Clutch fan

halfbreed

Clutch fan

Postby halfbreed » June 25th, 2006, 8:29 pm

little help here plz.
realised that my fan is making a kinda extra loud noise when i rev up. sounds like one of those old pickups, a kind of unnecessary noise.
how do i go about fixing this problem?? someone told me that there's a silicone i'll have to put in it.
true, false?

forgot to mention, its an RB20

Postby Dave » June 26th, 2006, 9:46 am

may need changing
with the silicone oil it usually sounds like a vacuum when reved

nash

Postby nash » June 26th, 2006, 5:11 pm

Usually you add silicon oil when the fan spins 'slack' when the engine is turned off.
The oil makes the fan 'stiff' again and hence making it spin as it should and so performing its cooling function as intended.Sounds like the fan needs changing.

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » July 23rd, 2006, 2:55 pm

Had a problem with my clutch fan also , went by a mechanic and he put it stationery for me , works like a charm ......

aidan

Postby aidan » July 23rd, 2006, 3:02 pm

think u shud change d fan.^^!SPAWN!^^,yuh sure nuttin happen wen d mech interfere there that causin ur car to be slow?

halfbreed

Postby halfbreed » July 23rd, 2006, 3:10 pm

^^!SPAWN!^^ wrote: Had a problem with my clutch fan also , went by a mechanic and he put it stationery for me , works like a charm ......

i don't want it stationary, just in case something happens to obstruct it. u never know.

bought the silicone oil only to realise the fan i have is sealed so i can't put it in. had to get another clutch fan.

^^!SPAWN!^^

Postby ^^!SPAWN!^^ » July 23rd, 2006, 11:07 pm

Nah Aidan , my clutch fan was made stationery about 3 years ago , no problems since ......