mivec installation

loosecannon

mivec installation

Postby loosecannon » September 7th, 2006, 1:58 pm

hi. just wanted to know if anyone can help me with an average cost of installing a mivec engine in a ck4 lancer. From buying the engine to driving it home.
considering it as i might have to do some repairs to my 4g92 engine and just considering other options.
any help would be greatly appreciated.
thanks.

MIVEC95

Postby MIVEC95 » September 7th, 2006, 2:36 pm

a mivec mite cost bout 10 gran complete,it fits bolt for bolt on ur car so u wont hav no prob wit installation,electrician to wire up will cost bout $800,$1000 for full exhaust cuz u wont want any baby pipes,i will say cater $15,000.00 to do d full install because u will want to add on little goodies,u will also have to upgrade to rear dics jus to know u hav d stopping power in case of anything

Postby Aaron 2NR » September 7th, 2006, 3:42 pm

18000 sounds like a more realistic figure if u doin brakes an stuff

MIVEC95

Postby MIVEC95 » September 7th, 2006, 5:16 pm

well brakes is $2500,it all depends who u go by to get ur stuff

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » September 8th, 2006, 8:27 pm

why go mivec 1600cc when u can go 4g63t it is much better

MIVEC95

Postby MIVEC95 » September 8th, 2006, 9:46 pm

cause a 4g63t project will run u to almost 30 gran and more,dat eh make no sense

RYO3149

Postby RYO3149 » September 8th, 2006, 9:48 pm

cause a 4g63t project will run u to almost 30 gran and more,dat eh make no sense

Agreed, but from looking around, it seems like a mivec engine is very hard to source, was trying to get one for a pardner but none was avalible..

MIVEC95

Postby MIVEC95 » September 8th, 2006, 9:51 pm

i have 2 mivec engines,one modded and a stock one,they not hard to get u jus hav to know ppl to bring it in for u,i think u called me about my engine if i am not mistaken

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » September 8th, 2006, 10:07 pm

what about the availibility of parts and cost of parts for both engines cuz one might be cheaper now but if something goes wrong and u want to repair it might cost u two engines whereas u spend one piece of money now and an that is it.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » September 8th, 2006, 10:13 pm

SCHOLARS wrote:why go mivec 1600cc when u can go 4g63t it is much better

why do anything at all. sell the car and buy a lancer MR

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » September 8th, 2006, 10:16 pm

i aint such a big fan of mitsu but is the mr a 4wd lancer or something and what engine does it have? silvermike

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » September 8th, 2006, 10:40 pm

1600cc MIVEC, fwd.

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » September 8th, 2006, 10:44 pm

well be he buy a 4wd lancer and go a 4g63t and gearbox conversion. faster than an evo but not as heavy.

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » September 8th, 2006, 10:53 pm

the 4g63t is rare and dare.

better he buys a evo

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 9th, 2006, 10:15 am

but it makes for a nice project...

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » September 13th, 2006, 10:00 am

Did the MIVEC conversion
Rear brakes hard to find at a decent price best price i got so far wa $4k
Total cost $15k
Worth it to me in terms of upgrade
parts all over the place
in lieu of rear brakes the front brake upgrade works gr8 as far as im concerned
no regrets yet
compared to 4g63t conversion for 15k more at least im happy

venum

Postby venum » September 13th, 2006, 4:41 pm

viperhoe wrote:cause a 4g63t project will run u to almost 30 gran and more,dat eh make no sense

