DIY :B16A IACV Cleaning and Vacuum Leak Fix

Posted: February 13th, 2014, 9:10 am
by Vtec Vigilante
Yesterday I installed a new ac fan in my civic. While the ac was on I heard a "hissing sound" coming from around the throttle body area. This is called a vacuum leak. Its known for giving individuals poor gas mileage and terrible idle problems so I decided to show you how it fixed the vacuum leak.

Note that you can use regular carb. cleaner to search for vacuum leaks while the car is running COLD. Do not do this on a hot engine otherwise you run the chance of burning yuh car down.

Tools needed :

12mm spanner or ratchet and socket
Gasket maker (Mega Grey).
Gasket paper. (this can be bought at the parts store)
'Exacto Blade'.(Sells for $15 at books stores)
Scissors
Chalk or water colours.(needed to make a template to go on gasket paper)
Cue tips. Yes alyuh reading right.
Carburetor cleaner. Any one will do. Gum Solve, CRC, Amsoil power foam, etc.
Bird-beak pliers
Screw drivers. Need to slacken the clamps on the hoses.
About an hour

Here we go !!!!

Re: DIY : IACV vacuum leak fix and cleaning

Posted: February 13th, 2014, 9:12 am
by Vtec Vigilante
fixed :oops:

Posted: February 13th, 2014, 10:49 am
by enigma
IACV on the back of the manifold applies to certain models.

Posted: February 13th, 2014, 11:24 am
by Vtec Vigilante
my bad...my engine is a B16A

Posted: February 14th, 2014, 11:45 am
by enigma
enigma wrote:IACV on the back of the manifold applies to certain models.

My mistake. Not a matter of models but years. When it was manufactured. I don't remember the exact dates but I will post it as soon as I find it.