Is Mitsu 4G92 SOHC a interference type engine?

SPEED THRILLZ

Is Mitsu 4G92 SOHC a interference type engine?

Postby SPEED THRILLZ » October 29th, 2006, 8:18 am

I was wondering if anyone knows?

Postby pete » October 29th, 2006, 10:15 am

Timing belt popped?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 29th, 2006, 9:05 pm

^^Don't believe so....

Zh@ne
Location: Some say he can be nowhere and everywhere at the same time

Postby Zh@ne » October 29th, 2006, 9:38 pm

good question been wondering that meh self!

SPEED THRILLZ

Postby SPEED THRILLZ » October 29th, 2006, 10:28 pm

nah no problem is just i changed all the belts and water pump but apparently mech used a SUN timing belt. I know little of the brand so i want to be safe, so if the engine is a interference type, dat belt going within 10,000miles. SO no one can shed sum light?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 29th, 2006, 11:55 pm

I have a sun belt doing almost 30k no probs...Preferred a gates but couldn't find.

plan to change it at 50000 km though...

Read the gates application guide but doesn't say if the 4G92 is or not. I do remember a guy here , whose timing belt burst off his 4G92 at idle and it didn't bend any valves....

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » October 30th, 2006, 12:59 pm

mitsu engines are strong so it will not bend valves immediately when the belt bursts.

I do not believe that this is an interference engine

Postby wagonrunner » October 30th, 2006, 1:02 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper,
yuh sure? i've seen it happen to the valves on the exhaust side of a 4G91

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 30th, 2006, 1:20 pm

Apparently only thr SOHC 1.6 and 1.8 Lancers are non interference....

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » October 30th, 2006, 1:48 pm

wagonrunner wrote:Mr. Red Sleeper,
yuh sure? i've seen it happen to the valves on the exhaust side of a 4G91

Of course, it depends on how long it was run in that condition

venum

Postby venum » October 30th, 2006, 9:00 pm

MITSUBOSHI belts gentlemen

Postby wagonrunner » October 30th, 2006, 10:28 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper,
hmmm. all of two gears, trying to make power i think, 2 - 3. before car refused to go any further. engine was started a couple of times, sounding like a scubie, and idling badly.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » October 30th, 2006, 10:38 pm

Gates has a wrireup somewhere on this for all makes...it doesn't have all the engines though...

SPEED THRILLZ

Postby SPEED THRILLZ » October 31st, 2006, 6:51 am

Yup gates has a application for the 4G92 SOHC, I got one from diamond cuz all the oem were out of stock. But since i did the pump i said wa da heck change all belts.

Oh and MISHI tanx for the info, I hear sun is ok belt. Buh I still go have to change tensioner in bout 10k miles soooo I go swap to a gates or mitsuboshi