best piece of advice i seen here

do not be mistaken, a 4G63T is no simple drop-in-and-drive project

stock Lancer GLXi or even MR brakes, suspension and electrical will not work

unless you builiding your coffin and hearse together

MIVEC95

Postby MIVEC95 » September 13th, 2006, 9:05 pm

^ LOL , U NUH EASY NA,DATS WHY I DIDNT GO WITH D 4G63T IN MY RALLY CAR,D ONLY THING ON MY CAR IS EVO SUSPENSION,D BRAKES ARE GALANT,AND WELL D MIVEC ENGINE...ANOTHER PROBLEM WITH D 4G63T IS TORQUE STEER,I HAD A PADNA WHO DID D 4G63T SWAP AND D CAR WASNT STABLE AT ALL,PULLIN ALL OVER THE PLACE,HE EVENTUALLY GOT FEDUP AND SOLD D ENGINE AND BOUGHT A 4G92 SOHC WHICH HE TURBOED AND NO LIE HE HAD MUCH MORE FUN BECAUSE HE KNOW EXACTLY HOW D CAR WILL RESPOND, I PERSONALLY CHOOSE D MIVEC BECAUSE OF D HIGH HP RATING .....170HP IN A 1600 IS VERY IMPRESSIVE AND CHEAP ON GAS,AS COMPARE TO LET SAY 20 VALVE 4 THROTTLE COROLLA,WHICH BURNS MORE GAS AND D MIVEC IS STILL FASTER WITH LESS MODS

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » September 13th, 2006, 10:53 pm

how does the vrg galant 1.8 run compaired to the 1600 mivec is the possible to put the mivec 1600 head on that block with the intake ,extractors and mivec brain and get the higher rpms to work (9500 rpm).???????????????????

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 13th, 2006, 11:29 pm

^ totally different setup. you won't see that kind of revs...quitepossible neither the power.

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » September 14th, 2006, 6:21 am

^ A little bit off there Mishi he wold see and increase in HP and torque but a drop in reve due to the long stroke of the 1834 cc block . What some guys did is bought lighter pistons and crank and got their 8500 - 9000 rpm but loss some of their bottom end grunt . its a nice conversion if you are looking for that extra 10 -15 hp .

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » September 14th, 2006, 6:25 am

^^ the mivec is a nice engine for spirited driving it gives you the bottom end torque you need unlike the hondas but its no honda better ( they got that market covered interms of japanese cars until they step into european teritory )

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » September 14th, 2006, 9:57 am

Mitsu power wrote:^ A little bit off there Mishi he wold see and increase in HP and torque but a drop in reve due to the long stroke of the 1834 cc block . What some guys did is bought lighter pistons and crank and got their 8500 - 9000 rpm but loss some of their bottom end grunt . its a nice conversion if you are looking for that extra 10 -15 hp .

Yeah but remember he wants to use the setup off a VRG block...(GDI)

If he using one from the 4G93 SOHC possibly.....

Mitsu power

Postby Mitsu power » September 14th, 2006, 1:11 pm

unless he's using the gdi block alone with 4g93 sohc pistons and crank thats the only how he is going to make power

lancer_noobs

Postby lancer_noobs » September 15th, 2006, 12:46 am

minds cost 27k+
Barts 63mm throttle body
5wd gearbox copper clutch
lightweight flywheel
port and polish head
custom 2.25" full through exhaust
Coilovers
Cool Air Intake
champion copper plus spark plugs and wire
MSD Ignition System
700cc injectors
Cam / internal work / aint letting everyone know bout that

Work step by step and get the parts you need at your own timing
Modding this engine is alot of fun when you feel the difference

If you have big money go for the 4g63t
cause after that 30k you have to maintain it

lancer_noobs

Postby lancer_noobs » September 15th, 2006, 12:50 am

BTW after this setup you would wopp all them hondas that use to give you trouble :D
pm me for more info and a ride :lol:

SPEED THRILLZ

Postby SPEED THRILLZ » September 17th, 2006, 5:55 pm

if your gonna spend money for a swap for more power needs why not turbo your sohc?, you can get parts for the engine and with boost i am sure you will get more than a mivec swap.

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » September 17th, 2006, 6:26 pm

but how much boost can i run safely cuz it is not a turbo engine and problems may occur. and to turbo i will have to get
turbo
piping
intercooler
bov
bigger or extra injectors
better clutch and pressure plate
and what else

how about the ecu. i heard with some engines when things are increased such as air, fuel etc the ecu starts to foul up and may have to be reprogrammed i think. i not sure but i would like to know.
but he will have to run low boost between 5-9 psi to be efficient and working properly for more than a week. that is for the vrg 1800