d15b

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

stephanweaver

d15b

Postby stephanweaver » August 29th, 2005, 10:53 am

i have a honda civic 95' eg8 model [local]
i wanted to know if the engine db15 [carb model] is vtech or non-vtech.
all it sais on the head is HONDA.
on the block has a stamp D15B.

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » August 29th, 2005, 10:56 am

non vtec SU carb

Jinx2005Riceboy

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » August 31st, 2005, 7:25 pm

Yep.All D15s had no Vtech.Carb,fuel,injected,US or JDM.No Vtech.How I miss Vtech :cry:

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » August 31st, 2005, 9:58 pm

whoops... D15B's are sometimes vtec.. like the 3-stage vtecs in the 96-00 VI and VTI and the single stage in the 92-95 VTI and the more recent VI-RS

Postby SMc » September 1st, 2005, 8:02 am

^^^^yep like crix

dragaholic

Postby dragaholic » September 1st, 2005, 11:14 pm

A lot of d15bs come vtec.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 2nd, 2005, 9:19 am

I understand that this engine is boost friendly :twisted:

Jinx2005Riceboy

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » September 2nd, 2005, 9:49 am

Yeah,D15s are known for their HUGE piston rods :roll:

GT four

Postby GT four » September 2nd, 2005, 10:41 am

i woudlnt call it boost friendly, but it will take the boost better than a b16a.

a 10psi daily driver on stock internals is very possible, with a 12psi high boost. Do that to a b16 and ure in sh!t street... the b16 is safer @ 7psi , with maybe 10psi high boost.

Thats why a turbo 15 gives the turbo 16 a good run :wink:

kes_vtec

Postby kes_vtec » September 5th, 2005, 6:20 am

^^^ i like how this man talking...
i have have some HP number for u'll soon

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » September 9th, 2005, 12:11 am

yea kes, gt four was me, i was over by a partner and well i forgot he was logged in.

i want the hp numbers too... so hurry up!

Picasso

Postby Picasso » September 9th, 2005, 10:10 am

Meh boi has a turbo project going on with this same engine and the compression ratio on that engine is low enough to do boosting..... I believe there are alot of after market turbo kits for this engine that gives you everything from Fuel management to blow out valve at resonable prices.... take a look into this lil 1.5 power house its dam sweet WWWWWWWWOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOTSSSSSSSSss :twisted:

Jinx2005Riceboy

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » September 22nd, 2005, 10:30 am

I always thought the rods were way too splindly to handle any boost. So basically it is possible to safely boost a 1.5? I want to stay SOHC if possible and :twisted: smoke some DOHC's!

stephanweaver

Postby stephanweaver » September 22nd, 2005, 3:02 pm

afaik, the d series motors can take more boost stock than the b series engines stock.

read what gt4 said

Postby crazybalhead » September 22nd, 2005, 4:38 pm

Jinx2005Riceboy wrote:I always thought the rods were way too splindly to handle any boost. So basically it is possible to safely boost a 1.5? I want to stay SOHC if possible and :twisted: smoke some DOHC's!

Sigh.....

Don't waste your time. Mr. fixables car was doing 15.6 with boost (safe boost) and my B16 was doing that with no boost. Do the maths. Autonation puts down 13's in the single cam BUT they are using a single cam because it is easy to get parts when the engine is dead.

So which route yuh want to go now??????

Jinx2005Riceboy

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » September 22nd, 2005, 7:21 pm

SOHC, I love challenges :twisted: But I gotta say, love the B's!!!

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » September 22nd, 2005, 9:59 pm

yea yea... the bees got a high CR. Surprisingly a turbo 15 @ 10psi has more torque... about 160WTQ than a turbo b @ 7psi... which has about 145WTQ.

The 16 has more power as it has more revs, but the 15 will kick u back in the seat more.

Jinx2005Riceboy

Postby Jinx2005Riceboy » September 23rd, 2005, 11:53 am

In this corner, in the red valve cover, the turbo B! And in this corner, in the black valve cover, turbo D! To each their own, I guess. Long as it's got a Honda engine under the hood. I got 201,000 miles :!:

Cid

Postby Cid » September 29th, 2005, 8:55 am

i have a d15b in my 1999 vi-rs its a 3 stage vtech

check this article
http://asia.vtec.net/article/d15b/

heres a little bit of it..........

The 3-stage VTEC D15B represents the pinnacle of development on the D15B engine. From the same configuration as the previous generation VTEC D15B; 1493cc SOHC PGM-Fi but now with the 3-stage VTEC system; it generates the same 130ps at a higher 7000rpm with a max torque of 14.2kgm at 5300rpm. The amazing thing is that now it also offers an incredible 30km/l mileage ! In the flesh, the 3-stage VTEC D15B is a sleeper. The valve cover does not have any 'VTEC' wording and only the sharp eyed will recognize the engine as VTEC by noting the VTEC switches (yes, two of them) located on top of the intake runners and the high 7200rpm red-line of the tach. The 3-stage VTEC engine runs in 12-valve mode up to around 3000rpm. In this range, running in ideal conditions will activate the 'lean-burn' mode, where air-fuel ratios as high as 20:1 can be used to take advantage of the intake swirl induced by the 12-valve operation. This lean-burn mode is what makes the 30km/l mileage (for constant 60kmh speed) possible. A green 'ECONO' LED lights up on the dash when lean-burn mode is engaged.

Return to “HONDA”