CD3 Accord

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

CD4Accord

Re: CD3 Accord

Postby CD4Accord » September 4th, 2021, 12:10 am

Before you change the whole distributor, take apart the distributor you have and see if you can clean up the connections on the igniter. I never actually had a whole F series distrubutor fail, it is usually that the ingiter connections need cleaning etc. Start with the free things before you move on to the next, you know?

Re brakes, can measure the rotor thickness with calipers and compare to specs.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » September 5th, 2021, 2:22 pm

Yea ill try that

Mechanic just sticking with it these days, if anything I'll go for it this week and finish it myself.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » October 10th, 2021, 4:00 pm

Checked it out yesterday
Idles but cuts off randomly when try to drive...

Has spark on all 4 cylinders, but it has a missfire feeling

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 12th, 2021, 12:09 pm

Strange one. You sure the timing (distributor and cam) is correct?

Zalos

Postby Zalos » October 15th, 2021, 10:00 am

Timing was off by like an inch
Adjusting the distributor still has it off the marks by like 1cm

Will check the belt later

Zalos

Postby Zalos » October 16th, 2021, 11:38 am

Belt marks look good, although the TDC mark on the pulley broken. Used a screwdriver to get TDC in the cylinder.
Not sure why the timing a little off still...

Going to check the EGR later.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » October 16th, 2021, 7:33 pm

EGR wasnt clog

Wondering if its the fuel pump cutting in/out

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » October 29th, 2021, 3:44 pm

Pump in and out should be easy to test with a multimeter and a bredrin.
Can also check by putting on some clear hose on the fuel line to see if the flow is constant while engine running, or if you have bubbles/change in flow

Zalos

Postby Zalos » October 30th, 2021, 10:21 am

Yea I drained the tank this week, gas was orange. Was trying to take off the filter too, but that bottom fitting on tight...
Was playing up with spark timing too, but nothing yet.

Would look to checking that tank again this week. I saw a rubber hose in the back, maybe check flow from there?

Zalos

Postby Zalos » October 30th, 2021, 4:38 pm

Checked the flow from the line off the tank, was good. Like 1/2 water bottle in 5secs

Thinking its the filter now..

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 1st, 2021, 1:21 pm

Well the filter (in engine bay) is a quick easy change. The in-tank strainer isnt as easy but you already have the pump off, so why not?

Zalos

Postby Zalos » November 2nd, 2021, 8:43 am

Nah that filter in the bay hard - the way it positioned.
Cant get the 14mm on the bottom of it to loosen

CD4Accord

Postby CD4Accord » November 3rd, 2021, 2:40 pm

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_D0o7wcs-NA

not so bad. My mechanic used to do it without any specialised tools

Zalos

Postby Zalos » November 4th, 2021, 9:39 pm

Yeaaa, i dont have a 14mm crow foot