WHATS THE BEST SYNTHETIC OIL ON THE MARKET?

Postby gt4tified » October 2nd, 2006, 7:23 am

Dave....shut up! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Wham to castrol syntec.....if it good for a rally-winning champion and Penti, it bess for mankind aight?

Postby Dave » October 2nd, 2006, 7:54 am

Wham to castrol syntec.....if it good for a rally-winning champion and Penti, it bess for mankind aight?

amm No, alot of ppl ho get sponsors don't actually use their stuff, alot of trini examples take place everyday :wink:
http://www.atis.net/oil_faq.html
take a read from an independant source from long ago

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » October 2nd, 2006, 8:43 am

MOBIL ONE FULL SYNTECH EXTENDED PERFORMANCE.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » October 2nd, 2006, 3:27 pm

I think it all depends on your budget and needs.

If you don't have a super car, why use the super best? just my $0.02.

Not withstanding, I would give the Amsoil a try :twisted:

Val

Postby Val » October 2nd, 2006, 3:39 pm

I like Royal Purple 15W-40, but thas just me.

turbo master

Postby turbo master » October 3rd, 2006, 2:01 am

val where u got the royal purple to buy?costing?

Postby equipped2ripp » October 3rd, 2006, 2:23 am

rooks oilfield supposed to have royal purple

turbo master

Postby turbo master » October 3rd, 2006, 2:28 am

where's that located?E2R

Val

Postby Val » October 3rd, 2006, 7:59 am

Yea I get it at Rookes Oilfield Services. It costs me $40 p/quart (after my discount), I'm not sure what the normal retail is. I think it's 50 something.

W2J

Postby W2J » October 3rd, 2006, 10:07 am

equipped2ripp wrote:rooks oilfield supposed to have royal purple

That because Gordon Rooks who owns rooks drilling - rooks oilfield is the agent.

Z Tourer vtec

Postby Z Tourer vtec » October 3rd, 2006, 12:18 pm

Dave wrote:

amm No, alot of ppl ho get sponsors don't actually use their stuff, alot of trini examples take place everyday :wink:
http://www.atis.net/oil_faq.html
take a read from an independant source from long ago

ENT!!

You think Mr Solo really using NP Ultra?

Postby Dave » October 3rd, 2006, 12:27 pm

ways, man reach on the water, i was only on land :lol:
sponsorship entails alot of different things, cash, products, etc so what u have stickered not necessarily means u using what is being advertised

mitsugdi

Postby mitsugdi » October 3rd, 2006, 8:59 pm

Dave wrote:wait nah, allyuh comparing amsoil to castrol, ROFLMAO :lol:
and good for you, i never said not to use it but amsoil and castrol are in 2 different ball parks delivering 2 different types of outcomes and effects

I drive a mitsu galant 4g93. 1999 model going in 3+ years.
during that time i used oils as follows:shell helix.shell helix syntec blend,shell helix syntec, mobil 1 and i am now using CASTROL SYNTEC.
My car is 95% more quiet. so you know what oil i would be using now.

Now dave i did not disagree with your opinion.
You could have ment two things by your quote:
wait nah, allyuh comparing amsoil to castrol, ROFLMAO :lol:[/quote]

1. comparing a low grade amsoil to high grade castrol.
2.comparing a low grade castrol to high grade amsoil.
I am not saying that these oils are high or low grades.

No hard feelings man :drinking:
Last edited by mitsugdi on October 4th, 2006, 9:27 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby Dave » October 4th, 2006, 7:44 am

^^ and good for you, i never said not to use it but amsoil and castrol are in 2 different ball parks delivering 2 different types of outcomes and effects

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » October 4th, 2006, 7:52 am

some people have good experience with one brand of oil and other have had bad.... so it juss comes down to the age of the engine and your preference!

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » October 4th, 2006, 8:51 am

Something to think about.....

Most of the "additives" that are put into Synth oils today, come from one of only 4 manufacturers in the world. So the oils are alot more similar than you think.

4G63Turbo

Postby 4G63Turbo » November 8th, 2006, 3:17 pm

what do you 4G63 guys suggest?

I've used the castrol as well.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » November 8th, 2006, 5:01 pm

switched to mobil 1 10W30 this weekend. the car runs a lot more quieter, than when it was on the castrol gtx. i would be sticking to the mobil1 cuz its manufacturer recommended :idea:

3line

Postby 3line » November 8th, 2006, 7:36 pm

Any rotary ppl..what kinda type of oils do u guys use?? I know there is a big debate if synt oils should be used in rotarys but let me hear your preferances.

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » November 9th, 2006, 7:13 pm

Zh@ne wrote:some people have good experience with one brand of oil and other have had bad.... so it juss comes down to the age of the engine and your preference!

that makes sense hosssessss

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » November 9th, 2006, 8:45 pm

ent!

altec

Postby altec » August 25th, 2008, 12:00 am

i dig this thread up from the grave, and was wondering how much for the amsoil now and if you have to drain the oil i order to change the filter? if the oil has to be drained would'nt that contaminate it, at least in the average service shop?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 25th, 2008, 12:17 am

^^^good quexstion.....and thx for the resurrection.......

Postby Rory Phoulorie » August 25th, 2008, 4:20 am

altec wrote:...and if you have to drain the oil i order to change the filter? if the oil has to be drained would'nt that contaminate it, at least in the average service shop?

dmitc wrote:...simply park on an incline for a couple of hours, the oil from the filter will drain back into the sump and all you have to do then is simply replace the filter, at most a few drops of oil would spill out unless the filter at the bottom of the engine as oppose to the side like on mines.

Postby Dave » August 25th, 2008, 8:23 am

amsoil retails for approx $sixty something plus a qt

civic SIR

Postby civic SIR » August 25th, 2008, 8:43 am

cacasplat3 wrote:switched to mobil 1 10W30 this weekend. the car runs a lot more quieter, than when it was on the castrol gtx. i would be sticking to the mobil1 cuz its manufacturer recommended :idea:

MOBIL 1 bess oil in the world!!! :lol: :lol:
ah think they slogan is .."changing oil for over 135 years"

sss

Postby sss » August 25th, 2008, 12:44 pm

about to try redline but never had a problem with mobil 1 15-50w castrol syntec however seems to burn out quickly doh no why

dmitc

Postby dmitc » August 25th, 2008, 2:04 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:switched to mobil 1 10W30 this weekend. the car runs a lot more quieter, than when it was on the castrol gtx. i would be sticking to the mobil1 cuz its manufacturer recommended :idea:

switched from castrol to mobile 1 4000k ago and no difference is noted by me in the sound or perfornmance of the engine one thing i did notice is that i had to add a half a quart weekend gone to bring it up to level.
going to run it for 4000k more and then going back to castrol.

V2NR 3.0

Postby V2NR 3.0 » August 26th, 2008, 3:42 pm

Royal Purple

Postby ~Vēġó~ » August 26th, 2008, 10:52 pm

Dave wrote:amsoil retails for approx $sixty something plus a qt

just remind me which part again dey swami???