3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 1st, 2005, 5:11 pm

LOL well it's a start :lol:

Postby Dave » December 1st, 2005, 5:17 pm

btw, u sure u get the correct height shocks
thye have 2 heights for b14 made by massey :shock:
my oe ones were the tall ones and the next nissans were shorter and the kybs are the same as the shorter ones

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 1st, 2005, 9:45 pm

Well they were Cb lancer shocks...that's what was written on all the boxes. But at the same time that would mean the rear shocks would be taller as well and they lowered nicely with the springs. Just find it weird...

RYO3149

Postby RYO3149 » December 2nd, 2005, 1:04 pm

fellas, ah have a question....if u shocks bad, u car does drop lil bit???

Yeah it does.. it will drop a little ..

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 3rd, 2005, 9:07 pm

Just givin an update.....1st week...still high. No fall by any degree.

RYO3149

Postby RYO3149 » December 3rd, 2005, 10:25 pm

Just givin an update.....1st week...still high. No fall by any degree.

Mishi
Yuh sure thas a 1.8" drop? I installed 1.5" my car and yuh wouldnt see much difference on the front especially eh and might even say it progressive but nah wouldnt drop.
I replaced it with 1.75" drop on the OEM shocks and it went back down one time, meaning yuh would see a difference with that 1.8" u have.
Verify the drop of the springs just to make sure bro and the shocks yuh using too?????

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 3rd, 2005, 11:11 pm

well I using excel G struts from KYB. Now when I had on the oem springs on dead shocks i had about 1.5" clearance. now I installed these springs (mind you it's a CK lancer spring) and the back lowered to 0.5 inches and the front RAISED by 2- 2.5 inches!!! I mean DAMN!!! that's ridiculous. But I was researching that the 4G and 5G lancers (CB and CK respectively) have interchangable suspension, however as the Cb is lighter, you will not see the drop with a Ck spring. STEUPS!!!!

looks like I may have to cut them after all. One coil.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » December 7th, 2005, 8:37 pm

dave is correct the reason the front so high is because there are for a car with a larger / heavier engine (in d states nah) an d drop zone springs ARE NOT PROGRESSIVE the coils dont get closer together

and if the shock or the spring bad (stock yes sameerali78 they will lower the car)

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 8th, 2005, 12:50 am

well... I had 2 cut them...to get them to the height. you can see it on the cardomain link below

Jian

Postby Jian » December 8th, 2005, 8:18 pm

MISHI, Pics look great. I'll post mine as soon as its done painting over. Front still looks a bit high though, I can imagine how bad off this was BEFORE you "adjusted" the springs.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 8th, 2005, 11:11 pm

ooohh yeah....the front was 2wice that or a lil more...

Jian

Postby Jian » December 9th, 2005, 1:00 am

NOW you could take d car for an alignment...

Even if you did it before, you will hafta do it again now dat d ride lower....

ziig

Postby ziig » December 10th, 2005, 8:11 am

Most times the problem is not in the springs at all........Your car uses McPherson front Struts rigth? Ok they may be a bit longer than your rear shocks, thus more shock shaft travel, more oil/gas to compress therefore logically it will sit higher than rear. Most times the best way to solve this will be to use coil over spring cups which can be fine tuned, or to machine front shock shafts to the required lenghts or to lower spring cup on the actual shock. :wink:
I hope one of these things will help your simple problem

sweetman

Postby sweetman » December 10th, 2005, 3:34 pm

car look boss dan

Jian

Postby Jian » December 10th, 2005, 9:43 pm

ziig wrote:machine front shock shafts to the required lenghts or to lower spring cup on the actual shock

I personally would NOT want to be driving a car with rewelded spring cups on shocks. Also, there would now be less space to run bigger combination rims and tires with a lowered cup.

ziig

Postby ziig » December 11th, 2005, 5:48 am

Jian wrote:
ziig wrote:machine front shock shafts to the required lenghts or to lower spring cup on the actual shock

I personally would NOT want to be driving a car with rewelded spring cups on shocks. Also, there would now be less space to run bigger combination rims and tires with a lowered cup.

its been done world wide for years, how do you think coil overs were designed, it was from the idea of loweering the seat of the spring, but if your concern is tires then dont lower

eaw_375

Postby eaw_375 » December 12th, 2005, 12:16 am

after this experience what do u guys think is the best way to drop my ck2 lancer approx. 1.5-2inches ???

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 12th, 2005, 8:43 am

Get lowering springs. Someone actually has some for sale in the Auto parts forum. Also Use gas shocks with it and not your oil shocks. They cannot stand up to the pressure of the lower ride.

ProjectAlteredBeast

Postby ProjectAlteredBeast » December 17th, 2005, 8:23 am

glad u got it solved dude