Speed Limiter on 97 EK4 SiR?!!!

Fit, Civic, Integra, CR-V, Accord, Legend - Do NOT post FS or WTB here!!!

pilot1950

Speed Limiter on 97 EK4 SiR?!!!

Postby pilot1950 » July 18th, 2012, 11:25 am

I have had a local 97 EK4 SiR for the past 2 years. When I bought it the D4 Transmission light was constantly blinking. I was assured by previous owner that it was just a sensor problem. After purchase I carried it to mechanic and was informed that the car has an M24A Transmission (for EG9 B16A) instead of the proper S4XA model.

I located a used S4XA in good working condition an had it installed. D4 light stopped blinking and everything is in proper working order with all gears changing smoothly except for one detail.......not for hell will it cross 160 km/h at 4500 rpm in D4!!!

I swapped ECU and TCM from another EK4 SiR and on that test run same problem occurred. I disconnected Speed Sensor (which disabled the speedometer) and achieved 5000rpm which upon crossing that the needle promptly dropped back to 4500 rpm and stayed there. I changed the other two sensors located at the back of Transmission and still the same problem.

In D3 I attained 190km/h and hit the rev limiter just a bit after 8000rpm, changed to 4th gear upon which the car lost power and coasted back down to 160 km/h at 4500rpm (with my ex hitting the floor).

The car is stock with only mods being the use of a K&N Filter in the OEM Cold Air Intake Housing, external coil, aluminum radiator (manual), external transmission fluid cooling assembly and the car runs on 17s with 205/45 tyres. Check Light and D4 light comes on for approx 2 seconds when ignition turned on then goes off. D4 light stays on constantly when in gear. ABS light stays on constantly (I guess that indicates another problem).

I'M STUMPED!!! Suggest problem and advise remedy please.

Re: Speed Limiter on 97 EK4 SiR?!!!

Postby S_2NR » July 18th, 2012, 10:55 pm

local civics dont have speed cut, so ur problem is elsewhere.

Postby r3iXmann » July 19th, 2012, 12:03 am

pilot1950 wrote:the car runs on 17s with 205/45 tyres.

that could be a contributing factor there too

pilot1950

Postby pilot1950 » July 19th, 2012, 5:28 am

Thanx guys. The process of elimination has begun.

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » July 19th, 2012, 9:29 am

i guessing this is denzel.

I'm guessing your familiar with this.
viewtopic.php?f=18&t=384345

havent made any head way on mine yet. but on 15" rims made a diff in terms of accel and speed.

pilot1950

Postby pilot1950 » July 19th, 2012, 9:45 am

Installing HKS Speed Limit Defencer next week. Will update after that.

Zim

Postby Zim » July 19th, 2012, 5:21 pm

I'd lose the 17s, Pilot1950

fumz

Postby fumz » July 22nd, 2012, 9:13 pm

pheww! for a while i thought my car was the only 1! i've had this same issue since i've had her!

205/40/17's - 160km/h in D4
205/45/16's - 160km/h in D4
205/50/15's - 170km/h in D4 :D

in D3, she'd run down anything but i'd eventually shift to D4 (temp needle rising) and watch them roll on by... chased an S2000 recently, not too bright of an idea *covers face*

thx for the piece of mind ppl

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » July 23rd, 2012, 8:55 am

fumz wrote:pheww! for a while i thought my car was the only 1! i've had this same issue since i've had her!

205/40/17's - 160km/h in D4
205/45/16's - 160km/h in D4
205/50/15's - 170km/h in D4 :D

in D3, she'd run down anything but i'd eventually shift to D4 (temp needle rising) and watch them roll on by... chased an S2000 recently, not too bright of an idea *covers face*

thx for the piece of mind ppl

The point is the car is not suppose to do that so its not a piece of mind. its an issue more than one person is having.

Postby S_2NR » July 23rd, 2012, 12:48 pm

Why allyu doh jus ditch the auto and get manual. Problem solved :lol:

adriano7910

Postby adriano7910 » July 24th, 2012, 9:38 am

S_2NR wrote:Why allyu doh jus ditch the auto and get manual. Problem solved :lol:

and if its a problem with one of the engine sensors / ecu what would that solve. you will just be manually forcing the engine above that speed.

correct way to mod is to fix ALL problems and then mod, not mask problem with mods.

red_dragon

Postby red_dragon » July 24th, 2012, 12:06 pm

OK

All this rant and rave ohh i supposed to pass 180 easy in D4.
It is possible but will take long.

This is the gear ratio I found.
D4 is a lonngggggggggggggggg gear AKA overdrive gear

GEAR for MP7A/MPRA/RO/S4XA/SKWA/SP7A
1 2.674
2 1.483
3 0.974
4 0.725
REVERSE 1.904

FINAL REDUCTION 4.428

This is a B16a Manual vs Auto gear ratios

As stated if the Auto info is wrong post the correct thing.

shady23

Postby shady23 » July 25th, 2012, 7:57 am

adriano7910 wrote:
S_2NR wrote:Why allyu doh jus ditch the auto and get manual. Problem solved :lol:

and if its a problem with one of the engine sensors / ecu what would that solve. you will just be manually forcing the engine above that speed.

correct way to mod is to fix ALL problems and then mod, not mask problem with mods.

If it were engine sensors it would throw a check light. Plus he did say he try another ecu and same problem. So that ruled out. Maybe that is just how auto is.

Postby S_2NR » July 25th, 2012, 10:06 am

shady23 wrote:
adriano7910 wrote:

If it were engine sensors it would throw a check light. Plus he did say he try another ecu and same problem. So that ruled out. Maybe that is just how auto is.

Ent.
The man ready to kill meh yes :skurry:

Return to “HONDA”