Rotary question

3line

Rotary question

Postby 3line » March 25th, 2006, 2:54 pm

Ok here is the situation..whenever i press on the gas and slow down there is a cloud of white smoke comin from the exaust..there is no smoke when i start on mornings or when i drive slowly...can anyone help with some info on this..thanks

R-XTREME

Postby R-XTREME » March 25th, 2006, 9:13 pm

What model Rx do you have?? 12A or 13B??

3line

Postby 3line » March 26th, 2006, 6:14 am

13B...3rd gen rx..

Postby Razkal » March 29th, 2006, 11:03 am

sounds like oil, i guess check all ur seals and change ur oil.

make sure is full 'organic' oil u using too (d real dinosaur sheit) cause synthetic oils burn n leave a reidue in the chamber that will fcuk up ur seals and cause white smoke...

$0.02

MelZah Tech

Postby MelZah Tech » March 29th, 2006, 4:01 pm

hey u kno where can i get 2front fenders for a Rx-2 REmodel?

Postby cinco » March 29th, 2006, 5:36 pm

check yuh turbo seals

3rdGen7

Postby 3rdGen7 » March 31st, 2006, 11:13 am

Razkal wrote:sounds like oil, i guess check all ur seals and change ur oil.

make sure is full 'organic' oil u using too (d real dinosaur sheit) cause synthetic oils burn n leave a reidue in the chamber that will fcuk up ur seals and cause white smoke...

$0.02

Ahh.. Don't listen to this adivce as if it were law.. :!: that's just some peoples opinion. :arrow: A lot of folks think that but synthetic oils these days far out perform the natural oils in thermal stability and rheological peoperties. :idea:

Many dinosaur oils cannot maintain their Pv/Yp and FV's with the heat a rotary puts out hence I use Synthetic. Dyno oils also shear-thin (Tixotropic [<s.p?] nature) a lot more than synthetic oils and they also thin with temp alot more than synthetics.

$1.00 Keep the $00.98 change ......

3rdGen7

Re: Rotary question

Postby 3rdGen7 » March 31st, 2006, 11:17 am

3line wrote:Ok here is the situation..whenever i press on the gas and slow down there is a cloud of white smoke comin from the exaust..there is no smoke when i start on mornings or when i drive slowly...can anyone help with some info on this..thanks

There are too many possibilities ..but you sound ok.. that's pretty common..

Do you have the factory Down Pipe installed ??
Are your Cats intact or did you remove/gut them ??
What year is the car and is the ECU original or aftermarket ??
Does it have an EGR Valve ??

Email me a number to call you .. let the doc take a look - 3rdGen7@gmail.com

Postby Razkal » April 1st, 2006, 7:30 pm

3rdGen7, true what u said.... just advised he go 'all natural' for now if he's new ith the engine type...any problems with u when using synthetics? no residue build up? what type seals u using man? hope u dont mind the barrage of questions, but it kinda hard to find ppl how knw their rotaries indepth nah...n not following ppl's word like testament..

3line

Postby 3line » April 1st, 2006, 8:20 pm

Ok folks the problem was the seals in the turbo..i may have to get it replaced or get a new one as the case may be. Its a series 5 turbo.On the issue of oil, i was told never to use synthetics so im not. Also i saw people adding some oil in the tank as well..can someone clarify on that please? thanks

ray2cool

rotary

Postby ray2cool » April 2nd, 2006, 6:22 am

that is why i will never buy a rotary

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » April 2nd, 2006, 9:52 am

^^All engines do it...

3rdGen7

Postby 3rdGen7 » April 9th, 2006, 5:20 pm

3line wrote:Ok folks the problem was the seals in the turbo..i may have to get it replaced or get a new one as the case may be. Its a series 5 turbo.On the issue of oil, i was told never to use synthetics so im not. Also i saw people adding some oil in the tank as well..can someone clarify on that please? thanks

sigh..

I emailed you some info ..check your email.

What seals on the turbo leaking ?? The FD3S Sequential Twins you're talking about ??? And is it the twins from a series 5 3rd Gen you've got ?? .. I'm not sure I understand you..

Ok.. the choice of oil is yours bud.. but I'd suggest that you get a 2nd opinion on your mechanic when 3/4 of the rotary world out there running Red Line Synthetic/Royal Purple/ Castrol Synthetic/Mobil 1 Synthetic/ etc. I think I may have been the first to be running Red Line Engine oil, Gear box oil and Rear end oil because I use to import it myself back in 99-2000 prior to it being available locally.

Some people add oil to their tank ( Me include) because the FD's come with a factory OMP (Oil Meetering Pump) that injects a little oil into the engine to lube..so it does burn a little oil .. the added oil can be for several reasons.. either they have an aftermarket turbo/ Ported NA/removed the OMP and/or need a little more oil because the OMP does not know that you've changed your turbos (more air/more power/more heat/more everything) and .. it's not a bad idea to run a little more oil in the when running higher than stock boost... I change my engine oil every 3000 kms.

I pre-mix a *special fuel additative and 2 stroke motor oil in my tank.. actually, I have it pre-mixed at home and just add it prior to fill up. I made a nifty Xls spreadsheet to do the volumetric calculations ..

3rdGen7

Postby 3rdGen7 » April 9th, 2006, 5:21 pm

Razkal wrote:3rdGen7, true what u said.... just advised he go 'all natural' for now if he's new ith the engine type...any problems with u when using synthetics? no residue build up? what type seals u using man? hope u dont mind the barrage of questions, but it kinda hard to find ppl how knw their rotaries indepth nah...n not following ppl's word like testament..

He can listen to whom ever he likes really.. it's up to him .. but I use Redline Synthetic in the enigne. No problems and I've opened my engine several times.. it's in purrrrrfect shape..

In the Box, it took away knotchyness after I upgraded my internals to a jdm aftermarket unit.

Sry.. seals are top secret .. not too cumfy giving out details on the net.. sry .. maybe at a tuner lime or sumthin......