyes decive me..well clean the carb an vwb wa make u think it was the battery? :?

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » April 2nd, 2007, 1:33 pm

yeah i believe the carb needs to be cleaned out, fuel filter has to be changed, etc,

Anil_Sooknanan

Postby Anil_Sooknanan » April 2nd, 2007, 3:23 pm

vexxx dog info is exactly what i do also you can take of the pan rev the engine to max rpm and then cover the cab for 2 sec do this a few times this forces out the rubbish clogging the jets

nash

Postby nash » April 2nd, 2007, 4:31 pm

Yep sounds like the carb needs a lil servicing.While you at it check the filters,points(if applicable) and the step-up unit.That should do the trick.

THE SYNDICATE

Postby THE SYNDICATE » April 11th, 2007, 10:24 am

YEP.CHECK THE STEP UP UNIT...ENCOUNTERED THE SAME PROBLEM WITH A VEHICLE AND IT WAS THE STEP UP UNIT... :wink: HOPE YOU GET THROUGH.. :fadein:

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » April 11th, 2007, 10:44 am

well the engine was burning oil really bad and fouling up the plugs

had to change the engine

new engine installed and working great :mrgreen:

Dragsta

Postby Dragsta » April 11th, 2007, 12:46 pm

well the engine was burning oil really bad and fouling up the plugs

if it foulin up de plugs..its either the rings or the Valve Seats or both
it actually cost cheaper the rebuild the engine, but most ppl have the $$ to do a change....i'd prefer to change also

awesomeandre

Postby awesomeandre » April 11th, 2007, 1:44 pm

^^^^ the rings was bad -- apparently the previous owner in a frenzy to seell the car installed bigger rings on the piston causing the chamber to wear more than worst, when i checked out the car man no smoke at all man engine reall pulling nice, so i bought it, car has a excellent body tough.

it would have cost more to rebuild the engine and i forgot to mention all the piston heads was broken due to the wrong type of rings used.

that is an experience i will never forget.

NOS4R2

Postby NOS4R2 » November 23rd, 2007, 4:14 pm

Havin same problem with meh vitara :cry: Any tips :?: