Wat iz the best fuel injector cleaner?

Postby ray2cool » December 16th, 2005, 6:10 am

Wat iz the best fuel injector cleaner?

Postby Dave » December 16th, 2005, 8:18 am

the redline and amsoil works best
the wynns also works very well too and they are all safe for the import style tips on the injectors

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » December 16th, 2005, 11:09 am

the redline and amsoil works best

yup

Postby wagonrunner » December 16th, 2005, 11:17 am

what about good ole STP?

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 16th, 2005, 11:20 am

is there any special way to use these or do i just follow the instructions on the label ??? any secret method i dont know about ??

Postby Rainman » December 16th, 2005, 11:56 am

hoss leh yuh mechanic pull down yuh injectors and service manually these products are more or less a temporary solution, BUT if you must go with a cleaner use the PRESTONE FUEL SYSTEM CLEANER.

venum

Postby venum » December 16th, 2005, 12:54 pm

rainman_2563b wrote:hoss leh yuh mechanic pull down yuh injectors and service manually these products are more or less a temporary solution,

I second that

I don't use any of those things

never did

I get mine removed and cleaned in special equipment

Postby wagonrunner » December 16th, 2005, 1:17 pm

right but how often do you do that? and using these lenghtens those intervals by how much? 8)

Postby Dave » December 16th, 2005, 1:33 pm

injectors are not meant to be taken out and cleaned
once maintained they never need to be removed unless you have a malfunction with them
i have a 14yr old fu engine and all it ever got was injection treatment
when injectors are clogged, you use the chemical which circulates the gas in a loop and the injectors feeds from the chemical and car shuts off when chemical is finished.
redline and amsoil has the bottle marked for so many uses. usually the first treatment is the entire contents and maintainence which apparently some of you don't adhere to is like every other fill or so.

have you ever seen a machine sold to clean injectors when removed? i certainly never, only what some mechaincs rig up

Postby wagonrunner » December 16th, 2005, 2:01 pm

have you ever seen a machine sold to clean injectors when removed? i certainly never, only what some mechaincs rig up

but why you so? d small bucket containing "smelled like kero", and the power supply that causes the injector to cycle wasn't part of a package?

but seriously. dave is on the button as usual. what's the point of servicing injectors, when they're going to be reinserted in a dirty fuel system?

Postby Dave » December 16th, 2005, 2:09 pm

not saying that these rigged up things have no merit but think about it
rail feeds injectors and shouldn't that be taken out and cleaned as well, i sorry, injectors can easily be damaged and care should be exercised when handling them and them some o ring seals are hard to get new.
the filter and screen are easier to clean and service and change than to interfere with injectors
i sorry, i cheap and want the best and most cost effective way to fix and maintain my car using new parts where necessary

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » December 16th, 2005, 3:15 pm

dave on the money dey , i never pulled down my injectors to clean them and 140 000 km later they still wucking but ah redline full bottle to ah gas tank first time i bought it ( thanks eah dave that group buy was good ) and after follow the instruction and add a few ounces on every other fill up or so and i was orn like boi corn

venum

Postby venum » December 16th, 2005, 5:10 pm

I hear everything taht allyuh saying

but I still hold to the procedure of removing the injectors and cleaning

seen it done plenty of tthe time

always clean the lancer injectors this way

and will continue to do so

as for the o-rings - some cars are harder to get than others, I agree

as for the rest of the fuel line needing a cleaning - not a bad idea, but the finer than pin hole injector nozzle would be your concern, not the larger diameter fuel rail

u tellin me that injectors are never to come down to clean - ever - I disagree

what i do, when the lancer calling for a tune-up, i.e feeling underpowered I take it in for an injector cleaning

has the same effect as using those additives, prob even better

never had any prob either

cheese pie

Postby cheese pie » December 16th, 2005, 6:03 pm

u tellin me that injectors are never to come down to clean

now if you bought ah car and the fuel filter was real dutty and the fuel was just bypassing the filter , yes that can happen when they really stink i would say that you have to get the crud out by pulling them out and cleaning them but if they working and u change ur fuel filter often ( i used to change mine every 6 months just 40 dollars and 20 mins of sweat :) ) and u use ah treatmetn i dont think you would have a problem

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » December 16th, 2005, 6:23 pm

does anyone have any hard evidence that those fuel injector cleaners make any difference at all?

venum

Postby venum » December 16th, 2005, 6:34 pm

I can see what you're saying cheesepie

I change my fuel filter as needed

average once every year

Silvermike wrote:does anyone have any hard evidence that those fuel injector cleaners make any difference at all?

I would also like to know this

what exactly makes these so great?

how do they actually clean out the injectors from build up?

plex

Postby plex » December 17th, 2005, 7:17 am

wagonrunner wrote:what about good ole STP?

i have been using this in my car.no problems so far with it.

ProjectAlteredBeast

Postby ProjectAlteredBeast » December 17th, 2005, 7:21 am

Redline or STP

Postby Dave » December 17th, 2005, 9:35 am

seeing something done many times doesn't make it good?
kidnapping done many times, so thats good?
injectors should only be taken down when there is a problem but you guys do what allyuh want, to each his own

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » December 19th, 2005, 8:06 am

^^ haveta go with dave on this one. Put redline system treatment from early on in my cars life and not one problem. I think its more preventative maintanence than noticing changes. Like Dave and cheesepie, I'm going on how we dont have any injector problems while CONSISTENTLY using redline.

mrlantra

Postby mrlantra » December 19th, 2005, 9:52 am

The best way is to pull out your injectors and spray the yellow carb cleaner and then the blue or purple carb cleaner thru it. Most injector cleaners are similar and use either an alcohol or other base that dissolves tar and carbon easily. They all work to some extent but a small amount dissolved in the gas will not clean as well as directly applied with pressure right to the injector. Also you get to check your injector flow at the same time, check the o rings etc. Needs only to be done once every 2-3 years or so to.

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » December 19th, 2005, 12:01 pm

yeah who say u not supposed to remove injectors and clean them?
and i have seen something to 'pulse' injectors like they are really hooked up to the car, so you see the before and after results.

static

Postby static » December 19th, 2005, 3:11 pm

The GUNK injector cleaner that price smart sells works better than STP anyday, i have not used REDLINE though.

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » December 19th, 2005, 3:23 pm

i hear dem tings does fork up your fuel tank + coating

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 19th, 2005, 8:13 pm

I have to agree with Dave, for the plain reason that my fuel rail is so inaccessable.........the amt of crap that has to be taken off just to get access to the rail/injectors..........apparently mitsu didn't want ppl interfering with them.

venum

Postby venum » December 19th, 2005, 10:09 pm

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:I have to agree with Dave, for the plain reason that my fuel rail is so inaccessable.........the amt of crap that has to be taken off just to get access to the rail/injectors..........apparently mitsu didn't want ppl interfering with them.

dude who does do that for you?

I see Robert remove those injectors and replace them like iz a Lancer.

yuh have tio go by the right ppl to service those Galant injectors

Postby Dave » December 20th, 2005, 8:06 am

galant injectors are special :?

plex

Postby plex » December 20th, 2005, 7:30 pm

how often should u use these injector cleaners?

Postby SR » December 21st, 2005, 10:34 pm

injectors can be cleaned outside
using a ultrasonic injector cleaner
i belive laughlin and degannes has/had one years ago and was use primarily for diesel injectors for trucks

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » December 25th, 2005, 7:34 pm

transmission fluid under pressure works well...My mech. uses it all the time