Oil Change

fras

Oil Change

Postby fras » May 3rd, 2006, 11:40 am

I wanna change my oil nexy week, its gonna be the first change since i got the car (2002 Lancer GLX).
I was told Quaker State 20 50 :!: Any other recommendations :?:

Postby Dave » May 3rd, 2006, 11:42 am

excellent budget oil

ProjectAlteredBeast

Postby ProjectAlteredBeast » May 3rd, 2006, 12:12 pm

I use castrol 20 50. I would definitely suggest that.

Sully

Postby Sully » May 3rd, 2006, 1:00 pm

I'm about to try the Amsoil 20W-50.
I'll let you know how it goes.

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » May 3rd, 2006, 1:24 pm

Dave wrote:excellent budget oil

if you on a Manning budget ! that oil get dear !

what's the milage ?

fras

Postby fras » May 3rd, 2006, 1:32 pm

Forget the price what would be better :?:

Postby Dave » May 3rd, 2006, 1:40 pm

^^ aight now u talking :P , amsoil/redline is the ones to use

Raziel

Postby Raziel » May 3rd, 2006, 2:30 pm

Redline !!!

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » May 3rd, 2006, 2:50 pm

Yuh still eh answer mih question

what's the milage on the engine ?

fras

Postby fras » May 5th, 2006, 6:29 am

I cant say off hand but its a roro and u know they usually put some kinda shitty oil
so i wanna change it

plex

Postby plex » May 5th, 2006, 8:09 am

frass wrote:Forget the price what would be better :?:

good question..i normally go with the manufacturer recommends..but i guess if your engine is modified then a performance oil may be suited..i used quaker state before and was not pleased at all..using total oil..

plex

Postby plex » May 5th, 2006, 8:12 am

frass, what Spyrogyra, is asking is a good question..mileage is important..

venum

Postby venum » May 5th, 2006, 8:20 am

ProjectAlteredBeast wrote:I use castrol 20 50. I would definitely suggest that.

I would definately NOT suggest that

mineral oil just don't cut it in mitsu engines

you have the 4G18 EFI engine

Mitsubishi engines - the majority of the common ones (4G15, 4G93, 4G18, 4G63, 4G92, 4G67, 4G94) all suffer from noisy hydraulic tappets

that familiar sound - clak, clak, clak when you start in the morning - lifters wishing you a good morning

use SHELL HELIX PLUS (semi-synthetic) or ULTRA (full-synthetic, but more $$$)

helix plus ~ $120.00 per gallon

helix ultra ~ $250.00 per gallon - u suppose to be good for ~ 10,000 km with this one, but I am not too sure

I use the helix plus and no more lifter noise, run it for 5000km +/- 300km - oil always changes on time

fras

Postby fras » May 5th, 2006, 10:21 am

Ok its 023845

Postby Dave » May 5th, 2006, 12:09 pm

i beg to differ
my 4g15 carb was given extreme pressure with quaker 20w-50 barrel oil and also my wifes 4g13 religiously uses quaker mineral with no adverse results
both car i had new from diamond

Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » May 5th, 2006, 12:50 pm

frass wrote:Ok its 023845

Engine is still fairly "new", barring any issues with rings and seals (easily detected by a comperssion test) you can use a 10W-30 multigrade.

the choice between mineral and synt is completely up to you, My experience is that synts are superior in terms of flash point and sulphated ash content.

Synths don't produce sulphated ash when oxidized (which creates sludge) where as mineral oils do.

venum

Postby venum » May 5th, 2006, 1:10 pm

Dave wrote:

i beg to differ
my 4g15 carb was given extreme pressure with quaker 20w-50 barrel oil and also my wifes 4g13 religiously uses quaker mineral with no adverse results
both car i had new from diamond

Dave,

It has been my experience with my 4G15 DOHC EFI that the Castrol GTX 20W-50 was just not cutting it as far as teh lifters were concerned.

the switch from GTX to the Helix Plus was an immediate effect

every morning with 20W-50 GTX - lifters making noise

next morning with 15W-50 Helix - lifters quiet

a lot of the Mitsu men here can also testify to the use of the (semi) synthetic

does your wife's 4G13 have hydraulic tappets?

Postby Dave » May 5th, 2006, 1:32 pm

ahh i have never used crappy oil like castrol, have u ever used good oil like quaker state?
the shell used to burn out in my 4g15-T
wife's 4g13 is tappits, all 4g13's efi and carbed came tappits

venum

Postby venum » May 7th, 2006, 9:00 pm

^^^ ok

thanx for the info

sorry man, never used Quaker State

I lived in ignorance with Castrl GTX for a long time till I came out of my shell :mrgreen: