How to care your car thread.........

Dion76

How to care your car thread.........

Postby Dion76 » March 17th, 2007, 4:11 am

yea ppl this thread is on how to care your veheicle to get some extra life and hp from it so u can post your do's and dont's here :lol:

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 17th, 2007, 10:03 am

change an check fluids regularly..doh run ya car wit less dan quarter tank..use a fuel treatment..an dat was discussed in a thread..dont drive hard an reckless..drive like a woman

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » March 17th, 2007, 8:59 pm

ohk good start

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 17th, 2007, 9:57 pm

Automotive Maintenance is something most of us ignore, until our vehicle stops functioning, that is. And then we wonder what went wrong, where. Auto Maintenance is one of the most serious aspects of ownership. It determines the longevity, performance and reliability of whichever vehicle you drive. Looking after your vehicle involves more than taking care of its external coat of paint and keeping it clean and shiny.

Car Maintenance means taking care of all the parts, even those that are inside the bonnet. These are the ones that directly concern the performance of your vehicle. Besides taking it to the service station at regular periods, it is a good idea to go through the owner's manual that will give a fair idea about its routine maintenance.

Checking the battery, keeping a check on the oils, changing the oils, checking the electrical system, are some of the absolutely unavoidable things to keep your vehicle in good shape. Keeping a log book in which you keep all the details regarding repair, auto maintenance, routine check-ups etc. will not only give you an accurate idea of what needs to be done when.

Tuneup - an old-fashioned maintenance term that's nearly non-existent today. With electronic ignition and fuel injection came computers that took over control of engine settings. Early versions allowed for some tinkering, but today's engines require advanced equipment and training. We could however learn some basic rules to follow and in turn prevent some of the faults in Car. Auto Maintenance is a could be good fun and a lot of learning experience. :twisted: :twisted:

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » March 17th, 2007, 10:03 pm

dred with me as soon as i hear a lil noise or anything i carry it by a mechanic to check it out :idea:

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 17th, 2007, 10:05 pm

Basic Fluid Level Checks

The simple things can help keep a car in good nick between services. Keep your precious motor fine-tuned with these basic fluid level checks:

1. Dipstick dos and don’ts
Find the dipstick (see the handbook). Take it out, wipe it with a rag and replace it, then remove it again and check. Top up the oil as necessary, adding a little at a time.

2. Colour alert
If the oil on the dipstick is black and grimy or light brown and emulsified, your engine needs urgent attention. Go to a mechanic as soon as possible.

3. Water marks
If the plastic tank linked to the radiator needs topping up, make sure the engine is cool and then add the right mixture of COOLANT and distilled water.

4. Brake fluid
This is especially important as a leak in the braking system can kill you. When removing the cap from the fluid reservoir (see your car manual), wipe off any dust. Seek help if the fluid level goes up and down or is empty.

5. Other fluids
There are fluid reservoirs for power steering, automatic gearboxes and clutches. If you need to top them up, consult the handbook for the correct fluid to add.
:twisted: :twisted:

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » March 17th, 2007, 10:07 pm

yea thats good advise^^^^

*Phoenix*

Postby *Phoenix* » March 17th, 2007, 10:08 pm

Top Tool Tips

Want to avoid crippling garage bills? As a DIY mechanic you could beat the system. Get going with this guide to essential workshop tools:

1. Jack
Don't rely on the jack that comes with the car - it's for emergencies only. Get yourself a trolley jack too.

2. Axle stands
Essential for holding the car up - never rely just on the jack for this. They must have a safe working load (SWL) that's comfortably higher than the weight of the car.

3. Wheel chocks
These stop the car rolling away while one end is propped up. Alternatively, you could simply use bricks or a timber wedge.

4. Socket set
This is crucial so get a decent one - not something from the Sunday market. Buy a set with a wide range of sockets in metric and Imperial sizes.

5. Torque wrench
The most common is like a ratchet driver from a socket set, only it stops turning when it reaches a set tightness. Many crucial bolts in cars are done up to specific torque settings.

6. Spanners
You'll be using these a lot. Get a good, big set that'll deal with everything. You can get open-ended and ring-ended spanners you’ll probably need both in time.

7. Pliers
A set of standard, long-nose and adjustable pliers is a good starting point.

8. Drill
An electric drill with a screwdriver function and sanding accessories for rust repairs is a great addition to any workshop. Cordless drills are very handy too.

9. Torch
Consider the type that straps to your head leaving both your hands free.

10. Pressure gauge
A simple pressure gauge is essential for keeping your tyres in good nick. You should check their pressure once a week.

11. First aid kit
A basic kit containing some sticking plasters, tweezers, antiseptic and an eye bath will go a long way to covering most small-scale incidents.

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » March 17th, 2007, 10:09 pm

:twisted: :twisted: good stuff ppl take into consideration

Postby X_Factor » March 17th, 2007, 10:58 pm

doh run ya car wit less dan quarter tank

Y?

evokiller

Postby evokiller » March 17th, 2007, 11:48 pm

yeah same thing i was now going 2 ask! :shock: :shock:

Postby cinco » March 18th, 2007, 12:32 am

fuel pump has to work harder to suck from the bottom of your tank where there is residue.
also driving causes the fuel to slosh around so the pump may encounter no fuel and be sucking in air this is at much lower levels

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 18th, 2007, 12:58 am

there is residue.

yuh see that sheit?? doe play that game na!

listen.. on fuel pumps...theres the intake and out... the that lil hole for the intake has ah small mesh.. now its so small.. ah particle as small as 1mm in size will clog it.. and u will be surprised to see the residue that does be inside ah tank.. i mean its like ah 50 50 chance.. but u doe wanna take that risk !

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 18th, 2007, 1:00 am

apart from engine care..

the body of the car is important..

please! i beggin allyuh rich ppl.. wen yuh buy yuh expensive sheit.. wash it na ??

jeez..

i see ah audi lookin niceeeeeeeeeeeeeee...homie say he now waash it by andy's there jus by keydonna drive in..

wen i rub de bonnet.. it ruff.. he clear cloat needed to do over..
that car is only 6months+ old....

care yuh car...it will do the same for u!

eitech

Postby eitech » March 18th, 2007, 1:11 am

exactly wat is a tune up? coz when i went fuh mine all dem do was change spark plugs, oil, and air filter. do they check ur timin and any other technical stuff u can't do at home?

Chiney

Postby Chiney » March 18th, 2007, 1:12 am

do they check ur timin and any other technical stuff

think u answered your question... unless u got the equipment??

lizzy

Postby lizzy » March 18th, 2007, 11:46 am

pimptacular wrote:change an check fluids regularly..doh run ya car wit less dan quarter tank..use a fuel treatment..an dat was discussed in a thread..dont drive hard an reckless..drive like a woman

Would you like to meet me on I-95, I-85, I-75, NJ or Fl Turnpike :?: Hope you have np flying low :twisted:

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » March 18th, 2007, 12:04 pm

eitech

Postby eitech » March 18th, 2007, 2:03 pm

dais ah tune up. and dem bussin real price on ppl. i cud do all dat sheit.

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » March 18th, 2007, 2:04 pm

well most mechanics charge about 300-400 per tune up

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 18th, 2007, 2:30 pm

sorry didnt mean to offend any women..it was just a general statement dat women drive slow slow an take dey time an yeh i wuda meet u..u cud keep up wit a camaro ss? :wink:

eitech

Postby eitech » March 18th, 2007, 3:53 pm

Dion76

Postby Dion76 » March 18th, 2007, 3:54 pm

:evil:

lizzy

Postby lizzy » March 18th, 2007, 8:16 pm

pimptacular wrote:sorry didnt mean to offend any women..it was just a general statement dat women drive slow slow an take dey time an yeh i wuda meet u..u cud keep up wit a camaro ss? :wink:

Try me :lol:

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 18th, 2007, 8:32 pm

wa u running? an eclipse? or a civic :lol: ..not to offend any honda men i kno it have civic dat cud run but u think it cud keep up wit a camaro?

ZanRx8

Postby ZanRx8 » March 18th, 2007, 9:36 pm

Why do you have a Mazda avatar if your drive a camaro? :? :?

By the way American built cars suck

except for a corvettel

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 18th, 2007, 9:40 pm

had a camaro in the states buh it got sold an i live trini i was jus pickin an american car dat like attainable an u doh hadda be like filthy rich dat fast stock

ZanRx8

Postby ZanRx8 » March 18th, 2007, 9:44 pm

Yeah but it can't handle for sheit just like a mustang

they have all this power and it ain't worth crap because you can't keep it on the road

They just have the worst handling in my opinion

I would take a Euro or Jap any day

by the way what mazda you drive now

pimptacular

Postby pimptacular » March 19th, 2007, 12:27 am

familia hatch..an the camaro used to hold the road pretty steady when it going fast..the steering neva got unstable at highspeeds an had run an m3 on the turnpike an got wet also an integra..imports up dere doh really rev up an try to run muscle cars