Lowering Issue
Posted: January 19th, 2012, 8:20 pm
by firelynx
i have 215/45/17 tyres on and goin to put on tein springs.
Will my tyres touch the fender when turning or otherwise?
Re: Lowering Issue
Posted: January 20th, 2012, 11:27 am
by adriano7910
lol......... why you no state type of car

Posted: January 21st, 2012, 11:53 am
by firelynx
hmm i dont know how i left that out...its a ES8 civic
Posted: January 25th, 2012, 10:49 pm
by ruffnek
once using the correct offset....
no will not touch....
Posted: February 8th, 2012, 10:53 am
by COROLLA KID
depends on how low the springs go, those tyres might touch the fender "might" cuz 215/45/17 tyres are pretty high profiles for 17" IMO, if you have to buy tyres again go with some 205/45/17 or 205/40/17
Posted: February 8th, 2012, 2:05 pm
by DjSpinkxxx
hey i have a set of coil overs for my ek3 civic.. i changed it from original springs and put the lowering springs.. but i left the same shocks.. noww.. the back of the car is really bouncing alot.. not reli the front.. whats the problem?
Posted: February 8th, 2012, 3:57 pm
by ruffnek
The stock shocks usually reaches straight up to the shock head and makes a 'banging sound' while bouncing
when lowered extremely....
Posted: February 13th, 2012, 10:33 pm
by TK!
steups.. ppl doh read before they buy/try... most likely a ricer
Posted: February 13th, 2012, 10:52 pm
by Monster 101
The stock shocks usually reaches straight up to the shock head and makes a 'banging sound' while bouncing
when lowered extremely....
in this case what do you do?
where could one get shocks that will not make the banging sound?
Posted: February 14th, 2012, 8:31 am
by COROLLA KID
you could buy an after market shock and spring set up, or a sleeve type coil over set up, or get some gas shocks and some springs "teins or some other drop springs" if you just doing it for looks, no more banging but you will still get a stiffer/ bouncy ride , no matter the spring rate , although some might be softer than others and less bouncy but you'll still get bounce, can't help that...
Posted: February 14th, 2012, 3:57 pm
by Monster 101
i have tein springs for my car.
i used new kyb shocks and tokico shocks, changed shock mounts but still got the banging sound. i hated that sound. i sounded like the shocks fricking dead...it was lowered real nice and the ride on the highway was best, but on normal main road and cornering in would hear that irritating sound. i looking to change them for a better option...
Posted: March 6th, 2012, 1:58 pm
by jude
what vehicle you have the tein springs on?have you considered threading the shock for the spring to fit tighter/cutting off the excess?
Posted: March 7th, 2012, 9:35 am
by COROLLA KID
Monster101, that noise you hear is because the drop springs are shorter than the stock so when the shock moves up and down there is a gap between the spring and shock head thus the banging sound,the same happens when you cut you spring.
you could try to tie strap the spring to the shock and put buffer rubbers between the spring and shock head, or you could just buy a sleeve type coil over which cost bout $1000-1500,These coilovers allow adjustment anywhere from 0"- 4" depending upon its application. Height is adjusted through use of a threaded sleeve that fits over your stock or aftermarket shocks and a dual locking perch mechanism.

Triple-R in San-do has Arospeed coil sleeves for $1000, not sure but i think you might be able to change out the arospeed spring and reuse your tein's since the tein's are better springs.