lowering of car

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 2nd, 2006, 6:20 pm

jus wanted some opinions before i move forward wit my idea

checked tone in marabella to lower the almera..he said it wud cost bout 1200 to lower it wit some sort of method by modifyin the shocks..wats ure views on this?or has ne1 on the forum done it an satisfied?

Amit3

info

Postby Amit3 » April 2nd, 2006, 8:45 pm

i know a friend did it in marabela or gasparlo for 2400 with new shocks on his 323 and he has no problem running good , conering good and the ride no bumpy

call me tom 747-5242 and i will get a no for you

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 2nd, 2006, 8:47 pm

i feel its at tone self..but i have new shocks etc thats prob why my quote to do it was cheaper...

well its the conerin etc i wanna no about cuz i heard that u loose some stability...

Raziel

Re: lowering of car

Postby Raziel » April 2nd, 2006, 8:53 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:jus wanted some opinions before i move forward wit my idea

checked tone in marabella to lower the almera..he said it wud cost bout 1200 to lower it wit some sort of method by modifyin the shocks..wats ure views on this?or has ne1 on the forum done it an satisfied?

Modifying the shocks? really doesn't sound like a good idea

The only "good" way to lower a car is to replace the springs (or buy a coilover set), modifying shocks/cuttings springs not only f#%ks up the handling capabilities, but will also mean the shock/spring absorb less of the bumps/holes/etc, so your other suspension parts will get damaged more frequently.

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 2nd, 2006, 9:03 pm

well its the only alternative i really have rite now cuz its hard to source lowerin springs for the almera or else i wud go that way...

Raziel

Postby Raziel » April 2nd, 2006, 9:15 pm

They don't have lowering springs for the Almera? Nissan men?

Postby wagonrunner » April 2nd, 2006, 10:55 pm

ckeck mr. fixables. aka kirk. that fella seems to have springs for everything

StangSai

Postby StangSai » April 3rd, 2006, 12:45 am

Raziel wrote:

Modifying the shocks? really doesn't sound like a good idea

The only "good" way to lower a car is to replace the springs (or buy a coilover set), modifying shocks/cuttings springs not only f#%ks up the handling capabilities, but will also mean the shock/spring absorb less of the bumps/holes/etc, so your other suspension parts will get damaged more frequently.

I agree here! The best way is to REPLACE the stock pieces with adjustable coilovers or lowering springs that serve the purpose of lowering the vehicle for better performance and looks.

When I bought my first car, it had cut OEM springs which just caused the car to ride and handle poorly. I'm sure the absorbers were destroyed as a result too. I swapped out the springs and rear shocks/front struts for a set of Eibach Sportline springs and new absorbers all the way around. Instantly, I could've felt the difference! Cornering was stable and precise...no real body roll and sloppiness. The car felt solodex ready, and it looked great too. It did ride a bit harsh though...BUT...

Eibach's Sportline springs are supposedly the more dedicated line of lowering springs. Their Pro-Kit springs are less aggressive and more street friendly. They lower the car slightly supposedly without really affecting ride quality...the way my springs did. I'm sure Eibach makes Pro-Kit lowering springs for the Almera...check into it!

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 3rd, 2006, 6:46 pm

^well ive been lookin for drop springs all over on d net an cant seem to find any...

StangSai

Postby StangSai » April 3rd, 2006, 6:49 pm

idk how feasible this is for you but i found this:
http://www.europerformance.co.uk/pages/ ... category=1

at least we're sure they exist now!

plex

Postby plex » April 3rd, 2006, 7:44 pm

Aaron 2NR, i know somehow who did this on a honda accord, but i am not sure how the ride is..but to be on the safe side..get a set of lowering springs..i have seen quite a few lowered almeras and they do look good..it would be good to get some infor from them..but u cannot go wrong with lowering springs..this guy sells B&G springs (mr fixables)

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 3rd, 2006, 9:04 pm

i no b&g springs are good but i havent seen dem newhere...

most of the lowered almera's are done by tone...

plex

Postby plex » April 4th, 2006, 6:24 am

Aaron 2NR wrote:i no b&g springs are good but i havent seen dem newhere...

most of the lowered almera's are done by tone...

is there a green one of this forum? if he did his there..best bet is to ask him..cause this is your ride u talking about..

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 4th, 2006, 6:34 am

he usin air bags to lower it..i no the car ure talkin buot as well....

my mech. also told me he can lower it by installin drop srpings an shocks from another nissan car an modifyin the shock mount so that it wud line up.....thats the way he lowers most of his vehicles wen he cant get springs for it

Postby Dave » April 4th, 2006, 7:43 am

mr. fixables has for the almera/sunny(n16/b15) chassis

Postby Aaron 2NR » April 4th, 2006, 3:14 pm

nah jus pm him an he said no..but he waitin on a order to come in within the next few weeks..so ill wait it out an see...

Rx

Postby Rx » April 4th, 2006, 7:55 pm

Alright ..you all remember my B14 ?

well I had it lowered by TONE's using the same method AARON explained................ NO problems whatsover :!:

Full trunk of groceries.....family in car ............ rides just like stock......

