Extractor Question

DJ Kaotic

Extractor Question

Postby DJ Kaotic » November 20th, 2005, 11:58 pm

What are the pro's and con's of having Extractors made for a stock engine ? does it really prove an increase and what types should someone look at when upgrading their extrators ??

Postby Dave » November 21st, 2005, 7:56 am

on a totally stock engine, minimal increase, u will quicker see an increase in gas mileage
it basically frees up the exhaust side of combustion making the engine breath easier

making on a newer engine, u may not even see an increase cause they are not made totally equal and they use crush bends
best way is to buy and the pacesetter brand is the best of the cheapest u can get

DJ Kaotic

Postby DJ Kaotic » November 21st, 2005, 7:40 pm

so headers increase your hp ?

do u think its a good buy ?

villain

Postby villain » November 21st, 2005, 8:22 pm

what price and where u gettin this "pacesetter brand"

Postby wagonrunner » November 21st, 2005, 8:33 pm

sherrif's.

not sure of price.
also pacesetter does seem to have mixed reviews.

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » November 21st, 2005, 8:41 pm

Works better if done along with intake upgrade, and headwork.

You may see a slight increase in performance on stock engine. However, depending on the design, you may actully loose some lower end power.

Also, be carefull if you intend to buy local, although I am sure there is alot of good work down here, it may be risky if the design is wrong.

RYO3149

Postby RYO3149 » November 21st, 2005, 9:37 pm

What type of Engine are you planning to install the extractors on? If you plan to install try to get the OEM.It is specifically designed for that engine.
I installed the OEM extractors on a sr20 DE and actually gotten a slight increase in bottom end power.
Avoid someone fabricating this for you, also material and bends are critical and where possible ensure that you get the Y connections just to minimise the amount of welding and fabrication.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » November 21st, 2005, 11:04 pm

Your stock manifold is already designed to properly extract exhaust from your engine. Won't make much on an OEM engine....Best bet for an increase in power is to do an exhaust upgrade......

Postby Hook » November 21st, 2005, 11:18 pm

he's right...no sense in even considering headers unless u factoring in upsized exhaust piping and free flow barrel as well...

and even then, the only real difference is in the noise u make...as well as getting those gases out of ur engine faster u hafta see about getting fuel and air back in just as fast so an intake upgrade goes hand-in-hand with ur exhaust upgrade

take ur time and decide how u gonna go about doing this, look at ur options in fabricating or buying an upgraded setup and read up and get as much advice as u could before u reach for ur wallet so that any money spent makes a reasonable difference :idea:

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » November 22nd, 2005, 12:37 am

i wouldn't go exhaust first. Search through the tech forum for this previous discussion. Too big an exhaust going to kill your low-end torque in an N/A engine. I wouldn't consider going exhaust first unless is turboed. I think intake(proper placement or routing of pipes to avoid sucking in hot air from engine bay inside of more cooler and denser air is critical) and headers (equal length runners so that gases are extracted more efficiently) would make more of an impact than just exhaust.

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » November 22nd, 2005, 1:31 am

the important thing is what motor is it your car is running and what is the application , street , track only , or a mixture of street and track?
drag or solodex?
what size motor , carb or injected ? automatic or box ? :shock: :D :D :D
do you want a manifold that will increase your low end torque or one that will give you hi rpm flow ? you must first know what you want your car to do.

sweetman

Postby sweetman » November 22nd, 2005, 7:13 am

well when doing headers you need to ask yourself if you want power output for the mid-to-high range (4-1 headers) or good top end gains (4:2:1 headers)

my advice , do your CAI, Headers, Exhaust, Free flow muffler & some aftermarket plugs and wires and your looking at 20 hp gians..
i would never do that without boosting one time cause its costly and you don't see much hp gains, its better you save for a turbocharged engine IMO.

BTW what size engine you got?
Last edited by sweetman on November 22nd, 2005, 7:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.

DJ Kaotic

Postby DJ Kaotic » November 22nd, 2005, 4:35 pm

Ok the specs on the car Its a 1.3 SOHC Hyundai Engine Fuel Injected

I got a CAI on it already also the freeflow barrel, i understand where Flatline is coming from and i am currently in the process of doing over the CAI to run for more cooler air.

I just want to incerese the power band on the Lower RPM's cause it staying Auto for a while

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » November 22nd, 2005, 6:07 pm

Yep what flatline said is true, but in the headers you have to have a proper tuned setup, rather than any and every making it.

but generally, the rule of thumb is for slight mods, 2 1/4 will give beter performance. More than that applies to either forced induction or larger cc engines. but kao, 2" should suit you just fine. you shouldn't suffer much with the torque issues....

Polydor

Postby Polydor » November 22nd, 2005, 7:28 pm

I'd suggest doing nothing. :idea: ...save you're money and do it right the first time. :!:

These engines are ecomomy engines......advances will only make you burn MORE fuel and make more noise. :!:

It's cheaper and easier to go with a higher CC engine and start from there.....your mods will stand up to more abuse and if you build it right the engine will last alot longer.

There are numerous SR swaps in these cars presently running hard and strong/reliable for many years....in Trinidad....6 in Tobago I can account for.

My buddy just placed a 4 throttle SR completly built and modded Elantra in Tobago...the works...it's painting presently......other than that go NA SR built and you will not be dissappointed.

Do not think SR 18 and 20 are the same ....they are not.
Go SR 20 and start from there.....

some head work......intake......exhaust......and whilst doing head work use sodium valves.....re-use DE intake cam with DET cam....thicker head gasket....some boost....say 7-9 psi on stock ECU....get a good pump or'll you'll crackle under boost.....you'll be very happy.

Remember this is an EXPENSIVE hobby.

Of course IMHO.

DJ Kaotic

Postby DJ Kaotic » November 22nd, 2005, 7:42 pm

Bravo Polydor always look forward to your input as well as other tnrs but i trying to keep the hyundai engine in the car .... not too much into swaping ....if i can get a 1.6 hyundai engine or even a tibron engine to buy i would start with that instead

plex

Postby plex » November 22nd, 2005, 8:44 pm

so far i only seeing cons to using extractors to a stock engine..so if u use an air intake ,extractors and exhaust would there be any hp gains?

villain

Postby villain » November 22nd, 2005, 9:04 pm

on a stock engine...minimum...i only got about 7hp increase over same engine that only had a cai.....from my experience..(did the whole setup...intake, exhaust,extractors etc on my ga15de) low end torque suffers...but from 60, 70km and up then my power begins to kick in and i can get to 180 in no time...at least that was when my engine was workin properly :mrgreen: ....u get a pleasently surprising acceleration higher up 120k and above...m sure on a better engine u would see where u spent the money for these mods...

plex

Postby plex » November 22nd, 2005, 9:21 pm

i guess it is acceleration is what u get..not really any hp gains..

DJ Kaotic

Postby DJ Kaotic » November 22nd, 2005, 9:30 pm

might as well go SR then

wha the starting price for SR20 FWD ?

Picasso

Postby Picasso » November 22nd, 2005, 9:56 pm

^^ I eh understand you yuh sell it to buy back JEEEEEZZZ :|

DJ Kaotic

Postby DJ Kaotic » November 22nd, 2005, 11:02 pm

^^^ nah man me ent buying no SR20 .... i really ent feeling to swap

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » November 22nd, 2005, 11:10 pm

Do your research before doing anything. The Hyundai 1.5 SOHC is a potent lil powerplant for it size. The 1.6 elantra engine is good too. but outside that, considering the size of the car, you don't want to install anything that will compromise handling, braking etc. Stick to what generally the manufacturers would have used for the particular bodystyle and you will be good to go. From what I saw, the 1.6 DOHC is the largest that hyundai have placed in an accent.

smokey1275

Postby smokey1275 » November 23rd, 2005, 9:44 am

not advisable that hyundai would'nt corner so well with all that weight up front

villain

Postby villain » November 24th, 2005, 12:56 am

smokey en u was supposed o find ou some info for me?

Big Z
Location: 734-7669 Amsoil, Chevron, Redline, Fuel Injector Cleaning

Postby Big Z » November 24th, 2005, 7:11 am