EVO VII over heating when AC is off

Postby crazybalhead » July 25th, 2006, 10:28 am

Read here, this is EXACTLY what is happening.

http://forums.evolutionm.net/showthread ... verheating

I feel is the fan control module.

Can anybody tell me, when your AC is off, do both fans come on? Or does the passenger fan alone come on, but at a slower speed than when the AC is on?

From reading, I realise that this is a common problem and is probably more noticeable in the tropics, could it be a problem with the module? Or is something else?

Thanks, look forward to your responses.

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » July 25th, 2006, 10:35 am

^^ U tried bypassing the control module and see if the fan working properly? If not it looks like the fan module is truly bad.

Postby crazybalhead » July 25th, 2006, 10:43 am

it coming on full speed when the AC on, which is why I feel is the module.

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » July 25th, 2006, 10:58 am

Ahhh... and you have no standalone EMS or anything?

Postby crazybalhead » July 25th, 2006, 11:02 am

Nope, stock computer.

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » July 25th, 2006, 11:04 am

Well best of luck on finding the part bro.. Robert should sort you out. Faisal (RedCT9A on this forum) <a href="http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=95591">is parting out a front cut</a> as well, so you could give him a shout.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » July 25th, 2006, 12:15 pm

when a/c is off it overheats?
that doesnt sound right....

the engine fan is operated by the module.....hook up your engine fan directly to the battery and run it like that and see if it still overheats.

I am 11secEVO7 on the evom forum and link that u posted..i was trying to help that guy out since it was a similar problem i had..

and it wasnt the module either. It was the engine fan itself..

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » July 25th, 2006, 12:16 pm

oh plus a blown HG..... :lol:

Postby crazybalhead » July 25th, 2006, 12:27 pm

yeah boy, ah read that part too. But this is what i opbserved eh, the engine fan blows slowly when the AC is off and only one fan works, not both.

When the AC is on both fans come on full speed every few seconds and the needle never moves, no matter how long yuh in traffic idleing.

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » July 25th, 2006, 1:10 pm

hmm..welll yeah that really sounding like the control module playing the fool...
i will check for it.

for the while if u using yuh car ....hook up your fan direct to the battery so that it runs constantly from the time the ignition is on.
jus to be on the safe side...

Postby pete » July 25th, 2006, 2:36 pm

Sounds like it's a two speed fan and the thermo switch(module) to turn the fan to high speed isn't working. Simplest thing is to do what Red said and get the fan to work when the ignition is on. That jus puts a lil bit more strain on your electrical system as there is that load constantly tho.

(btw, in my swift my thermo switch also isn't working and I have to leave the a/c on constantly for the fan to stay on, still hadda get around to getting it to work off the ignition/switch)

Postby crazybalhead » July 25th, 2006, 4:14 pm

pete that is exactly what the mechanic said. I will consider it.

SPEED THRILLZ

Postby SPEED THRILLZ » July 29th, 2006, 6:46 am

hmmmmmm chief i am not sure exactly but, the ac brings on the ac cooling fan AND the engine fan. Once the ac is off the engine fan relys on the thermo to bring it on and off and the thermo will bring only the engine fan on.

Why not cheak the system on a cedia and see if you can work something off it.

whiteevo7

Postby whiteevo7 » July 29th, 2006, 7:32 pm

i think is the silver temp unit that bolt on the fan with 2 ten bolt that giving the trouble!

Postby crazybalhead » July 30th, 2006, 10:24 am

Thats the damn thing self whiteevo and others, I have ordered this part and will let you guys know what happens. I am sure a cedia business will work, since it is the same part, but I prefer getting something new instead of a used "Cyat in bag" special. I am sure this will be cheaper than having to change the head gasket.

Postby Greypatch » July 31st, 2006, 11:03 am

well done folks... keep we posted crazy

Postby crazybalhead » August 21st, 2006, 7:35 am

Changed the fan controller this weekend, so far so good. :mrgreen:

Thanks to ADAH for brining in the necessary part!!!!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

BTW, EVO VIII and EVO VII fan controller is interchangeable if anybody else having this problem. This may have been useful for some fellas who lost engines and headgaskets early on due to overheating. If you have a VII I suggest you do this change.

BulletProof

Postby BulletProof » August 21st, 2006, 9:14 am

^^Will order 1 ASAP.. just to have it at the ready... thanks bro.