BTW ....the front shock brackets would be height adjusted that's all ...

in the rear ....they would extend the bolting position ........ that's all .......The new owner of my B14 still has it running that way about 1 yr. since I sold it !!

StangSai

Postby StangSai » April 4th, 2006, 8:35 pm

^^^ hmm...how much lower was the car dropped? ...like in inches? if it wasn't a drastic amount, then i guess that is an ok cheap way out.

...but that sounds just cosmetic. i doubt that method upgraded the car's cornering ability...right?

Rx

Postby Rx » April 5th, 2006, 5:50 pm

it was dropped 1.5 inches

..... with a lower center of gravity , cornering capabilites was somewhat enhanced

most tuners would prefer lowering springs , but as you said , I was the cheaper way out :oops:

plex

Postby plex » April 5th, 2006, 7:14 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:he usin air bags to lower it..i no the car ure talkin buot as well....

my mech. also told me he can lower it by installin drop srpings an shocks from another nissan car an modifyin the shock mount so that it wud line up.....thats the way he lowers most of his vehicles wen he cant get springs for it

airbag..that sounding like some good bread for that..

rigman00

Postby rigman00 » April 12th, 2006, 1:20 pm

I know the guy that does the dropping of vehicles in Gasparillo...He is way better than tone they tried to follow what he does...My B14 has 18's and im gettin the fender rim effect and it rides better thatn when i was original height on 14's tone is the wrong way to go cause alot of people who go by them has to go by the other guy after.....650-2694 u can call him

aidan

Postby aidan » April 12th, 2006, 9:48 pm

dont they also have universal lowering springs?

dbesson

Postby dbesson » May 5th, 2006, 3:11 pm

bro take my advise... save you hard earned money and do it right the first time, do all the research, untill your confident that your making the right decission. i won't advice you to go and cut your springs, the same $2400 you would spend on getting your springs cut, could go into a savings for a good set of coil overs, i got the tein basics for my B14 for TT$4600, and there are cheaper now. I have no problems with the ride and my car corners like an animal, limited amounts of body roll, it's a lil bumby but thats expected with coil overs to be honest i expected it to be worst. I dropped my car about 1.25 inchs. i know most people think coil overs bumpy!!!.... one thing to remember, suspension is a personal choose, if your looking to get more cornering performance out of your car coil over are the way to go, but if your looking for the ricer drop low look, then i'd say get some cheap lowering springs, but what ever u do don't cut your springs, it just not worth it in the end.

thats my $1.50

DarkClouD

Postby DarkClouD » May 5th, 2006, 3:52 pm

dbesson wrote:bro take my advise... save you hard earned money and do it right the first time, do all the research, untill your confident that your making the right decission. i won't advice you to go and cut your springs, the same $2400 you would spend on getting your springs cut, could go into a savings for a good set of coil overs, i got the tein basics for my B14 for TT$4600, and there are cheaper now. I have no problems with the ride and my car corners like an animal, limited amounts of body roll, it's a lil bumby but thats expected with coil overs to be honest i expected it to be worst. I dropped my car about 1.25 inchs. i know most people think coil overs bumpy!!!.... one thing to remember, suspension is a personal choose, if your looking to get more cornering performance out of your car coil over are the way to go, but if your looking for the ricer drop low look, then i'd say get some cheap lowering springs, but what ever u do don't cut your springs, it just not worth it in the end.

thats my $1.50

I totally agree with everything dbesson said. Make sure and do your research and know what you really want. Trust me you don't want to go the cheap way cause sometimes that leads to more expense in the long run. Outlaw and I can vouch for this. right Mr. Outlaw? :lol:

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » May 5th, 2006, 6:48 pm

well i'll say coilovers cuz u could never regret it. but if u cant find it, lowering springs is the way. u say u cyah find springs. well i find about 4 companies making for the cefiro, and that is ah big luxary car, so it must have for the almera. just do sum research. :wink:

Postby Aaron 2NR » May 5th, 2006, 6:59 pm

i no i got dem already..jus waitin on the shipment to reach...

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » May 5th, 2006, 7:06 pm

cool cool, you say you have new shocks right.
well most ah the ppl i see online with cefiro's like mine, when they buy lowering springs, they does put ajustable dampering shocks, or sumthing like that. i doh noe why. but anybody know wah the purpose of it is?

aCrOpHoBiA

Postby aCrOpHoBiA » May 5th, 2006, 9:46 pm

those sleeve type coilovers dat outlaw customs sellin, how those duz ride. i tinkin bout gettin a set 4 a civic. how dey duz ride, and how much duz it affect handling?

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » May 6th, 2006, 12:53 am

^ nice stiff cornering
not dont drop the car too low cuz you jus gonna b changing shocks every month

dbesson

Postby dbesson » May 6th, 2006, 7:26 pm

if your going with the lowering springs get a set of AGX KYB adjustable dampers "Shocks" and some bump stops. that will give you a good ride.

the stock shocks wont and can't suppport the bound and rebound of the lowering springs. then you'll find out what bottuming out really feels like. and this will put alot of stress on other parts of your suspension....bushings etc.