CK Lancer, terrible fuel economy

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 15th, 2006, 11:08 am

good to know that yuh getting some progress!

SPEED THRILLZ

Postby SPEED THRILLZ » March 17th, 2006, 10:51 pm

hmmm no offense or anything to anyone but I guessing you gonna get a second opinion? because if your gonna undertake work to a certain price bracket. think long and hard of the pro and cons.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 20th, 2006, 8:23 am

^^ Got second opinion, same diagnosis.

SPEED THRILLZ

Postby SPEED THRILLZ » March 22nd, 2006, 9:46 pm

hmmmmmm well now total up the cost of the repair and compare to lets say a sa 4G15 or even a 4G63 NA and ......well if you just want point a to b econo would be ure highest goal.

venum

Postby venum » March 23rd, 2006, 8:33 am

SPEED THRILLZ wrote:hmmmmmm well now total up the cost of the repair and compare to lets say a sa 4G15 or even a 4G63 NA and ......well if you just want point a to b econo would be ure highest goal.

say what?

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 23rd, 2006, 8:51 am

SPEED THRILLZ wrote:hmmmmmm well now total up the cost of the repair and compare to lets say a sa 4G15 or even a 4G63 NA and ......well if you just want point a to b econo would be ure highest goal.

Just how much do you think these repairs will cost?

SPEED THRILLZ

Postby SPEED THRILLZ » March 26th, 2006, 1:24 pm

well if you gonna take off ure head might as well change timing belt and your other belts. Do it so you won't have to go back into the engine ne time soon. I can't give you a figure, I dunno exactly wa you plan to do.

BTW venum I just suggesting that she add up the total cost of repairing her engine which is a 1.3, to lets say investing and getting a engine with more pep. But if she just wants to reach a to b and have no interest in spirited driving then just repair the 1.3

venum

Postby venum » March 27th, 2006, 12:54 am

SPEED THRILLZ wrote:BTW venum I just suggesting that she add up the total cost of repairing her engine which is a 1.3, to lets say investing and getting a engine with more pep. But if she just wants to reach a to b and have no interest in spirited driving then just repair the 1.3

Ah, I see

these repairs should not too difficult and should be pretty cheap, but depends on the provision of two things:

1. where you source your parts
2. labour

transplant of a 4g15 would be an easy swap - just engine, harness and ECU basically

4G63 N/A :shock: - not a simple swap

SPEED THRILLZ wrote:well if you gonna take off ure head might as well change timing belt and your other belts.

I agree about the timing belt, but disagree bout the other belts,

when was the last time the timing belt was changed?

inspect the condition of the other belts, only change if needed, these can be changed anytime.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 27th, 2006, 9:15 am

SPEED THRILLZ wrote:BTW venum I just suggesting that she add up the total cost of repairing her engine which is a 1.3, to lets say investing and getting a engine with more pep. But if she just wants to reach a to b and have no interest in spirited driving then just repair the 1.3

Who's she :?: :?:

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 27th, 2006, 9:19 am

venum wrote:when was the last time the timing belt was changed?

September last year, I'll ask the mechanic to check it.

Postby Dave » March 27th, 2006, 9:27 am

was it bad b4 the belt change?

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 27th, 2006, 9:34 am

Changed at 90,000km by previous owner, dunno if it was bad or not.

SPEED THRILLZ

Postby SPEED THRILLZ » March 29th, 2006, 9:35 pm

Hmmmm sry dey Chief bout da " she " part, hope to hear about your results after your decision. If to fix the 1.3 or go higher, buh as for belts inspect them. I rather be safe than sry, so venum you have a rough idea the cost to work on da 1.3?

venum

Postby venum » March 29th, 2006, 10:43 pm

Well

I really can't give an estimate

I paid $300 for my timing belt, but that was for a 140 tooth timing belt for the 4G15 DOHC engine

I'm guessing anywhere between $800.00 to $1000.00

~ $250.00 for the belt alone

the engine head gonna have to be removed and that gonna just be the start

so prepare for some $$$

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » March 30th, 2006, 11:03 am

venum wrote:Well

I really can't give an estimate

I paid $300 for my timing belt, but that was for a 140 tooth timing belt for the 4G15 DOHC engine

I'm guessing anywhere between $800.00 to $1000.00

~ $250.00 for the belt alone

the engine head gonna have to be removed and that gonna just be the start

so prepare for some $$$

sand blast head..
change valve seals
check the head to see if it warped..
pressure test the head..
cause it gonna be really sh!tty to do all dat and d head crack...
dat bad gas thing sounding like it have a leak somewher..
dave if is a local carb engine u have..
get the f/uy carb and manifold..
d seal kit not gonna help no matter what u do...

it jus bloddy frustrating...

btw if the 4g13 using a MAP sensor..
more than likely it's the same exact harness from a 4g15

btw it would also be the first f/i 4g13 i have heard of with a map sensor...

as far as i know the f/i 4g13 and the 4g92 sohc engines use the same EXACT setup plus or minus a few wires...espically with the ditributer/ distributer - less system.....

so homie i hope you giving the right info........

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 30th, 2006, 11:33 am

Got the car back, ended up changng piston rings, polishing the cylinders, replacing a bunch of gaskets etc. etc. The mechanic is a friend of the family so I could trust him not to do unnecessary work.

I have to break in the engine now and check the mileage.

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » March 30th, 2006, 11:36 am

trinigamer wrote:Got the car back, ended up changng piston rings, polishing the cylinders, replacing a bunch of gaskets etc. etc. The mechanic is a friend of the family so I could trust him not to do unnecessary work.

I have to break in the engine now and check the mileage.

polish???

i hope is hone u mean......or else yuh would be chainging rings soon again... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

venum

Postby venum » March 31st, 2006, 6:46 pm

^^^ time will tell

please keep us updated

SPEED THRILLZ

Postby SPEED THRILLZ » April 14th, 2006, 4:02 pm

ne updates?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 14th, 2006, 7:08 pm

^^^hole strain nah......de individual still breakin in the engine.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » April 18th, 2006, 8:49 am

Was in DC and NY over the past week, so the car park until today, still need another 600km to break in the engine.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » August 16th, 2006, 3:16 pm

Problem seems to have been solved. Mileage is better, took it for another scan, nothing wrong. Guess the short trip driving I do, plus driving up hills a lot makes the 1.3 burn more gas for power.