Is this legal? Need answer ASAP!!

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

Jinx2005Riceboy

Is this legal? Need answer ASAP!!

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » August 31st, 2005, 7:17 pm

On the 4th gen. Civics, is it legal in North Carolina, U.S. to take out the front bumper blinkers? I want to shave the lights, but I still want to be legal. I noticed they do flash w/the hazrds too? I need to know as I'm shaving my baby this weekend! :twisted:

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » August 31st, 2005, 9:42 pm

who cares?

:mrgreen:

NickJr.
Location: The Finish Line. So Elusive For Something That Never Moves

Postby NickJr. » August 31st, 2005, 10:46 pm

yuh might have to check yuh local tuners for that, or the trusty ole DMV

Jinx2005Riceboy

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » September 1st, 2005, 11:35 am

Well, what the DMV doesn't know doesn't hurt them right? Hehehe. Off with the blinkers!!! :twisted:

Postby X2 » September 2nd, 2005, 11:42 am

Jinx2005.... no where in the US is that legal. Messing with the car's indicator lights, brake lights, front or rear is not legal. But it really depends on your local law enforcement. For instance you'd get pulled over by the first block if you were in southern california... but in Wisconson... you might get away with it forever. :wink:

Honestly... that is a BIG deal... I'd think twice about it... cuz honestly you'd become a hazard on the road if you're taking out the lights I think you are. If you wanna try to fake out the laws... you could custom install small flashers into your headlight housing since you have the big light model... wire them to flash with your indicators.

Jinx2005Riceboy

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » September 2nd, 2005, 9:06 pm

Yeah, you're right. I think I'm going do do a custom front blinker setup. Don't want to be harassed by the man.Thanks for the info.

Postby X2 » September 3rd, 2005, 4:18 am

Just a note.... ahole cops may still be able to ticket you if it's not stock... but f**k it.... you're a Trini... do it make yuh feel like jumpin' up.

Jinx2005Riceboy

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » September 20th, 2005, 9:54 am

Well I have designed a 4-foglight setup and I'm going to keep the stock blinkers. My ride can be seen here: http://www.cardomain.com/ride/836948
The custom front is on the last page. Lemme know how "the man" might like it.

Postby X2 » September 20th, 2005, 11:10 am

I'm not into the 'show' aspect... *ahem*... rice.... but your car is looking pretty good. I like the 4 fog install... original.... but you need to drop that thing about 2" and drop in a turbo or something... :mrgreen:

Jinx2005Riceboy

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » September 20th, 2005, 4:37 pm

Well, I live on a REALLY steep hill and it's a beyotch to get up, so that is why I have raised it about 2 inches from what it was.Trust me, if I could have it all the way down, I would. The engine will come in due time. I just got a good deal on it, until something else comes along. I am going to stay with the SOHC setup, however. I don't consider myself "rice". This is my second Civic and I have learned everything myself or through people like you who have helped me along the way. I do want a beautiful car first, then I will build my engine. It's only been a year.LoL.

b1pig

Postby b1pig » September 21st, 2005, 7:52 am

Jinx, As the placement goes, it eppears ok. So long as you keep the marker lamps by the headlights operating to cover the side view...

SAE Standard J-578 has the requirements for motor vehicle lighting. Most state laws reflect that directly... GA does. The requirements generally covers the color and brightness of the lighting for each lamp. Basically, what you see rolling off the assembly line is what is required. You can add clear corners, but you are required to use amber bulbs, or bulbs that emit an amber light. You can run clear taillights, but there must be red reflectors and the lights must emit a red (not pink) light.

Good to see that you are trying to stay within the limits of the laws... some ;)

Jinx2005Riceboy

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » September 21st, 2005, 11:15 am

I am actually going to add side marker lights on the fenders as well,so I'll be visible on the sides more. On the same note, I am thinking of moving the 3rd brake light, hatch light, to the bottom of the bumper, almost even with the mufflers. I notice Mini Coopers have this, and some european Hondas I have seen, though a little higher up on the bumper, kind of like a red fog/brake light for the lower valence on the rear bumper.Hope I described it well. I DO want to stay legal. Thanks for the help b1 8)

Postby X2 » September 21st, 2005, 11:44 am

Ok... before you even think about it again....that brake light mod is MAADDD illegal....

Jinx2005Riceboy

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » September 22nd, 2005, 10:26 am

Okay, I'm not going to mess with the rear light. The front bumper will be nice, though. Thanx for keeping me legal, guys. Is there a book or something online where I can look for such laws? Thanks again.

Return to “HONDA”