chap it out?

redsupra101

chap it out?

Postby redsupra101 » April 28th, 2006, 7:16 pm

is there any way i can chop out the factory tach from the gauge cluster and replace it with an aftermarket IN DASH tach?

:twisted:

belalegosi

Postby belalegosi » April 28th, 2006, 8:41 pm

chap it out?

wont work

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » April 28th, 2006, 8:55 pm

cutlass?

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » April 28th, 2006, 9:18 pm

just curious :oops: :oops: cuz if it possible i doing it :oops: :oops:

ID FIND A WAY :evil: :evil: :evil: :evil:

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » April 28th, 2006, 9:59 pm

^Why you wanna do that? :shock: :shock:

Make sure and buy a used cluster to chap up eh...

I belive Autometer makes Tachs an Speedos that can be used to custom fab ur own gauge cluster tho...if u wanna try dat kinda ting.

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » April 28th, 2006, 10:06 pm

^^ thaz what i wanted to do
but i want to keep the lights on the gauge cluster for like the sensors or whatever
i trying to see if i cud shove the old cluster somewhere in the dash and run wires up to the fabbed cluster and put lights there for everything
but i dont think all that really worth it
cuz all i really want is the accuracy of a beautiful autometer tach

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » April 28th, 2006, 10:10 pm

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » April 28th, 2006, 10:11 pm

redsupra101, you tryin to keep it stealth or wah :lol: :lol:

Well you could buy something smaller than the 5" tach and see if it could fit within de cluster but infront the old tach. OR you could condemn the drivers side A/C vent an mount it there.

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » April 28th, 2006, 10:27 pm

^^ nah nah
it hadda be in the dash where the factory gauges are
stealth is the way
on factory honda 14s YO :twisted:
i eh condemning no a/c... i cah live without that
later in the week i gonna c if the tach i have could fit inside the gauge cluster in front the tach... hope fuh the best!!! :lol: :mrgreen:

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » April 28th, 2006, 10:30 pm

ProjectAlteredBeast

Postby ProjectAlteredBeast » May 2nd, 2006, 12:36 pm

u serious?

Postby crazybalhead » May 2nd, 2006, 1:32 pm

Listen, with a civic (doh know what car you have) all you have to do is take out two screws at the back of the cluster and the tach pops out. if you have the right size aftermarket tach, I don not see why this cannot replace a stock one. I suspect it may be similar for your car, take out the cluster and look at the screws at the back and see if you cant do this. And an aftermarket tach is easy to wire up.

Soooo yuh just may have to fabricate a trim ring out of plexi or MDF or something and yuh good to go. Sounds like a cool project.

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » May 2nd, 2006, 10:58 pm

^^ daiz wha we talking bout
and yeah its a civic
i thought it wud pop out.. just wasnt sure!!

but ah realise meh tach too big.. that space iz for like a 3.something inch.. my tach iz 5" :evil: