Spun bearing? or worse?
Posted: March 30th, 2013, 5:14 pm
by Spectre
Couldn't really explain it so here is a vid click on the link below.... your expertise please... thanks
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HqKvN3vkNj4
Re: Spun bearing? or worse?
Posted: March 30th, 2013, 5:39 pm
by Spectre
Apparently i made the video private....my bad.....i changed the settings should be able to see it now
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HqKvN3vkNj4
Posted: March 30th, 2013, 6:08 pm
by red_dragon
ok
in vid u said u replace oil and lifters ?
why u replace lifters?
sound more like rockers in a mess or LMA
Posted: March 30th, 2013, 6:21 pm
by Spectre
First off thanks for taking the time out to reply ........
yea i was getting an annoying "rattle", the diagnosis was to replace the lifters.... which i did, no more annoying rattle which was cool. After some spirited driving down the highway when im about 2k -3k rpm this sound is heard. What you suggest i do? new engine or this problem is manageable?
Posted: March 30th, 2013, 7:00 pm
by red_dragon
if spun bearing replace block / engine.. doh wste time to rebuild
to determine bearing
rev and release fast will sound like tin pan rattle
Posted: March 30th, 2013, 9:47 pm
by Spectre
Thanks man..... but what do you think it is?
Posted: March 30th, 2013, 10:18 pm
by red_dragon
jus from Vid hard to tell
but if they did not adjust the tappets that could be a simple fix
Posted: April 4th, 2013, 9:35 am
by JDM_GUY
check the tappets first. if it is ok then you should looking into bearing. Do as red_dragon said, just replace with a FU head and block or check kevin he has a engine for sale.
Posted: April 4th, 2013, 6:32 pm
by red_dragon
any update ?
Posted: April 5th, 2013, 12:38 am
by Spectre
Hey man thanks for your help..... i have unfortunately spun a bearing ...... so plans are in place for a frank.... thanks for your time & effort tho'.....